Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:3.1 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 2
0 6
2 8
1 4
1 0
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2018 11:56:24

This mod is great to run if you need a quick theatre-of-the-mind to run with little prep-time, but otherwise I would advise skipping it. The hook with the compass rock is fun and interesting, but everything kind of slows down once the players get to the temple. The first puzzle is extremely unintuitive, and if a player doesn't speak a certain exotic language, literally impossible to figure out. Roleplaying the ghost character was very fun for me and the players. The reason I suggest running this theatre-of-the-mind is that it only has one or two combats both of which are extremely easy, even for small or low-level parties.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nathan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 07:52:01

solid module but ruined by a single spell, turned great levels of difficulty into a cake walk



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2018 05:50:04

Normally I'm a hack and slash guy, so when I saw this only has 1 fight I was a little skeptical. It was a solid fight that kept the players on their toes more than I thought it would.

The traps I though were well done, but a T3 group that is smart can bypass them easily. Which I think is a good thing to reward players for playing well instead of TOA blatingly screwing players regardless of what they do.

I am a little curious if Kelvin is suppost to be Keraptis in another disguise (like in DDAL6-2 The Redemption of Kelvan). If so getting his own name wrong totally fits his character.

All in all one of the best 2h mods I've ran in a while.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2018 02:26:01

The puzzles and traps in this module work to varying degrees of success. One trap in particular require such a specific set of circumstances that it can take forever. Our group just gave up and circumvented the whole thing. Combat is also too easy.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ronald L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2018 12:49:27

A good, solid dungeon crawl. It's a bit light on combat, though that gives it more time for the fun roleplay and exploration elements. The traps are just plain fun to play with and run.

The boss fight could definitely use touching up.

Overall, this mod reminds me of the fact that it's easier to critique something that's bad -- because you can find the things to help improve -- than something that's good, because there's nothing left to complain about. This mod only lacks that little something extra, the 'je ne sais quoi', to tick it over into a 5 star. It's a good mod, it just doesn't cross the line into exceptional.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2018 18:52:12

Alright adventure, nice flavor and well designed dungeon. The combat is on the weaker side though. The fire elemental battle is good enough as a warm-up but the boss battle should defintely be an Archmage (Necromancer) + (Undead) Yuan-ti Anathema instead of the two CR7 mobs, which are just a joke for a Tier 3 party.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jac Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2018 14:44:58

TL;DR: Good dungeon crawl, interesting traps, combat undertuned, slightly too short.

I'm a big fan of the traps in the module. They are interesting, provides a fun challenge for the players to find out the answer and overcome, without being over-complicated. My personal favourite is definitely the trap where the players are faced with their worst nightmares, and allowing them to describe how their characters' overcome the nightmare. That was the highlight of the module, and a great moment for RP and character development.

Now the downside. As many have pointed out, the combat was too easy. Maybe the intent was to balance between the ease of combat and the difficulty of the traps, but it was undertuned. The optional fight with the Fire Snakes had potential to include more interesting Fire Elemental monsters, and the final boss fight needed more challenging Yuan-Ti monsters (luckily they are fairly abundant from the other Tier-3 module).

I think this adventure has the potential to be great. It just needed a bit of adjustment of the challenge difficulty, which relies on the DM's experience and judgment to accomplish. As long as the DM puts his/her DM liberty into good use, this'll be a fun run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2018 11:31:02

Good: Solid Story Great Roleplaying Opportunities Great Obstacles/Traps DM Tips: Watch for time Review obstacles



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2018 12:23:46

I wanted to like this adventure I really did, the dungeon crawl section in the middle is excellent and the only reason I didn't give this one star. The void is an excellent feature/trap, I had the party wanting to go through without the amulets to see their fears, which was nearly their undoing.

But then there's the rest of the adventure.

The story has potential but there isn't enough of showing it to the characters, it's all in the background which normally isn't read by players as they often contain spoilers. Klevin doesn't come across as the non-native who has assimilated into chultan culture that he was in City on the Edge. Instead he's a semi-incompetant cultural appropriator who rolls his eyes when non-chultans don't speak chultan.

Arbitary travel times are frustraing to everyone and anyone in modules, it shouldn't take a month to get to somewhere during them, unless your intention is to ensure the ceric gets at least two divine interventions in. Give them an air ship or some other mode of travel, we're not in tier 2 anymore.

The are far too many typos within the box text, the one thing DMs are expected to read aloud. The bare minimum of editing should ensure that these are eradicated.

The section where you meet the yuan-ti in the village is interesting, but falls down as it appears to be half finished. Why would the yuan-ti be ok with adventurers entering their sacred temple? Where are all the guards? If only Nightmare Speaker Nozhi decides who can enter, why do the party have to enter and clear the dungeon to ask for his permission?

The dungeon craw itself is great, if a little lacking in variety, a character who is immune to poison is going to ahve a very easy time with all but two of the traps. I would also reccomend some sort of map for the skull room as it isn't clear where the non-tabaxi skulls should be. The meeting with Satzhesu is an interesting departure to the usual "Meet the npc and get an information dump" however the limitations in what the DM is allowed to do for pantomime is ridiculous. No one is can do pantomie in a dignified manner, that's the point. Also the module expects the party to ask questions that they have no way of knowing they should ask because of the lack of story within the adventure.

Lastly, the final fight. Really the only fight unless you drop the optional encounter on the party. No it's possible to have modules only have one fight as long as they either sap resources other than HP (at tier 3 there's more than enough potions to ensure that the party will be at full in every encounter) or make the fight challenging enough that it doesn't matter that the party has all their resources.

Two CR 7 monsters is not challenging to an APL 13 party, not even close.

Yes one of them hs legendary actions, but only one is useful and you can only use it once per turn. Regaining spell slots means nothing when the party will kill them in one round.

Meanwile we have a bag of hit points, who while having the multiattack feature allowing three melee attacks, can use his only two melee attacks once.

What?

So some suggestions to make this fight interesting:

Ensure that you incorporate the yuan-ti racial traits into the statblock of Nozhi, he should be immune to poison damage and have magical resistance. Also give him some legendary resistances else the party will feeblemmind him or worse in the opening round. Then change his Spell DC to something more threatening than a 15, a 17 or 18 is far more tier 3 appropriate. His spell list is actually very good so that can stay, though it might be worht throwing counterspell in there for good measure.

Ihl should also be very dangerous. How about changing them to an Anathema? Now we have a true threat to the party on the field and it's far more clear why a temple was built around their grave. If you really want to up the danger, how about some lair actions? Something that causes the void trap to hapen again would be incredible.

Lastly we need some mooks in there to soak up the fighters. Yuan-ti broodguard work great for this and you can adjust the numbers of them to the party strength.

This module has so much potential and I was really disappointed in what a mess it ended up being in the final encounter. If this module does get updated like 7-11 did I will definitely consider running it again.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2018 14:39:41

One of the first and only well made trap dungeons. My party really enjoyed it, and it balanced traps vs monsters well. If your party wants more than just hack and slash look here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by john j. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2018 06:26:21

For a tier 3 module, this is an underwelming adventure. The fire snakes felt like they were just a placeholder beast that could have been replaced by literally anything and you wouldn't notice. The choice to use a warlock for the last encounter instead of a wizard or cleric build felt uninsired.

At this tier, you need to challenge players. This adventure was dull. Not bad enough to hate, but lacked anything to make it memberable.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Remington A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2018 09:48:46

This module has some great traps (though some easily overcome with higher level spells such as hero's feast), and a great atmosphere to the story. The combat was less impressive, and while this is a small thing, it really is strange for the rooms on the map to not have been numbered. It's fairly easy to work with since the layout is fairly linear, but it's an easy fix that could have been avoided. Overall, a good adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gael L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2018 09:28:03

This review of DDAL07-12 contains some Spoilers.

I have DM'ed this adventure, and both me and my table enjoyed it very much !

First of all, I don't see why so many people complain about the lack of numbering on the map. There's not that many rooms to begin with, and the depictions on the map correspond pretty clearly with the text description. Maybe it would have been a different story if I would have had to read the adventure on the spot while DMing it, but I always prepare my sessions in advance.

Also, yes, some races (Yuan-Ti, Grung), spells (Heroes' Feast) and magic items give resistance/immunity to poison, which is the damage type of many traps in the adventure... but not all of them. Some are acid, and some are psychic. And of course, the encounters gave additional damage sources (fire, necrotic, etc.). If the party is lucky enough to have a character with the right race/item/spell, then good for them (as goes for other damage-themed adventures), but it's not a problem in itself. I did have a Yuan-Ti player in my group, but the non-poison-immune players still got their fair share of poison during the game. And besides, surviving a trap without issue can be quite rewarding & fun too, if roleplayed well by the DM and/or the player (for example, when my Yuan-Ti player went into the Giant Snake's Poison Dust, I told him that the air was "smelling like flowers").

I quite enjoyed the skull room, especially the fact that it accounted for players with means of flying (which all of my players had). The Medecine checks were indeed difficult, but I did allow a reduction on the check when one of my players cleverly mentioned that now that they understood that they were looking for specific races, they would be looking for an unusually small skull (halfling) and an unusually long-and-thin one (elf). I encourage other DMs to lower the check if the player is looking for specific race features of the listed races when investigating the skulls.

The fire snakes encounter was surprisingly punishing (almost putting the paladin to sleep), but the players won with clever tactics (for example, the Yuan-Ti doused himself in water from his Alchemy Jug, which I rewarded him by preventing him from catching fire). I was almost tempted to add additional fire snakes (as I know that Adventurers league's Encounter Difficulty does not account for magic items), but I prefered to save time on other parts of the adventure. After all, DnD is not only about combat, eh !

My favourite part of the adventure (and my players' favourite part as well) was the Nightmare corridor. They did have some talismans on them, but I thought that giving them all the possibility of fighting against their personally tailored nightmares would be an excellent idea, and I wasn't wrong ! One of my players, for instance, had the best moment of roleplay in his entire career when he fought against his nightmares, revealing his true face behind the mask he hadn't taken off since character creation, and telling his hardcore backstory to the nightmares. I'm always a fan of adventures that focus on character development, and this one did not disappoint.

I added some fire snakes to the final encounter, as I agree with other reviewers that it wasn't a particularly dangerous one, but the players had fun, which is what matters to me.

Overall, a pretty nice adventure. Yes, it has some problems, but they can easily be overcome.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2018 19:25:19

This is a very frustrating module that should be fixed. The biggest problem is that the map is not keyed by location. I'm currently flipping back and forth between the map and the text descriptions, and this just wasn't done well. I can't figure out which rooms on the map correspond with which description texts. I guess I'll just draw my own map, based on what's described in the text.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 18:25:08

Most of the traps in this Yuan-ti themed dungeon crawl were trivialized by one spell: Heroes' Feast. The nightmares made real is a cool element for the adventure, but the rest of it is pretty underwhelming, especially the final encounter. Even with the villain's legendary actions, a tier 3 party could easily mop the floor with him. The fire snakes in the central room are an absolute joke at tier 3.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items