Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1) $0.00
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
55 9
13 5
5 1
1 0
1 0
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Will P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2020 19:05:49

Fantastic, I took a first time group through with this, a little combat shy, but works well for introducing players to rp rather than combat which works better for showing people how the game is played. Alot of room for added charcters and LOTS of fun, Highly reccomend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Benjamin O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2020 18:17:56

First, let me just say that the reason I gave it a 4-star rating is because I could not award half-stars. I feel this is a good 4.5 star adventure. This is also the first published adventure I have ever run (usually when I DM, I prefer to run my own adventures), so bear that in mind as you're reading this review. I do recommend this one for anyone either needing a quick, easy-to-build adventure or wanting something that can easily slot into a preexisting campaign. I ran this adventure for a group of friends (2 clerics, 1 rogue, 1 sorceror, 1 warlock all at level 3) on Roll20, and everyone enjoyed it. I will be doing it again for another group later this month or sometime next month using what I learned from the first run.

There is a little bit of everything for everyone in this product. You have some investigation/exploration of the mansion; nothing too complicated but something that can let the thieving kind of rogue a chance to shine. There are a few points of combat that act as clues, cues for social interactions, and a nice change in tempo for the game. The climactic combat sequence does have a way to scale its difficulty if you feel that the base setting is inappropriate for your group, which is a helpful addition. As for the social aspect of the game, there are plenty of NPCs for characters to interact with as they gain information into the mystery.

As for the writing, I thought it was well-written and easy to follow. The setting has enough interesting ideas to you could run it as is but without so much fluff that you could easily re-skin the names of people and places to fit into your own game, which I quite like. The maps are simple to use and pretty handy in my opinion, and the mechanic Warren has created specifically for this adventure can produce some neat results for both the GM and the players. The NPCs are interesting without being overly-designed, and enough of the expected go-tos is fleshed out to give the GMs to improvise dialogue with the PCs.

The only weakness I saw in the adventure are the real-world timing for the climax and the mystery hook. Without spoiling anything, there is a mechanic in the game that triggers after a certain amount of time passes out-of-game that pushes the session to the climax. While that is great to have for keeping this as a one-shot adventure, it does mean you as the DM will have to be efficient with managing stage time for the characters before the trigger happens. Even then, you might miss out on some key clues for the mystery before the climax. That happened with my group, and they wound up having to piece things together after the climax via roleplay. It still worked pretty well, but I'm not sure that was the original intent. Meanwhile, the mystery hook after the players arrive in the city felt like it was thin. That could be because this is designed to be a one-shot or convention-style game where you need to get into it fast. I would suggest that if you run this, provide a bit more fluff to NPC responses to give it a bit more meat.

As for the climactic fight, we found the "normal" difficulty setting to be challenging enough. The main villain has a pretty good AC (19) and stats, and its minion is no slouch for damage. Had two characters drop with a 3rd on the brink, but the party did survive without a death. If you think the fight is overly-against the PCs, you can hold back on some of the main's spell-like abilities.

Overall, I thought this was a pretty good product and suggest you give it a try.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jessica V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2020 21:42:36

My group ran this as a one-shot and took 4-5 hours to play through. They really enjoyed how it wasn't a typical storming dungeon type campaign and had a lot of non-combat options to explore. I thought the campaign was pretty well written/easy to DM but I did agree with some of the other reviews that there were a few gaps in logic which is why I gave a 4 instead of a 5 (for example, what purpose did the tattoos on the hybrids serve, why were the hybrids in the basement sewn when the others were being transform, how did the citizens of Ibrido not notice people disappearing so consistently week to week if it had been happening awhile). Overall though, it was still an enjoyable campaign and I would recommend it!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joe R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2020 10:09:36

This quest is a great for fitting into an already homebrewed world, or using it exactly as a one shot. I reworked it to fit with my homebrew world and it worked out perfectly. A good amount of detail, but not too much to where it was annoying. Loved it! Will definitely use it again for more macabre missions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jay G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2019 16:14:53

Please check out my full series review at https://worlds-in-conflict.blogspot.com/2019/08/review-requiem-of-wings-series.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2019 13:31:37

Played this with a new DM and 2 level 4 characters, after our 3rd member unexpectantly had to leave a few minnutes in.

It was fun, but we powered through the combat. Possibly due to the inexperiance of the DM, but it could have been more challanging.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Reg F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2019 19:46:21

I ran this for a group at our local Games shop recently. Everybody enjoyed it and we had a lot of fun, despite not having the requisite "adult beverages" for the drinking game. I printed out and laminated some shots of Venice at night, St Mark's square and the interior of the Doge's Palace and a few Venice Masquerade people and clipped them to the outside of my DM screen to help with the atmosphere. The module is very well laid out and easy to follow for me as DM. the maps simple to follow and the plot interesting. The group wanted a challenge, so I pitched the boss battle at the difficult end. Despite all of the PC's falling under the Marquis' sway or dying the group is keen to do more.

I'd recommend this to anyone - new or experienced - its a good story and a well presented module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Wouter K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2019 05:28:48

My wife used this as her first time DMing. Got props and everything (Masks, sealed letters). She loved it. We loved it! It was a great evening :-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Angela H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2019 15:53:15

This is a great adventure that is easy to run. The ambience created by the descriptions and maps is wonderful and my players really enjoyed it. The only flaw I can see is that the sequence of events would benefit from further fleshing out. The story started out strong, but fell off a little about two thirds of the way through. Otherwise, great.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nicolae H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2019 22:15:47

I ran this adventure module with a group of level 3-5s, and they had a blast. One player immediately noted the inspiration of Poe's Masque of the Red Death, and enjoyed himself immensely throughout. They didn't find half of the clues and secrets until after they'd already confronted and killed Prospero, but the confrontation still felt climactic and epic (even if, in retrospect, I probably should have included the two beast-men) and Kara's explanation after-the-fact tied up all the loose ends.

I've immediately bought Requiem of Wings #2 and #3, and if they're half as good as this one was, I know it'll have been money well spent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christina F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2019 17:19:32

We had a great time running this module. There was a lot for the group to do, most of it they didn't even do (like exploring & discovering secret doors) because they instead asked around for info and roleplayed the party-scene more. I gave them an hour to explore/roleplay before the big reveal. We had a great playlist, a specialty cocktail for the night and cheap masks from the party store to help build the atmosphere. Thanks for the module!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Shanae W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2019 08:15:45

We had an absolute blast with this adventure! I played with a small team of 3 adventurers and it still lasted a good 4ish hours. We loved the setting, and the change from the dock to the city square to the castle and through to the end allowed a lot of opportunity for me to change music and lighting (and burn candles and incense upon entering the castle) to build atmosphere. This was very easy to run and really put the adventurers through their paces. The final boss battle made them really have to think and I was so impresed with what they came up with, and a little disturbed.

We only had 2 small issues that we managed to work through. As mentioned in another review, the drinking game is quite hard to play. Its such a wonderful idea, and maybe it would work much better with a larger party. I struggled to roleplay so many NPCs, and we were all a little confused as to how to make it work more smoothly. I would like to try this again with a bigger party when I have a bit more experience. The other issue was the poisoned wine taking effect so early. I fudged this a touch by making it affect some party-goers earlier than others, and made something up about one of our adventurers lasting so long because he has an experienced liver, otherwise I would have ended up with no adventurers (their fault, entirely - NEVER DRINK FREE WINE).

So all in all, minor details that can be worked with. Otherwise, we are teeing up to play through the rest of this series! Thank you so much for the hard work :D



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bianca B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2018 13:10:16

Loved running this game for my players, six folks at level 3. There are lots of cues in the module to keep the game moving, and with so many options during the party there wasn't a lull. The lore is well developed -- and bonus, easy to remember -- so that the improv conversations are easy to have. I had to make the big bad fight a little easy because we'd run over time, but I'd say the encounters were well balanced for the level. I hope to run again for another group soon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
So glad you and your party enjoyed the module! Thanks also for sharing your photos with me on Twitter. :) I hope your next group enjoys it as well. I appreciate the review! <3
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jocelyn A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 20:13:14

I hosted A Night of Masks and Monsters as a one shot for new D&D players to introduce them to 5th edition. We had a group of six 3rd level players; a ranger, 2 fighters, a cleric, a barbarian, and a wizard. Everyone had their own motivations for being there, and I had a lot of fun setting up this story for them, complete with wax sealed invitations and papercrafted packs of gear. The adventure was straight forward and simple, and I was all set up for the drinking game but the group didn't trust the alcohol here which was pretty funny. Hilarity ensued with Piccolo, and things turned sinister when the masks couldn't come off. Not many of my players used their masks special abilities, but the final boss fight was well paced and balanced for newbies trying to figure out how to do the combat. The surprise wererat was an excellent first fight for them since it had a lot of immunities and everyone got a turn to attack and try to problem solve together to figure out what to do. Everyone pulled out torches and just charred him to death! This is a highly recommended adventure, with lots of room to improv or omit or add as you see fit. The maps were excellent and I greatly enjoyed being able to take my players on this adventure! I highly recommend this for a fun side adventure at level 3 since it can be completed in a few hours. It took us about 4 hours with short breaks and two extremely new players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your review! I am so glad you and your players enjoyed the adventure, which I am sure is largely due to your thoughtful DMing. :)
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mallory D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2018 03:45:40

Review edited on 4/11/18 to give a bit more info:

First of all, I love the story and the setup of this adventure. The writing is solid and the descriptions of the world and characters are very strong. The adventure is laid out fantastically and was very easy to follow and prep. Well done!

I ran this for my group of 5 level-4 PCs this weekend, and we did have fun. We also identified some issues that could be addressed. One of their biggest criticisms was that the introduction of the first NPC (Kara) set them on edge and prevented them from just enjoying the lavish party. From the beginning, they were looking for trouble and this prevented them from really "playing." Also, because they had been warned that something was afoul, only two of them put on their magical masks. They cast "detect magic" on the masks right away, giving the game away. Later, the PCs who hadn't put on the masks felt left out because they didn't get cool abilities. I think the players questioned why other guests turned into hybrids but the effects of the PCs' masks were slower; I'm not sure how to address that, but it did seem like a lack of consequences for choices.

There were some moments in which the NPC setup was a bit complicated - the drinking game portion has a handful of NPCs with secrets, some drunk, some not - and for me, it was a lot of motivations and personalities to juggle at once, while also engaging in a fake drinking game with the PCs. My group is usually very silly, but they just didn't get into this, I think because I wasn't sure how to properly run it.

The Big Bad is very fun. I modified him a little to be more challenging for my group, but the players seemed to really enjoy him and his story - and the reveal at the end from Kara. Overall, it's a great story and worth purchasing even if you end up modifying it a bit. Most importantly, I recommend that the reveal about the bird man's death come during the party - not before - so that the PCs can enjoy the festivities without suspicion.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your feedback! I appreciate your constructive criticism from both your and your players' perspectives. I may implement some of these changes in a future update. I hope you all were able to have fun with it regardless of the issues you encountered.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items