Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Tomb of Annihilation Companion $4.99
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
9 16
2 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Click to view
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/22/2018 19:35:57

While I highly reccomend this supplement, and ihave used or borrowed inspiration from most of it, the part that I've found the most useful is the buildings in Omu. My players kept investigating and asking about every building in Omu, quickly burning through all the random encounters that the actual book offered and leaving the city seeming rather flat and repetitive. Being able to insert this companion's more fully-fleshed out buildings into the mix for them was a breath of fresh air, and those encounters and explorations have been some of their favorite parts of our TOA campaign so far. (And they fit so seamlessly the players didn't even realize it wasn't part of the original campaign guide!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jaime W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2018 12:04:34

This supplement helped immensely when I was running ToA. The dragon race mechanics delighted my players, and the ideas for encounters with the Sewn Sisters helped me create an additional ongoing plot that added some needed continuity to the story. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Val E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2018 15:22:00

I got a bit in over my head as a first time DM running ToA and this companion has absolutely saved me!! The pre-prepaired travel brings in the much needed magic and wonder of the jungle, and the revised dino race rules are so much fun. Thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2018 23:24:57

This is a excellent resoruce for ToA DMs! Why gloss over the journey, when the journey to Omu is half the battle (and fun)! This Companion is easy to read and follow. Each of the 30-days includes reminders for navigation checks, foraging for food and water, and interesting encounters. They're full of variety and keep the players on their toes. $5 is a bargin.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matt C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2018 04:10:10

The 30 days of travel is the most useful part of this companion. I've used them in all my campaigns for ToA (I've run 4-5 now) and they really help highlight how interesting and diverse travel days can be. Of course, some modifications here and there based on whether the party met certain NPCs etc are in order, but it's very easy to springboard off of.

The alternative dino racing rules are also a great start - even if you only use the scenes and go with the base rules. Can't recommend this highly enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2018 01:04:37

About to start my ToA campaign and of all the supliments I bought, this is the one I use the most.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Leons P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2018 20:42:52

This is a vital supplement for Tomb of Annihilation. It vastly improves Chapter 2, and makes great additions to the other four chapters as well. I really like how it links many of the random cool things in ToA as well as how it foreshadows the things to come.

For Chapter 1, it makes it actually possible to run a dino race as a DM.

I'm looking forward to using the other refinements on the module once my players get to Chapter 3.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Perry B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2018 15:53:20

I am currently running a campaign with this productThe guide fills in a lot of gaps and makes the adventure move smoothly. I recommend it for TOA.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by jeff s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2018 11:07:26

I am using this product and find it a great asset for running Tomb of Annihilation. I think the Jungle days of travel is such a great idea and so useful. Only struggle I have is I want to mix up the days different then they are in the companion, but the PDF is made with some strange fonts or encodings. I am unable to copy the text out the pdf and into my own word document for use in my compaign. It only pastes as garbled text. Tried so many different ways to do this. I am only able to retype everything and I hate typing.

Great product and highly recommend for running your Tomb campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jarrod N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2018 15:03:07

I own four different Tomb of Annihilation supplements, and this is the only one I'd call a must-buy for running the game.

If you want to provide yourself with many more interesting options for travel days, including unique discoveries of flora, fauna, and both roleplay and combat opportunities, this PDF is a must-own and well worth the price. This alone would be worth it for me, but add onto that some truly ingenious expansion of the dinosaur racing (should be tons of fun to run for the players while also introducing them to some of the Port's major sights), and some twisted ideas for introducing a certain trio of Sisters that can play a role in the later campaign.

I've purchased all the companions this author has provided for WotC's campaigns over the last few years, and every one has made my game better for myself and my players. Buy his stuff because his ideas are worth it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allison R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2018 21:42:09

For the price this is SUPER worth it. I use it here and there for fun inspiration regarding daily travel through the jungle between locations. Sometimes I just use it for a general idea, other times I use it as written. Sometimes I try to use it as written...and my players do the weird things that all players tend to do. :p

Overall this has a lot of great ideas that are worth using in your campaign to keep treking through the jungle from getting stale.

It's a great way to get those creative juices flowing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2017 13:38:59

This book was worth it for the race alone!! thanks for taking the time to put this together



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2017 12:35:24

Excellent ideas, well organized, also good inspiration for other encounters or events that help tie the story together and really weave a coherent narrative. I highly recommend it for anyone running or thinking of running Tomb of Annihilation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2017 16:03:32

This is an outstanding resource. There's alot of great material here. In particular, the expanded dinosaur racing, the supplemental exploration/foraging material, and the expanded detail of the city of Omu will make ToA easier to DM and more enjoyable for the players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tyler K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2017 13:21:27

McGovern's Tomb of Annihilation Companion is an absolute must-have.

His grasp on the more subtle aspects of the narrative and his ability to weave it all together into a cohesive story is fantastic. The way in which he finds ways to drop hints about important characters, Chultan myths and legends, places, and plot lines is creative, clever, and organic.

With all the potential encounters and open-ended exploration of the world outside of Port Nyanzaru, I found myself wondering how to really flesh out the world of Chult beyond simply rolling from the lengthy encounters table. McGovern breathes life into the random jungle travel encounters and helps paint Chult's rich diversity, history, and danger in a truly wonderful way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items