Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
The Midnight Revelry $2.95 $2.21
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
21 11
2 3
1 0
0 0
0 0
The Midnight Revelry
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Midnight Revelry
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alex A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2019 11:39:15

Before getting into the one somewhat major flaw in this adventure, I should mention it is an excellent adventure in which most of the encounters allow for creativity and player freedom. The puzzle at the temple is difficult enough that players feel intelligent when they solve it, and the mystery at the beginning is a great hook to get players interested. When I gave it 4 out of 5, I truly believe that it deserved all of the four stars I gave it.

However, flaw this adventure has is that the villain seems to come out of nowhere. The big bad being explained as the big bad via exposition near the end (if your characters shot at the pranking fairies) makes the ending feel unsatisfying when compared to the rest of the adventure. If I were to rerun it, I would have the satyr (whom most of the clues point to as the cause of the problem) be the villain. The other option would be to restructure the adventure to make Lady Rimeheart more integral to the story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Midnight Revelry
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Shaina B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2019 05:21:27

I DM'ed this adventure as my first one as a DM and everyone enjoyed it, especially since it was a bit different from the others we have played before. Easy to follow and play, and also to level up or down for players at lower levels. We played this with six level 2 players and it worked quite well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for your kind words! I'm happy to have helped your first time behind the screen be a positive one.
The Midnight Revelry
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Morgan A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2018 14:22:32

This one shot was a lot of fun to run! I used this as a way to introduce some new players to D&D. One of my players told me they were expecting their first experience to be a dungeon crawl or something similar so they were pleasantly surprised it was fey related (which is exactly why I picked it). My players loved the encounter with the sprites and pixies and overall had a lot of fun. Was well written and easy to follow. Thank you for giving my players a memorable first game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Things like this are truly amazing to hear. If this helped bring even one person into a lifelong gaming hobby, then it has done its job. Thank you for your interest and for taking the time to share a review!
The Midnight Revelry
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by True F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2018 08:58:15

This adventure is awesome! I run a campaign for a party of four and I ran this as their first real adventure. Not only did they have an incredible time with this, but I found it incedibly easy to run, thanks to the tips and tactics provided by the creator! I would reccommend this to anyone looking for a good low level adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind words! I am happy to hear the tips and tactics made this easy to run, that was a goal of mine when writing this.
The Midnight Revelry
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jurassica M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/02/2018 22:58:41

My players and I really enjoyed this adventure, and it was a great starting point for a larger campaign based around the Fey. I would recommend it for new players and new DMs alike, as it was well organized with all the various story elements laid out clearly.

Originally I was supposed to be running it for just two players (both brand new to D&D) so I set their characters at level 5 to help balance things, but at the last moment a third player jumped in (also level 5 for fairness' sake) so I had to beef up the encounters significantly. For example, I changed the Wolves in the village to Dire Wolves and added a pair of Winter Wolves to the final boss encounter. But it all worked out and they had a great time, and we're all looking forward to playing again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you! I actually just used this adventure at level 5 as well and also threw in a pair of winter wolves at the end. 5e is awesome for its flexibility like that. Happy you all had fun!
The Midnight Revelry
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zachary H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2018 07:33:54

I just ran this adventure as the opening two sessions for my campaign with a party of 3 2nd-Level adventuerers. It's very well written, well laid out, and has several interesting plot points that can be picked up in later adventures depending on the PCs choices. There's a good amount of both combat and social encounters. Last night, my party ended up avoiding multiple combat encounters due to a willingness to roleplay and some really crappy rolls from me.

I also really appreciated the setting neutrality of this adventure. I was able to drop it into my own setting without issue - as long as you have a nearby forest, you can run this adventure.

Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I am glad to hear you had fun running this! I am actually (slowly) working on another adventure that features Erasus the satyr now - stay tuned!
The Midnight Revelry
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kirk C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 22:02:06

This is a very well written adventure, and I can't wait to run it for my players!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind words, Kirk! I hope you and your players have as much fun as I did writing it.
The Midnight Revelry
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/21/2018 18:32:33

Thoroughly enjoyed this mod. Well written and unique.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Midnight Revelry
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dominic M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2018 16:51:44

This adventure looks like a lot of fun and was very easy to follow. I imagine that I would have no difficulty roleplaying the NPCs and monsters due to the very handy tactics and developments sections. This adventure was a delight to read through. Full of flavor and personality. It looks easy to run even for new DMs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for your kind words! It was certainly my intention to make this adventure accessible to new players and DMs alike. I'm happy you believe I delivered on that goal.
The Midnight Revelry
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Josh P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2018 14:00:18

This adventure was an awesome amount of fun. I ran it for 3 fourth level characters and the fights were difficult, but not overwhelming. Lot of creative encounters, excellent description, and the notes to help a GM run the adventure were spot on. I can not recomend this adventure enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Midnight Revelry
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mallory D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2018 09:50:16

A WONDERFUL, FINELY CRAFTED 5E ADVENTURE!

I ran The Midnight Revelry for 5 level 4 PCs. Three were regulars in my group and two were completely new to D&D. Level 4 was a bit of a stretch on the low-level encounters, which I had to beef up quite a bit, so I do recommend sticking to the stated levels (1-3) on this one. That being said, my players and I loved it! This adventure is worth every penny you choose to spend, and likely more. It has a great narrative that's simple enough for players to grasp onto, but also mysterious and interesting enough to keep them moving along and learning more.

It includes cool custom magical items, fun monsters, and interesting NPCs. A lot of things are spelled out, but some things are left open. I had everything I needed to run this, and added bits of flavor here and there, as I saw fit. It was so easy.

The Midnight Revelry has a wonderful mix of roleplaying, exploration, and combat and as some other reviewers have stated, the specific combat instructions were so helpful! I have only been DMing for about a year and am still often overwhelmed by running combat. Each encounter includes a series of actions the monster/villain would take and in what order. That was so helpful.

To be honest, I wish I had started our 5e campaign with this adventure instead of the official starter adventure (LMOP). This one was much more exciting, fun, and helpful for introducing the game to new players and DMs. It has the standard village with its standard landmarks, flexible combat encounters, and even a link to the Feywild! Buy it, run it, enjoy it! It's wonderful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much! I personally love LMOP, so hearing you would have rather run my adventure is very high praise. Be on the lookout for some more stuff from myself and my brother, Robert Walz, in the near future!
The Midnight Revelry
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Drew T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2018 14:46:39

Ran this for a group of 4 level 3 adventurers. They really enjoyed playing through it and I really enjoyed running it!

This adventure is very well written. There's just the right amount of information for the DM to understand what's going on and the PCs' objectives. I found it easy to get set up, especially with the adjustment suggestions for varying character levels. The information also wasn't so overbearing that I felt like I had no room for interpretation. I also liked the NPCs included here - several characters could easily reappear down the road, depending on the party's choices. Overall, it was everything I look for in an adventure: concise yet informative, easy to manage the narrative, and when I get down to it, just plain fun. One bonus particular to our group is despite playing for a long time, we haven't played a lot of adventures concerning the Fae. Something tells me that's going to change after this one.

Looking forward to whatever comes next from the author!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind words. I had no idea what I wanted to write for the DMs Guild when I first sat down to do this. I ended up settling on fey because, as you said, they seem to be the forgotten planar creatures. They are perfectly suited for low level adventurers and I hope they open up a world a bit more magical than just "let's go to the goblin warren... again" for your group. Happy you had fun!
The Midnight Revelry
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2017 16:16:53

The Midnight Revelry is one of the most comprehensive pre written adventures I've run, and is in fact easier to implement than any of the WotC adventures I've run (OotA, LMoP, and STK).

It is easily adaptable featuring scaled encounters for smaller or more powerful groups. The pacing is wonderful, and the players are given new ways to interact with their world constantly. The Fey encounters showcase interesting uses for magic. Even running this adventure for players without prior knowledge of the puckish nature of Fey creatures, it is easy to show rather than tell that they cause mischief, and love chaos, but they aren't inherently evil, just very different.

This adventure is highly recommended to kick off a campaign, it has a bbeg, magic items, memorable scenes and npcs, and a lot of heart.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am happy my adventure made for a fun session for you and your players. Follow this product page for updates - I will be releasing a more professionally designed PDF in the coming days.
The Midnight Revelry
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kamil B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2017 14:10:32

The Midnight Revelry is a great adventure if you want to use fey creatures at a low level. It works as a one shot or an early sidequest if your party is the sort to explore everything they can find. The tactical information really puts this one over the top.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review! Combat tactics are something I often miss as a DM. Sometimes I just don't have the time to sit down and analyze the best way to run monsters to create a memorable challenge.
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items