Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Monstrous Races $2.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
79 33
22 1
6 2
3 0
1 0
Monstrous Races
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2019 06:27:47

What an absolutely fantastic supplement! We used this little beauty to run a dark campaign from the eyes of the monsters. The features and characteristics of the monsters really come through well, without breaking the game. Keep in mind, some are clearly more powerful than others, but that is expected. We walk through some of our favorite options and discuss the features on our show Crit Academy. Check out the full episode here http://critacademy.libsyn.com/size/5/?search=monstrous+races.

We couldn't recommend this supplement enough!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mikey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2019 20:11:30

just gonna start by saying... amazing job spending the time to write out stuff for EVERY SINGLE MONSTER. genuinely impressive the time and patience it took to make this. i am impressed and ive already had fun amking some monster characters. the only thing keeping this from a full 5 stars is just some personal prefernce. i feel like some things are a bit... odd for choices. mainly damage dice. its odd to see some monsters having different, and sometimes worse damage than the monster manual versions. while i can somewhat understand it, in a lot of cases theres some draw backs to playing a monster, especially some with no hands or anything. so having lower natural damage doesn't help when you cant use a sword. this is of course, however, optional and you can just always go with the monster manual. theres also some typos here and there but for the most part its good. very well done, i don't know if i'll ever get to legitly use this for campaigns, but making characters is fun nonetheless.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kevin L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2019 23:04:45

Great detail and so many monster races to choose from! I am getting ready to run our first semi-evil monster campaign with my group. I found this supplement about a year ago and sent it to my group and they were beyond stoked! After looking through it, the author did a fantastic job building each of the MANY races to their own playable class. Every creature is written with great detail and really brings each race to life. I can't recommend enough for people who want something a little different!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joonas L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2019 12:52:33

Wonderful work! I really appreciate the in-depth notes on the logic behind the choices for every single creature, and not avoiding some of the "well that just sounds unplayable to me" cases. I'm positively bursting with character ideas now, eager to let my players become mummies, vampires, succubi, lizardfolk, swarms (!) and more. Haven't tried at the table yet; as written this is amazingly balanced and nuanced, down to whatever minor aspect of the monster statblock your players might be keen on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Reed F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2019 18:36:57

I absolutely adore this document, the monstrous races are more than worth the asking price in their own right but the design notes and race builder are invaluable to anyone looking to develop their own playable races.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2019 13:52:55

Care to be a Flumph, buy this supplement. Want to be a Mind Flayer, buy this supplement. You decided that a Chain Devil fled her level of hell and is now wandering Faerun as an adventurer...buy this supplement.

But how did the author do this...he explains every conversion in detail, and explains how to do it yourself for any monster you want to make a playable race.

If you are lookimng to add diversity to your table with more playable races, or seeking a unique villian or NPS to throw your party off guard, THIS IS THE SUPPLEMENT.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Xavier L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2019 20:14:26

Appendix A is worth the price of admission alone. Every race I made with the guide was well balanced and had a number of interesting traits. Going through and statting out every single monster alone must have taken quite some time, so adding a brief discussion of each one for both players and content designers goes well beyond what was required.

For content creators, I recommend making the extra effort to remain within recommended BP range, but at the same time not to get hung up on power differences between races that fall within the recommended range.

One interesting addendum could be made for how to balance racial feats. For instance, does Elven Accuracy increase the elf's BP? And are there any particular restrictions to consider when designing racial feats? But none of that is necessary; this guide is more than complete without it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I'm really happy to hear that you're enjoying the Race Builder appendix. It's the same rules that I use for all of the races I adapted, and I'm always happy to hear that people are enjoying something I created. Regarding racial feats: I finished writing Monstrous Races before Xanathar's Guide to Everything was published, so with the exception of the Svirfneblin racial feat, racial feats really weren't a thing yet. I did venture more into feats in Monstrous Races 2, and the feats section of Monstrous Races 2 includes a brief design notes section explaining how I balanced the racial feats. The short version is that I shoot for a BP range if 2-4, but I tried very hard to hit 3 BP wherever possible because within that range even tiny variations in BP value can make a huge difference.
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Garin J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2018 14:26:41

Hands down one of the best player race option products on this market. Tyler Kamstra went to great lengths to make every single race in the monster manual feel like its encounter counterpart and put alot of thought into unique ways to make this playable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Elias H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2018 13:39:48
If you want to give your players a lot more variety with one book, Monstrous Races is one of the best options. While there's plenty of creatures or monsters that seem worthless at first, with an RP focused group it can be great fun to toss one or two of these creatures into a party. While things like a skeleton necromancer may not be "optimal", it can still be a unique experience for any player.

At $3 this book is an absolute steal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sharene G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/02/2018 10:11:54

Absolutely fantastic, well thought out and a lot of fun to try different races from this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2018 19:17:31

This is an excellent resource to break outside the box when creating characters aside from the standard races you get in all the other module books.

I run multiple campaigns and every once in awhile I have a player that wants to try a differ race and/or class; this product handles the race option obviously.

Like for example a player wants to play Dragon than a DragonBorn, now I have the ability to sit down and make that happen. Whether it's just for one session or an entire campaign, we can give players more to choose from.

Now all my campaign players know since I have this product I can finely time more interesting npc's; which adds hopefully to more entertainment and story to the adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Austin J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 19:41:29

Amazing work, a ton of work went in to this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brandon S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2018 12:11:15

I absolutely love this. For $3 it is better than some of the books asking for higher prices. I love the chart in the back that allows you to create a monstrous race from Homebrew or from the ground up if you didn't like how they start off. Too OP, not OP enough, etc. I cannot say enough good things about this book of wonder. Monstrous Races is definitely an always buy, as a player or even as a DM. I encourage all to collect this.

I do hope in the future that maybe this contains some of the other monsters from like Volo's Guide. That would be the only change I see.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2018 12:56:08

This provides an excellent framework for coming up with a race for D&D. A wide variety of features are included, but even going beyond those the techniques described let you get a handle on what ought to be reasonably well balanced within the game. I've enjoyed reading it, and using it for my own homebrew content. Really useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sarah F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2018 18:52:34

It's easy to see all the time and work put into this suppliment. My group loves it, it's so much a fun to mix things up and play as a different unusual character. The Kenku druid party member is having an absolute blast. This is worth every penny for the fun we're having with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 36 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items