Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Monstrous Races $2.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
33 27
10 0
4 2
2 0
1 0
Monstrous Races
Click to view
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Garin J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2018 14:26:41

Hands down one of the best player race option products on this market. Tyler Kamstra went to great lengths to make every single race in the monster manual feel like its encounter counterpart and put alot of thought into unique ways to make this playable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Elias H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2018 13:39:48
If you want to give your players a lot more variety with one book, Monstrous Races is one of the best options. While there's plenty of creatures or monsters that seem worthless at first, with an RP focused group it can be great fun to toss one or two of these creatures into a party. While things like a skeleton necromancer may not be "optimal", it can still be a unique experience for any player.

At $3 this book is an absolute steal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sharene G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/02/2018 10:11:54

Absolutely fantastic, well thought out and a lot of fun to try different races from this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2018 19:17:31

This is an excellent resource to break outside the box when creating characters aside from the standard races you get in all the other module books.

I run multiple campaigns and every once in awhile I have a player that wants to try a differ race and/or class; this product handles the race option obviously.

Like for example a player wants to play Dragon than a DragonBorn, now I have the ability to sit down and make that happen. Whether it's just for one session or an entire campaign, we can give players more to choose from.

Now all my campaign players know since I have this product I can finely time more interesting npc's; which adds hopefully to more entertainment and story to the adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Austin J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 19:41:29

Amazing work, a ton of work went in to this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brandon S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2018 12:11:15

I absolutely love this. For $3 it is better than some of the books asking for higher prices. I love the chart in the back that allows you to create a monstrous race from Homebrew or from the ground up if you didn't like how they start off. Too OP, not OP enough, etc. I cannot say enough good things about this book of wonder. Monstrous Races is definitely an always buy, as a player or even as a DM. I encourage all to collect this.

I do hope in the future that maybe this contains some of the other monsters from like Volo's Guide. That would be the only change I see.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2018 12:56:08

This provides an excellent framework for coming up with a race for D&D. A wide variety of features are included, but even going beyond those the techniques described let you get a handle on what ought to be reasonably well balanced within the game. I've enjoyed reading it, and using it for my own homebrew content. Really useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sarah F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2018 18:52:34

It's easy to see all the time and work put into this suppliment. My group loves it, it's so much a fun to mix things up and play as a different unusual character. The Kenku druid party member is having an absolute blast. This is worth every penny for the fun we're having with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Richard M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2018 14:45:38

Monstrous Races is a certified DM's Guild Masterpiece by the Going Last Tabletop Gaming Podcast!

This wonderfully detailed tome is clearly the culminating work of a mad scientist—a dreamer, who wants everyone in the world to play campaigns filled with Xorn Druids and Intellect Devourer Bards. Not satisfied with the meager choice of species in the Players' Handbook, author Tyler Kamstra decided to create the options for anyone to play any of the creatures found in the Monsters Manual in this massive product spanning 283 pages of incredible content.

Many of the different monster types feel ripe for conversion to playable chracters. Outsiders and monstrous humanoids like devas and bugbears have great flavor that Kamstra was easily able to mine into PC abilities. The trick to lots of these had to do with balance, and Kamstra also spends plenty of his pages detailing the specific choices he made during his design process. Many of these include tweaks to increase or decrease the power level of some of these monsters.

Of course, the fun part of this book is that so much effort has gone into allowing players the opportunity to mess around with the scary monsters. Creatures like Hydras and Cockatrices are presented in a way that can truly make a player feel unique. Many of these say something like "normally unintelligent, but..." to make it clear that these PCs are awakened and may act in ways completely unlike their rest of their species. Which is great, because the abilities Kamstra has developed are totally awesome. I want to play a Sphinx Cleric of Lore immediately.

This document is too enormous of a task to not have a few errors, but Kamtra's design notes do an incredible job of allowing a player and DM to judge the content for balance and playability. Monstrous Races surely won't be a perfect fit for every campaign, but the incredible craft of this book should absolutely be celebrated. And when a player does need a taste of something a little different, this book is always going to be waiting with 228 options ready to play.

You can hear more of my thoughts about Monstrous Races on Episode 230 of Going Last!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Josh T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2018 12:54:10

Absolutely loved this book. The amount of time it took to craft this tome must have been astronomical. Even though there are a staggering amount of options in the main part of the book itself, the end of the book has the template he used to create the playable versions as well as instructions on how to create your own. His process seems incredibly well balanced, which is even more evident when he uses the actual playable races as examples.

I created my own race using his template and I'm really excited to play it. Love this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cody S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2018 23:08:22

Many products on the DM's Guild are very hit and miss, with balance issues and just downright sloppy editing (typos, missing information, etc.), even some of the best sellers that charge over $15USD are plagued with these problems; at $2.99, this one is a hit. The author is quick to respond and correct problems that are pointed out to him, few that there are.

If you're thinking about buying this one, take into consideration that this isn't designed to give a character incredible powers from a monster and make them entirely unbalanced to play. You'll never see this on DNDWiki.

What it does is, if the monster is less powerful than a base character race, it stays weak; the ones that are more powerful are simply tuned down to a balanced and playable level, which IMO is way, way better. There are some monsters whose features may be able to be abused by particularly creative and clever players, but these races are, in the most part, full of flavor and fun.

For its price point, design philosophy, and overall polish (it's impossible for me to overstate how important polish is when you are charging for a product), I give this supplement a 5/5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by ben b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2018 15:36:20

Meh. It's worth the price, and I'm proud of the person that wrote it.

BUT the thinking seems constrained. The abilities and thus playability seem almost overly limited. With these guidelines, monsterous PCs are severly handicapped to begin play, and that seems to make sense. They don't ever gain the full ablities of their species as they level up, though, which seems like an oversight.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Heath R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2018 14:09:28

Wow! Such a fun, well-balanced, well-priced supplement! My group loved it as soon as they tried it. Great deal of time put into this work too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joe H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2018 15:22:29

I love this. I love it very much.

The amount of work that has gone in to it is spectacular. In addition to racial stats and descriptions are the notes on how the race was put together, making it much easier to manipulate it if you don't like it.

But what I really like is that at no point does it give up. Everything is doable, and even encouraged. From the half-dragon dragon (My father was a dragon, my mother was also a dragon), to the comedy ghost/zombie duo (they used to be inseperable), to the unicorn who wanted to steal, this is a great tool to give life to any character.

It took a little while for me to get how to use this. I think that's because in the monster manual, it just has a monster. This book however, gives the race to add a class to. Yes the mind flayer may not sound as awesome as it's cracked up to be, but give it 10 levels of wizard and you'll have a force to be reckoned with.

I think its definitely worth it, honestly its worth more than $3 just for the novelty of reading it. There are a few things I don't like about some of the races, I think darksight is definitely overused, and the alignments seem heavily favoured towards evil, but I can't be mad about it because the book tells you exactly how it was created, so you can go in and mess with it until you have something you like.

All in all, a fantastic addition to D&D for people who want more character freedom than the handbook, an excellent piece of work that's well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brandon B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2018 13:17:02

This is a great book, and definitely a steal for the price, it isnt however without its issues. Positives: The book has an absolutely boggling about of content, with so many races and careful documentation of each decision made in creating them, as well as guidelines for how to adjust them to match the power level of other races. Negatives: The book is riddled with typos and errors, which can get annoying, there is also some minor issues ive found with originality, such as the Bullywug entry being the exact same as the one on the D&D 5e Homebrew wiki.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 29 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items