Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult $3.99 $2.39
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
15 9
4 3
2 2
1 1
0 0
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2020 12:59:07

This is a fantastic resource for DMs looking to spice up what can be an otherwise dull hex-crawl portion of Tomb of Annihilation. While the adventure proper gives you plenty of keyed locations and random encounter tables, this resource is jam-packed full of flavourful, interesting, and challenging little mini-adventures to throw at your party.

While specific to Chult, I've had very little trouble adapting this to other jungle settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2020 20:46:05

Really enjoyed this supplement. A few really nice meaningful encounters to throw in during long travel. Content looks really professional as well. You may not use everything in here but its way better than rolling for random encounters!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2019 09:39:06

Since AL at the time required monsters to defeat to get XP, and treasure lines to get gold, I was finding that my group wasn't leveling much or making much cash in Chult. So I got this to give some extra flavor and help. There are 10 miniscenarios, but I ended up only using 3, mainly because my group was all Tier 1 for most of the journeys through the jungle, and many of the encounters would have killed my group.

The 3 i used were interesting and flavorfull of Chult. My read of many of the others is they didn't really seem thematically tied well to the Chult revealed in the plot of TOA.

One example to me is the Pyramid of the Moon. While I appreciate that this is based on a bit of Realms lore that's actually located in Chult, it still seems very out of place thematically. This isn't helped by the (trite, to me) theming of the scenario around the lyrics to Hotel California.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tani L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2019 13:15:19

The content is really great. My only issue is that there was not a printer-friendly version included. Printing with the colored background wastes a lot of ink and adds unnecessary expense to printing. Even a print service wanted nearly $25 to print it in full color for only 21 pages.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lex M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2018 17:02:24

This is a useful tool for running Tomb of Annihilation with some cool ideas in it. However, I feel it falls a bit short on some of the encounters. While ideas like The Most Dangerous Game not only fit great in Chult but can easily be expanded into multiple sessions, many feel out of place or just provide very little play time. I think this inconsistency comes primarily from different authors writing different sections. It's not to say that any of this book is bad, but considering the price point I would have wanted a little more content. I only used about half of what was presented in here when I ran ToA for the reasons stated above and I admit a lot of that comes down to personal preference. I just wanted to love everything in here but only loved some of it. Overall I'm torn as to whether I would recommend it. If you love running games in Chult it's likely worth the money. This is Guild Adept content and that shows. However, if you're just running ToA and don't intend to use the setting outside of that you may want to skip this particular title.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2018 13:51:33

Much better than Enounters in Port Nyanzaru for AL play. The encounters are cool, they reward players well, and they add a lot to an otherwise depopulated part of the ToA hardcover. The only negative I would state is that, again, the Adventurers League eratta is not included. In this case I did not down rate it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dylan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2018 17:08:51

Mixing several of these in as part of a multi-session AL series, specifically, the Risen Mists / Ruins of Mezro Guild Adept content. Much more fleshed out and meaningful for players and DM's than rolling on the random undead tables. My players were laughing continuously throughout the Chiwinga Challenge. A+



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2018 22:53:11

I used this to great effect in planning out our current Tomb of Annihilation Campaign to flesh out the jungle and the PCs' trip to find Omu. Nicely laid out and easy to put into use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2018 02:21:31

Great set of short encounters that can be dropped in Season 7 mod or ToA campaign to spice things up beyond the generic random encounters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2018 11:17:28

I absolutely love these little drop in adventures for ToA - I only wish these were AL legal just like Encounters in Port Nyazaru - for now I just drop these in minus the treasure because they are great ways to spice up my group's travel through the jungle. Hear that #AL_Admins - get this darn thing AL Legal, us DMs are begging you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2018 14:54:08

I think this product is an excellent example of what the DM's Guild Adepts format can provide. While my critique of previous Adept work has been that each encounter is unconnected, these encounters provide a nice blend of adventure in a wilderness setting. Most of them are short and easily placed within a campaign for brief interludes to a major plot arch. Do not expect much story from this supplement, but it can provide narrative hooks or connection points between your own plot devices.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2018 16:07:21

If you're hoping that this booklet will provide some flavor to ToA that is lacking in the random encounters already provided in the module, I really wouldn't bother. Only one encounter in here is worth the purchase and that's the Pyramid of the Moon. The rest of the adventures are basically a few monsters thrown into generic locales.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Glen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2017 16:32:03

An super collection of jungle encounters! Congratulations to everyone involved!! For comparison to other 'jungle encounter' style products out there [click here] - http://bit.ly/DMSGReview_RumbleJungle



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Teos A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2017 04:10:23

This is a excellent purchase if you are running Tomb of Annihilation or a jungle campaign. The ten encounters work really well as interesting scenes to sprinkle in as the party explores the wilds of Chult. As I discuss on my Alphastream.org blog, this is something which happens very often. Using the random encounter charts in the ToA book can be a bit dull, so having these encounters ready greatly helps the DM.

All but one adventure is on a single page. Print out a couple that you like and throw them in when you roll a random encounter or need to make travel interesting. Most will run about 30 minutes or so in duration, and have a nice combination of an interesting setting, skill interaction, and a trap or monsters. The APL is not stated for each encounter, so you may wish to plug the foes into a combat calculator (or use the DMG) to get a feel for the challenge level. All of the stat blocks are in the back of the adventure, making it easy to run these at a moment's notice. A table of contents with APL would be a nice addition, but isn't critical. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeff C. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/02/2017 04:11:09

Who doesn't like fully developed encounters? I know I do! This supplement is an excellent resource - not only for Tomb of Annihilation, but for any game setting. Easily adjustable to fit other environments, too. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items