Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Tomb of Annihilation Companion $4.99 $2.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
44 26
15 0
2 1
1 0
0 0
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Haven S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2021 12:42:33

This was super helpful in running the campaign, especially as a somewhat inexperienced DM. I used a lot of the jungle travel/montage section to help alleviate some of the monotony that can come with hex crawl adventures. I also appreciated the Omu section, as it helped to flesh out the city a bit. I did run the Trial of the Sewn Sisters, and this is the only thing that didn't go over well- it's not really clear whether the trial is really happening, or in a collective dream, and players were frustrated that they were being forced to go through the trials without any real means of escaping or fighting back. The trials don't really seem to play by rules and it felt unfair for my players. But overall, an excellent resource for ToA! Definitely worth it for the pre-generated travel days alone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jake H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2020 11:20:33

I initially bought this companion just for the expanded Dinosaur Race rules. This was a feature that I was really excited to use, as I thought it was one of the more unique parts of the adventure, especially early on.

The additional Dinosaur Race rules were amazing and worth the purchase alone; however, this companion booklet is SO much more. The author does an amazing job mapping out days and days of jungle travel, each with their own fun experiences. There is a great balance of combat and noncombat encounters included here, expanding far, far beyond what is offered in the random encounters in the actual module. For me, I wanted to create a lot of my own jungle encounters, but I cherry picked my favorites from this companion piece to help spice things up.

My groups favorite was a literal shower of zombies encounter which was a BLAST!

My group has just arrived in Omu, and I was disappointed how little of the city is actually fleshed out in the module, but against this Companion booklet came to the rescue. There are 8 more locations fleshed out, which after tweaking for my party look like a ton of fun. Im particularly excited for a Magic Academy of Omu encounter, that involved some cool use of the Wild Magic Sorcerer trait.

Overall, I think anyone playing Tomb of Annihilation should give strong consideration to purchasing this product. There are so many great ideas and components here. If you want minimum planning this companion is perfect. Stuck on ideas to spice up jungle travel, boom companion to the rescue! Can't figure out how to make Omu pop... well you get the picture.

Amazing job i'm so happy I purchased this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2020 14:52:49

I wish I had this the first time I ran Tomb of Annihilation! It does a great job of setting the jungle mood, and working in a lot of foreshadowing. I strongly recommend this if you are running Tomb of Annihilation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Peter M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2020 06:27:31

So very helpful for running the jungle expedition. Basically takes some of the suggested hooks from the tables in the ToA book, uses them, adds others and foreshadows Omu brilliantly. I would reccomend going through the whole thing a couple times just to plan, since some encounters may want to be changed (e.g. Artus Cimber), but, on the whole, I practically had to do very little planning for those sessions and yet my players got the full jungle experience! It saved me tons of time and meant that we didn't just rush through the jungle, trying to level up for Omu.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Simon L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2020 02:52:25

The ToA companion document is essential for my running of the campaign. After my group finished LMoP, it was clear they wanted to continue playing and so I pocked ToA as the setting appealed to me. The adventure does less hand holding as LMoP and as such needs more preparation. I am busy with work and attending uni so also preparing the D&D session every week can be stressful. The companion is fantastic to take some load of the DM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Clinton B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2020 22:52:39

[Disclaimer: I am a brand-new GM preparing for my first-ever campaign, ToA. I haven't run a single session yet, so take my review as you will.]

In preparing for ToA, the aspect that has worried me the most is the hex-crawl through the jungle, so I purchased this guide primarily for the 30 pre-generated days of travel. Naturally, I skipped ahead to that section and was extremely pleased with the quality and variety of occurrences and encounters. The 30 days are all each unique and interesting, with a good mix of boons and banes, challenges and rewards. The amount of detail included for each day is thorough without becoming overbearing or "railroaded". IMO, these travel days alone are worth the price of the guide.

The other content in the book is very good. The re-worked dino race is an improvement over the original, and the fleshing-out of Omu will be very helpful, too. As for the remainder of the content, well, I'm not experienced enough to judge yet.

But I will repeat my main praise of the guide: the travel days alone are worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chadwick S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2019 18:02:33

The Tomb of Annihilation Companion is a well-written, very extensive addition to the adventure content, with beautiful, original art to accompany it. For a novice DM, the information is presented so that it could be run without any preparation.

However, because ToA companion is presented in such a way for novice DMs, it really restricts how more experienced DMs can utilize the material. I don’t, personally, love the style of much of the content (I prefer lower magic/less “gamey” mechanics), like the Water Tubes or the expanded Dinosaur Race. The Jungle Travel and Montage sections completely negate the hex crawl that is essentially the main focus of the adventure. The formatting promotes a very linear narrative, without many "branch points" for character agency. Etc, etc.

Normally, this would not affect my rating of the content. D&D is such a highly subjective endeavor, to rate something poorly because it doesn’t mesh with my personal style wouldn’t be very helpful for those looking to purchase the content. In fact, the only thing that would need to change in order for me to change my rating from a 3 to a 5 is to make the PDF able to copy and paste content. That way I can utilize the content in a way that’s best for me. As is, I will have to invest A LOT of time retyping and formatting it for my own use.

If you're a new DM, this is a great resource. If you're an experienced DM looking to filch, it is much less helpful.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Skyler K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2019 15:19:32

Very useful for jungle crawl. Looking forward to the rest of the content as well!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Noel K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2019 09:08:04

Hey I absolutely loved your companion pieve to ToA! The dinosaur race was especially awesome and the Water Elementals have become key figures in my player's campaign. I used the map you included for the race, bought some cheap plastic dinosaurs and repainted them (complete with war/racing paint stripes!). I made this event such a big deal that it bascially became a serious version of Hanna Barabra Wacky Racers. My players chose a team name, designed a logo, and we even had shirts made for us to wear. Well played!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2019 18:51:31

Another invaluable resource for DMs running Tomb of Annihilation, the Companion provides additional or variant rules for a number of elements that Tomb of Annihilation perhaps did not do justice to.

From more detailed dinosaur racing rules to 30-days of pre-designed jungle traveling to some reworked encounters for the Tomb of the Nine Gods itself, this is a must-have if you felt that certain areas of the module as published didn't quite live up to expectations.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joshua R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2018 14:50:43

Been a big help in inspiring directions to go and encounters to find for my group. The dinosaur racing was perfect, really fleshed out the idea the book struggled to convey, the players loved it and it was such a good introduction to Chult. And incorporting the Sewn Sisters throughout the jungle has been a spooky blast.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/22/2018 19:35:57

While I highly reccomend this supplement, and ihave used or borrowed inspiration from most of it, the part that I've found the most useful is the buildings in Omu. My players kept investigating and asking about every building in Omu, quickly burning through all the random encounters that the actual book offered and leaving the city seeming rather flat and repetitive. Being able to insert this companion's more fully-fleshed out buildings into the mix for them was a breath of fresh air, and those encounters and explorations have been some of their favorite parts of our TOA campaign so far. (And they fit so seamlessly the players didn't even realize it wasn't part of the original campaign guide!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jaime W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2018 12:04:34

This supplement helped immensely when I was running ToA. The dragon race mechanics delighted my players, and the ideas for encounters with the Sewn Sisters helped me create an additional ongoing plot that added some needed continuity to the story. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Val E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2018 15:22:00

I got a bit in over my head as a first time DM running ToA and this companion has absolutely saved me!! The pre-prepaired travel brings in the much needed magic and wonder of the jungle, and the revised dino race rules are so much fun. Thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2018 23:24:57

This is a excellent resoruce for ToA DMs! Why gloss over the journey, when the journey to Omu is half the battle (and fun)! This Companion is easy to read and follow. Each of the 30-days includes reminders for navigation checks, foraging for food and water, and interesting encounters. They're full of variety and keep the players on their toes. $5 is a bargin.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items