Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Tomb of Annihilation Companion $4.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
26 20
11 0
1 1
0 0
0 0
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chadwick S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2019 18:02:33

The Tomb of Annihilation Companion is a well-written, very extensive addition to the adventure content, with beautiful, original art to accompany it. For a novice DM, the information is presented so that it could be run without any preparation.

However, because ToA companion is presented in such a way for novice DMs, it really restricts how more experienced DMs can utilize the material. I don’t, personally, love the style of much of the content (I prefer lower magic/less “gamey” mechanics), like the Water Tubes or the expanded Dinosaur Race. The Jungle Travel and Montage sections completely negate the hex crawl that is essentially the main focus of the adventure. The formatting promotes a very linear narrative, without many "branch points" for character agency. Etc, etc.

Normally, this would not affect my rating of the content. D&D is such a highly subjective endeavor, to rate something poorly because it doesn’t mesh with my personal style wouldn’t be very helpful for those looking to purchase the content. In fact, the only thing that would need to change in order for me to change my rating from a 3 to a 5 is to make the PDF able to copy and paste content. That way I can utilize the content in a way that’s best for me. As is, I will have to invest A LOT of time retyping and formatting it for my own use.

If you're a new DM, this is a great resource. If you're an experienced DM looking to filch, it is much less helpful.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Skyler K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2019 15:19:32

Very useful for jungle crawl. Looking forward to the rest of the content as well!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Noel K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2019 09:08:04

Hey I absolutely loved your companion pieve to ToA! The dinosaur race was especially awesome and the Water Elementals have become key figures in my player's campaign. I used the map you included for the race, bought some cheap plastic dinosaurs and repainted them (complete with war/racing paint stripes!). I made this event such a big deal that it bascially became a serious version of Hanna Barabra Wacky Racers. My players chose a team name, designed a logo, and we even had shirts made for us to wear. Well played!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2019 18:51:31

Another invaluable resource for DMs running Tomb of Annihilation, the Companion provides additional or variant rules for a number of elements that Tomb of Annihilation perhaps did not do justice to.

From more detailed dinosaur racing rules to 30-days of pre-designed jungle traveling to some reworked encounters for the Tomb of the Nine Gods itself, this is a must-have if you felt that certain areas of the module as published didn't quite live up to expectations.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joshua R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2018 14:50:43

Been a big help in inspiring directions to go and encounters to find for my group. The dinosaur racing was perfect, really fleshed out the idea the book struggled to convey, the players loved it and it was such a good introduction to Chult. And incorporting the Sewn Sisters throughout the jungle has been a spooky blast.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/22/2018 19:35:57

While I highly reccomend this supplement, and ihave used or borrowed inspiration from most of it, the part that I've found the most useful is the buildings in Omu. My players kept investigating and asking about every building in Omu, quickly burning through all the random encounters that the actual book offered and leaving the city seeming rather flat and repetitive. Being able to insert this companion's more fully-fleshed out buildings into the mix for them was a breath of fresh air, and those encounters and explorations have been some of their favorite parts of our TOA campaign so far. (And they fit so seamlessly the players didn't even realize it wasn't part of the original campaign guide!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jaime W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2018 12:04:34

This supplement helped immensely when I was running ToA. The dragon race mechanics delighted my players, and the ideas for encounters with the Sewn Sisters helped me create an additional ongoing plot that added some needed continuity to the story. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Val E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2018 15:22:00

I got a bit in over my head as a first time DM running ToA and this companion has absolutely saved me!! The pre-prepaired travel brings in the much needed magic and wonder of the jungle, and the revised dino race rules are so much fun. Thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2018 23:24:57

This is a excellent resoruce for ToA DMs! Why gloss over the journey, when the journey to Omu is half the battle (and fun)! This Companion is easy to read and follow. Each of the 30-days includes reminders for navigation checks, foraging for food and water, and interesting encounters. They're full of variety and keep the players on their toes. $5 is a bargin.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matt C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2018 04:10:10

The 30 days of travel is the most useful part of this companion. I've used them in all my campaigns for ToA (I've run 4-5 now) and they really help highlight how interesting and diverse travel days can be. Of course, some modifications here and there based on whether the party met certain NPCs etc are in order, but it's very easy to springboard off of.

The alternative dino racing rules are also a great start - even if you only use the scenes and go with the base rules. Can't recommend this highly enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2018 01:04:37

About to start my ToA campaign and of all the supliments I bought, this is the one I use the most.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Leons P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2018 20:42:52

This is a vital supplement for Tomb of Annihilation. It vastly improves Chapter 2, and makes great additions to the other four chapters as well. I really like how it links many of the random cool things in ToA as well as how it foreshadows the things to come.

For Chapter 1, it makes it actually possible to run a dino race as a DM.

I'm looking forward to using the other refinements on the module once my players get to Chapter 3.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Perry B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2018 15:53:20

I am currently running a campaign with this productThe guide fills in a lot of gaps and makes the adventure move smoothly. I recommend it for TOA.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by jeff s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2018 11:07:26

I am using this product and find it a great asset for running Tomb of Annihilation. I think the Jungle days of travel is such a great idea and so useful. Only struggle I have is I want to mix up the days different then they are in the companion, but the PDF is made with some strange fonts or encodings. I am unable to copy the text out the pdf and into my own word document for use in my compaign. It only pastes as garbled text. Tried so many different ways to do this. I am only able to retype everything and I hate typing.

Great product and highly recommend for running your Tomb campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Annihilation Companion
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jarrod N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2018 15:03:07

I own four different Tomb of Annihilation supplements, and this is the only one I'd call a must-buy for running the game.

If you want to provide yourself with many more interesting options for travel days, including unique discoveries of flora, fauna, and both roleplay and combat opportunities, this PDF is a must-own and well worth the price. This alone would be worth it for me, but add onto that some truly ingenious expansion of the dinosaur racing (should be tons of fun to run for the players while also introducing them to some of the Port's major sights), and some twisted ideas for introducing a certain trio of Sisters that can play a role in the later campaign.

I've purchased all the companions this author has provided for WotC's campaigns over the last few years, and every one has made my game better for myself and my players. Buy his stuff because his ideas are worth it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items