Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
In The Black Midwinter $2.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 8
5 3
1 0
0 0
0 0
In The Black Midwinter
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
In The Black Midwinter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Julz B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2019 15:32:43

Let me just say right off the bat, if you're looking for a fun, festive adventure that's easy to run and will challenge your players in both combat and lore without being impossible to beat... you've found it.

I was looking for something to fit with my group who love to laugh while they play. We wanted to do something fun for Christmas with new characters for a change. This festive module was perfect. Absolutely insanely the best thing I could have downloaded. I honestly think I could have woven this in easily with the main storyline too, though with the weaponry and crazy conditions they received, I'm kinda glad that I didn't! Haha. I could have just said all that dissapeared (or stuff reappeared in one players case) when they left town though I guess.

From the hall that my players were afraid of and then overcame that fear only to get hit with The Deck of Merry Things, to the in-jokes of Famous Christmas Movies and Festive Mythology from all over the world; this module will have you hanging on the edge of your seat as they try to piece all the bits together and save the town of Cratch from Krampus. In one game I had a player vanish into the sack and another go down in the final fight, but luckily someone was ringing the bell and things went haywire just enough for them to win. IT WAS INTENSE but amazing.

I followed instructions and decorated my house very festively. I had hats, candy canes, festive snacks and treats a plenty. I cut up my Deck Of Merry Things, glued them to an old deck of cards and had then draw from it for real. Zero regrets about the prep work. My players flipped out.

The PDF is insanely helpful with both detailed text boxes to read to the players and a quick reference page for those who like to fire up their own imagination. It also includes all monster stats and helpful random roll tables, so you barely need to open anything else! Only to find out what conditions might do, you might also have the Players Handbook nearby, just in case.

I have played this two times through with different groups already and it has a special place in my heart. I cannot thank the creator enough for bringing such great festive joy to me and my players. I hope to see more awesomeness like this again soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In The Black Midwinter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2019 10:45:50

Let me start by saying that this module is FANTASTIC. If you are looking for a Christmas-y adventure then look no further! It is some of the most fun our table has had playing D&D. The Home Alone references had my players laughing throughout.

Unfortunately due to time restraints I was not able to run the Yule Boys so I can't comment on how well they play out but everything else worked out great. I opted to use all 3 of the big bads listed and I'm glad I did, it was fun seeing the party split to fight 3 separate monsters bosses. I also changed the Deck of Merrythings to just some cookies with bonuses (again, mostly to keep things tight on time for the show) but the Deck is amazing and could probably be a supplement on its own.

The theme of this adventure is spot on, it really got us in the Christmas spirit. I highly recommend it for a December one shot!

I DM'd this for my podcast and YouTube series so if you want to watch or listen to a playthrough you can check it out below or just search "One-shot Onslaught" wherever you download podcasts:



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In The Black Midwinter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gia S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2019 08:48:27

I really enjoyed running this adventure! I wove this story into the larger campaign I am running, and my players enjoyed themselves. I had a little trouble getting my players to investigate the town; they immediately went to the meadhall and tried to figure out what was happening in there (I had the meadhall door be locked and suggested they go find the key, thus getting them to go to Holan's house). I think I probably should have had my players meet one of the Yule lads outside and the Yule lad could have led them on a merry chase all over town...ah well. The overall organization is occasionally confusing, but I found that after I read over everything and sorted through all the appendices, the story made sense. I am impressed with the amount of detail for a such a short campaign--the author clearly put a ton of time and effort into this packet!

The most amazing part of this campaign is the Deck of Merry Things! The amount of work that went into the deck is really staggering and I can't say enough good things about it. My players "enjoyed" it as well (the majority picked cards with negative effects). I had the town throw my players a party after they defeated the Krampus; I then let them pick a second card (and they all picked cards with positive effects this time!).

Overall, this is a really fun campaign and I definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to run a fun, holiday-themed session.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In The Black Midwinter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adriana H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 01:22:43

My players REALLY enjoyed this adventure and I really enjoyed running it. It was super easy to follow and I love how well organized and written it was. Thank you! I only wish you had more for me to buy! Looking forward to what you put out in the future. All the best, Adriana.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In The Black Midwinter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2018 14:15:22

Had a great time running this as a holiday one-shot with my group of six players! Brewed up a few other ways to reveal the other secrets of Cratch, but the party loved the Deck of Merry Things and the entire last fight! Would reconmmend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In The Black Midwinter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matt P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2018 09:30:28

This was a fantastic seasonal one-off adventure! It was a lot of fun to run this and the players loved it too. The resources are very detailed and well written. Well worth the price!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In The Black Midwinter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Erik H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2018 20:52:36

Ran this for a friends kids today. They are all pretty new to DnD (the most experienced had only played twice before).

It was great, the fight with the Blizzard King at the beginning really got them into it, and then playing up the unsettling nature of Cratch really got them jumping at shadows and paranoid, to the point that they actually suspected Bran of being Krampus himself! They enjoyed exploring the town, and lost their minds when they finally got to the end and Krampus showed up with friends. They even managed to piece together the significance of the Yule Lads and the silver bell. They had a really good time, with the ranger and druid covering for the fighter and sorcerer trying to snap Ebin out of his trance. The ranger got sacked by Krampus!

From a running it standpoint, I would have prefered if the cards were either in a seperate file, or at the end of the pdf, instead of having to keep scrolling past them, found I was having to jump back and forth alot. More detail on the actual contents of the Home Alone house would also be nice, maybe with some minor items sprinkled in to reward making it past all the traps. Honestly, fleshing out Cratch a bit more from an exploration standpoint in general would be useful for people running it with little to no prep. I ended up just improving through it and having fun with Yule Lad shenanigans.

Overall, great adventure, well worth the cost of admission.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In The Black Midwinter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by 5E S. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2018 22:32:39

Great little Xmas-themed adventure. The author has put a lot of time into creating the resources contained in here. Well worth a look and definitely worth the asking price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In The Black Midwinter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joshua H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2017 21:25:28

My players loved this adventure especially the Home Alone house and the Deck of Merry Things.

The Deck of Merry Things was fantastic and could be sold seperately. It would be handy if the deck had the correct number of "backs" to the cards for printing purposes.

The maps looked great but it would be better if they could be put on a seperate page for printing with/without a grid for miniatures.

Honestly, I think you could charge more for this adventure, it was high quality and well written. Thanks for sharing it with the community.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi - thanks for the great review. My intention with the cardbacks was to do a full page that you could reprint as many times as you want to sync up with the card fronts but if it's more useful for people to create the exact number so people can just print double sided, I can certainly sort that out. I also plan to include a table to roll on for people who don't want to print the cards out, and a whole printer friendly version of the document with no backgrounds. I've since added maps as a separate file, but I feel like I need to redraw them, so that might also happen at some point. Thanks again - really glad to hear your players enjoyed the adventure. Now I need to do a sequel, but maybe one that people will buy all year round rather than just at Christmas!
In The Black Midwinter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Angelo S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2017 23:17:19

Great one-shot adventure with a nice holiday/winter theme. Just what I was looking for. It was well written with good twists and a little bit for every style of player -- battles, traps, role-playing, magic, etc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In The Black Midwinter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Steve C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/20/2017 10:23:14

All in all, an excellent adventure that can be played from very light hearted and silly, to rather sinister (the Krampus & the Yule Boys can easily be quite scary). It has plenty of background color which could easily be adapted or extended for a longer play experience. The movie references (Home Alone & Die Hard) are fun and surprised my players. The folklore Fae monsters (The Yule Boys, Krampus etc) are well implemented and characterful. My only request would be maps, while there are some excellent maps in the module copy they are within the module text and I had trouble getting them into a seperately printable form. A printable map pack would be an excelllent addition I would be happy to purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items