Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1) $0.00
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
34 6
4 3
3 1
1 0
1 0
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Click to view
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2019 13:31:37

Played this with a new DM and 2 level 4 characters, after our 3rd member unexpectantly had to leave a few minnutes in.

It was fun, but we powered through the combat. Possibly due to the inexperiance of the DM, but it could have been more challanging.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Reg F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2019 19:46:21

I ran this for a group at our local Games shop recently. Everybody enjoyed it and we had a lot of fun, despite not having the requisite "adult beverages" for the drinking game. I printed out and laminated some shots of Venice at night, St Mark's square and the interior of the Doge's Palace and a few Venice Masquerade people and clipped them to the outside of my DM screen to help with the atmosphere. The module is very well laid out and easy to follow for me as DM. the maps simple to follow and the plot interesting. The group wanted a challenge, so I pitched the boss battle at the difficult end. Despite all of the PC's falling under the Marquis' sway or dying the group is keen to do more.

I'd recommend this to anyone - new or experienced - its a good story and a well presented module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Wouter K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2019 05:28:48

My wife used this as her first time DMing. Got props and everything (Masks, sealed letters). She loved it. We loved it! It was a great evening :-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Angela H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2019 15:53:15

This is a great adventure that is easy to run. The ambience created by the descriptions and maps is wonderful and my players really enjoyed it. The only flaw I can see is that the sequence of events would benefit from further fleshing out. The story started out strong, but fell off a little about two thirds of the way through. Otherwise, great.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nicolae H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2019 22:15:47

I ran this adventure module with a group of level 3-5s, and they had a blast. One player immediately noted the inspiration of Poe's Masque of the Red Death, and enjoyed himself immensely throughout. They didn't find half of the clues and secrets until after they'd already confronted and killed Prospero, but the confrontation still felt climactic and epic (even if, in retrospect, I probably should have included the two beast-men) and Kara's explanation after-the-fact tied up all the loose ends.

I've immediately bought Requiem of Wings #2 and #3, and if they're half as good as this one was, I know it'll have been money well spent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christina F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2019 17:19:32

We had a great time running this module. There was a lot for the group to do, most of it they didn't even do (like exploring & discovering secret doors) because they instead asked around for info and roleplayed the party-scene more. I gave them an hour to explore/roleplay before the big reveal. We had a great playlist, a specialty cocktail for the night and cheap masks from the party store to help build the atmosphere. Thanks for the module!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Shanae W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2019 08:15:45

We had an absolute blast with this adventure! I played with a small team of 3 adventurers and it still lasted a good 4ish hours. We loved the setting, and the change from the dock to the city square to the castle and through to the end allowed a lot of opportunity for me to change music and lighting (and burn candles and incense upon entering the castle) to build atmosphere. This was very easy to run and really put the adventurers through their paces. The final boss battle made them really have to think and I was so impresed with what they came up with, and a little disturbed.

We only had 2 small issues that we managed to work through. As mentioned in another review, the drinking game is quite hard to play. Its such a wonderful idea, and maybe it would work much better with a larger party. I struggled to roleplay so many NPCs, and we were all a little confused as to how to make it work more smoothly. I would like to try this again with a bigger party when I have a bit more experience. The other issue was the poisoned wine taking effect so early. I fudged this a touch by making it affect some party-goers earlier than others, and made something up about one of our adventurers lasting so long because he has an experienced liver, otherwise I would have ended up with no adventurers (their fault, entirely - NEVER DRINK FREE WINE).

So all in all, minor details that can be worked with. Otherwise, we are teeing up to play through the rest of this series! Thank you so much for the hard work :D



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bianca B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2018 13:10:16

Loved running this game for my players, six folks at level 3. There are lots of cues in the module to keep the game moving, and with so many options during the party there wasn't a lull. The lore is well developed -- and bonus, easy to remember -- so that the improv conversations are easy to have. I had to make the big bad fight a little easy because we'd run over time, but I'd say the encounters were well balanced for the level. I hope to run again for another group soon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
So glad you and your party enjoyed the module! Thanks also for sharing your photos with me on Twitter. :) I hope your next group enjoys it as well. I appreciate the review! <3
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jocelyn A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 20:13:14

I hosted A Night of Masks and Monsters as a one shot for new D&D players to introduce them to 5th edition. We had a group of six 3rd level players; a ranger, 2 fighters, a cleric, a barbarian, and a wizard. Everyone had their own motivations for being there, and I had a lot of fun setting up this story for them, complete with wax sealed invitations and papercrafted packs of gear. The adventure was straight forward and simple, and I was all set up for the drinking game but the group didn't trust the alcohol here which was pretty funny. Hilarity ensued with Piccolo, and things turned sinister when the masks couldn't come off. Not many of my players used their masks special abilities, but the final boss fight was well paced and balanced for newbies trying to figure out how to do the combat. The surprise wererat was an excellent first fight for them since it had a lot of immunities and everyone got a turn to attack and try to problem solve together to figure out what to do. Everyone pulled out torches and just charred him to death! This is a highly recommended adventure, with lots of room to improv or omit or add as you see fit. The maps were excellent and I greatly enjoyed being able to take my players on this adventure! I highly recommend this for a fun side adventure at level 3 since it can be completed in a few hours. It took us about 4 hours with short breaks and two extremely new players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your review! I am so glad you and your players enjoyed the adventure, which I am sure is largely due to your thoughtful DMing. :)
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mallory D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2018 03:45:40

Review edited on 4/11/18 to give a bit more info:

First of all, I love the story and the setup of this adventure. The writing is solid and the descriptions of the world and characters are very strong. The adventure is laid out fantastically and was very easy to follow and prep. Well done!

I ran this for my group of 5 level-4 PCs this weekend, and we did have fun. We also identified some issues that could be addressed. One of their biggest criticisms was that the introduction of the first NPC (Kara) set them on edge and prevented them from just enjoying the lavish party. From the beginning, they were looking for trouble and this prevented them from really "playing." Also, because they had been warned that something was afoul, only two of them put on their magical masks. They cast "detect magic" on the masks right away, giving the game away. Later, the PCs who hadn't put on the masks felt left out because they didn't get cool abilities. I think the players questioned why other guests turned into hybrids but the effects of the PCs' masks were slower; I'm not sure how to address that, but it did seem like a lack of consequences for choices.

There were some moments in which the NPC setup was a bit complicated - the drinking game portion has a handful of NPCs with secrets, some drunk, some not - and for me, it was a lot of motivations and personalities to juggle at once, while also engaging in a fake drinking game with the PCs. My group is usually very silly, but they just didn't get into this, I think because I wasn't sure how to properly run it.

The Big Bad is very fun. I modified him a little to be more challenging for my group, but the players seemed to really enjoy him and his story - and the reveal at the end from Kara. Overall, it's a great story and worth purchasing even if you end up modifying it a bit. Most importantly, I recommend that the reveal about the bird man's death come during the party - not before - so that the PCs can enjoy the festivities without suspicion.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your feedback! I appreciate your constructive criticism from both your and your players' perspectives. I may implement some of these changes in a future update. I hope you all were able to have fun with it regardless of the issues you encountered.
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items