Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
So, a Cleric and a Vampire Walk into a Tavern $0.00
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
62 13
19 0
9 0
3 0
0 0
So, a Cleric and a Vampire Walk into a Tavern
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
So, a Cleric and a Vampire Walk into a Tavern
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Decapitated M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2019 07:49:08

Ok, first of all, these are amazing ideas. So simple and excellent platforms to add intrigue into the campaign. Each story provides enough of a prompt to get any DM creativity flowing.

The Rat is one of my favorites, and I have used it in two seperate campaigns to introduce a theives guild the "drowned rats". A theives guild that walks through the sewers and underbellies of towns and cities. I'm also excited to run the "victorious" adventureres in my new campaign as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
So, a Cleric and a Vampire Walk into a Tavern
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ren C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2019 15:39:26

Wonderful booklet with sparks to kick off your adventures; worth dropping a couple bucks for to see where your players' tavern pit-stops lead.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
So, a Cleric and a Vampire Walk into a Tavern
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sharon L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2019 06:13:45

One page per amazing idea, I have used the Cleric and Vampire and it has turned into a side quest mission for my players. Great roleplay opportunities, great ideas to kick off encounters and missions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
So, a Cleric and a Vampire Walk into a Tavern
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2019 01:29:56

absolutely love this so so much, works with so many ideas and should be something every DM should have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
So, a Cleric and a Vampire Walk into a Tavern
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by rebecca s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2018 11:33:14

This is a steal. I was able to use most of the taverns with no problems and they were a big hit with my players. If you want some memorable story hooks for random tavern encounters to spice things up a little, this is definitely worth it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
So, a Cleric and a Vampire Walk into a Tavern
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2018 10:39:14

18 x one page taven encounters to help you flesh out your town settings when you are short on time. Written by some well known DM's Guild authors you know these are going to be quality one shots to use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
So, a Cleric and a Vampire Walk into a Tavern
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by halden N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/14/2018 16:39:53

I cant wait to start using this book in my taverns, I can see this making a huge diffrence in how awesome a tavern ecounter could be.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
So, a Cleric and a Vampire Walk into a Tavern
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rich H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/24/2018 21:34:28

So, a Cleric and a Vampire walk into a tavern... is an encounter anthology where each encounter setup is based on a person or persons you meet in a tavern. The encounters range from the titular cleric and vampire, to a girallon to one of the PCs, and lots of other interesting characters.

There are 12 separate encounters contained within this product. There is art on the cover, some internal art, a relatively plain, but functional layout, a table of contents page with short author intros and a list of sample tavern names on the last page. It comes in 2 versions: print and interactive. The interactive version has working links for the various authors and the print version is formatted for printing.

Pros

I really liked the Cleric & Vampire, Dwarf & Elf, Werewolf & Prey and Victorious Adventurers encounters. Those really stood out for me as fun encounters that I'd like to incorporate into my games.

I really liked the idea of a themed setup product. This one really embraced one of the oldest and most cherished cliches in D&D, and worked very well as a result.

A number of the encounters gave suggestions for how DMs could incorporate the encounter into their game and use them as springboards for other plotlines and story seeds. I really like practical DM advice like that in a product.

Though I called out a few of my favorite encounters, I honestly liked all of them and could see myself using them in my own game. Some would require more work than others, but the relatively self-contained nature of the product theme goes a long way towards making the encounters drop-in ready.

Cons

The product really could have used some more proofreading and editing. There were several misspellings, misused punctuation, and grammatical issues. Nothing truly egregious, but it definitely could have used some more eyes on it.

Conclusion

I really like the concept and execution of this product. I can't think of anything more D&D to me than getting into some kind of encounter in a tavern. I really hope to see more themed encounter products like this in the future. I'd have happily paid money for this, but it's free. Download it now! You won't be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
So, a Cleric and a Vampire Walk into a Tavern
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Anthony B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2018 17:13:27

This resource is great for spicing up those taven visits. Your PCs are going to end up there anyway! Now there are ready made back stories for those NPCs haunting the watering hole. The titular story is fantastic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
So, a Cleric and a Vampire Walk into a Tavern
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sarah R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2018 11:52:45

A really innovative idea excecuted fairly well. It certainly makes tavern visits less bland and actually fun. This supplement has fun encounters and practical advice for putting those encounters in your games. Easy to use and functional, the encounters listed in this product can embellish any adventure. The thematic nature of this product is also very unique. Bounus points for the inclusion of a print-friendly version! This adventure can certainly be made better with some better editing and a more aesthetic layout but that does not take away from the fact that this is one of the best free products on this site, hands down.

Get this one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
So, a Cleric and a Vampire Walk into a Tavern
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cheryl P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2018 06:08:04

Very happy with this, really haeding for side quists



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
So, a Cleric and a Vampire Walk into a Tavern
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2018 14:07:48

The age old trope of sitting in a tavern to begin that epic quest adventure is just that age old and done to death, yet with a little twist new life is breathed into it, keeping adventurers on their toes right off the bat. Contained here are some excellent hooks from the undead just happening to wander in to illusions being woven to distract from notes being delivered to giant rats invading. All in all, this is an impressive set of hooks to keep even the most seasoned player enthralled. Highty Recommened!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
So, a Cleric and a Vampire Walk into a Tavern
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Travis L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2018 07:16:58

This is a high-quality collection of simple encounters that can serve as seasoning for an ongoing story, filler while the DM preps between larger points in an arc, or launching points for an entire campaign Each seed included in this volume is presented with just enough flavor to get a DM's storytelling wheels turning, without laying down rails or including deal breakers that would make for difficult campaign inclusion. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items