Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Tremors in the Sand - Tier 1 desert adventure $4.95
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 8
2 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Tremors in the Sand - Tier 1 desert adventure
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Tremors in the Sand - Tier 1 desert adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jacob B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2021 21:44:20

I ran this adventure over two sessions for the beginning of a new campaign and it went over well. :) It's an engaging adventure that can easily lead to more things! I felt like all the info I needed as a new DM was included in the document. I did have to do a bit of leg work to get it fully ready for a VTT, but that's to be expected with most adventures purchased through DMs Guild! Would definitely recommend this one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tremors in the Sand - Tier 1 desert adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tomáš K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2019 12:28:22

I changed a lot of things to fit my setting but the core of this adventure is solid and I was delighted to run it. Story is pretty good and challenging for Tier 1 adventurers and it can easiely be seed for longer campaign if DM wants.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tremors in the Sand - Tier 1 desert adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2018 13:11:05

A really good tier 1 adventure that can also be used as the beginning of a whole campaign. Full review here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tremors in the Sand - Tier 1 desert adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Harrison O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2018 04:03:19

After running a mostly desert based adventure for the last two years myself, it was good to see how a professional does things in a published work. There were many similarities that made this very easy to run in an established setting, but the subtle differences were a surprising improvement on how I usually run things, or have seen in other modules.

  • First off, I enjoy the way the author lays out information in a consistent way ahead of time. Usually this is before an encounter that may rely on it, rather than having to flip back to an exposition heavy intro (which i've seen in some other modules), and provides some good follow through on how everything fits together into a cohesive whole.
  • Secondly, a lot of what is in the adventure makes sense. This might be wierd to how some people run things, I enjoy an adventure where not only does the story make sense but the events and environment ancillary to the plot have a logic to them. The town, the NPCs, the encounters, and the main temple all have a logic to them that you could expect in the "real world".
  • Thirdly, the adventure is concise. I sometimes have an issue where epic huge events can take me six months to build and get to. Not so here, by the end of this module the players felt like they had achieved a huge victory, and understood how close and how bad defeat would have been. The course of the adventure had weight and purpose.

My only criticism, and it's minor at that, is I would have liked some thought put into what happened to your 'helpers' in the conclusion. I ended up binding them to the service of the surprise guest at the end (the same surprise guest that you might have to encourage your players not to immediately think is the proper bad guy and attack...) and it was satisfying.

All in all, an excellent adventure and I thoroughly recommend it to others, even if it's only to send your players on a brief jaunt out of middle-england that most adventures seem to be based in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tremors in the Sand - Tier 1 desert adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Geoffrey S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2018 22:42:49

Ah the desert! It’s such an under-used yet engaging adventuring environment. The endless, trackless wastes. The glaring sun. The day time heat, the night time chill. And the sand. Always the bone-dry, undulating dunes of gritty, chafing sand.

Tremors In The Sand is a very versatile adventure module. Designed for a party of around 4th level, it could easily be scaled down for less-experienced PCs, and it contains the seeds for a creative DM to use it as the launching point for an extensive desert-themed campaign arc. Equally, it’s beautifully self-contained and would work excellently as a one-off adventure, for new players or experienced campaigners alike.

There are multiple starting hooks to help the DM bring the PCs into the module, none of them forced or implausible. The boxed text narratives interspersed throughout are a terrific aid for newer DMs to learn the story-telling trade, but are by no means necessary for an experienced DM to use verbatim. And the storyline and setting successfully walk that narrow path between providing a fully-fleshed environment and allowing the DM the agency to insert the module into any world. Old-school Greyhawk, Forgotten Realms, any home-brew setting with arid parts, you could drop Tremors right in.

Along with the helpful boxed narratives, the module includes evocative artwork and easy-to-navigate internal and external maps, and is attractively laid out (I’ve noticed that beautiful layouts are something of a trademark for PB Publishing products).

Tremors has got a little bad guy, it’s got a big bad guy, and it’s got urgency. The module includes an event tracking system, to assist the DM in maintaining the required quick pace that the adventure moves through. Constant short and long rests to top up HP and spells would bring disaster here. The authors have found a clever way to ensure that the scenario contains just the right sense of urgency. There's a reminder of the (all-too-often under-used) 5e Exhaustion mechanics as well, a must-have inclusion for the desert environment.

If you’re already a fan of PB Publishing products, adding Tremors In The Sand to your collection is an easy choice. If you haven’t run a PB Publishing adventure before and you were about to skim past this one, you should reconsider. I doubt you’ll be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tremors in the Sand - Tier 1 desert adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marty S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2018 07:30:23

There is a definite story arch to this writing, giving the game a purposefully dynamic feel for your players. Very engaging!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tremors in the Sand - Tier 1 desert adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sarah R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2018 16:37:44

I ran this today with my brothers and a friend who was playing for the first time. It was very easy to run and the story was great and we finished it in around 5 hours. The players said that they got the satisfaction of actually having done something, even though they constantly felt the pressure ( in a good way ). It was also fun for the first time player who felt that the experience was "Epic." There are a lot of innovative things in this supplement ( like the time tracker ) which make it easier for the DM and more fun for the players. The artwork and layout are brilliant and the setting is really unique.

Overall, this is one of the better modules available for Tier-1 play. Highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tremors in the Sand - Tier 1 desert adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Travis L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2018 05:07:38

I must confess, at the outset of this review, that I have a certain fondness for desert adventures. In particular, desert adventures that feature grim story, overwhelming odds, and antagonists with a touch of psychic ability. As such, I may be a teeny-bit biased in my assessment of this adventure, as it masterfully plays to those predilections.

Furthermore, I LOVE adventures of epic consequence and massive, world shaking (literally, in this case) import. This is where Tremors in the Sand truly shines. Characters as low as Level 1 are given a legitimate opportunity to prevent (or cause) a campaign-shattering, world-altering event. Success sets a precedent of herosim and adventure for the party, while failure has the potential to shape the landscape of the campaign world, perhaps leading to a protracted quest to put the genie (or in this case Terrasque) back in its bottle (unless failure just ends in TPK, which is likely.)

The design choices, story beats, and challenges presented herein are bold, brave, and brilliant. I look forward to running this module myself soon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items