Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 33
1 13
1 3
0 0
0 0
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by neuzil l. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 01:21:20

Love the storyline. Players however were underwelmed with the magic item given out. Even so, I would recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 01:02:35

I feel like this is the best of the trilogy. I like that part 2 has options, so you can run the same adventure differently each time.

One complaint, one that others have noted, is that it takes longer than 2 hours to run.

Also, the adventure (and the other parts of the trilogy) takes place after the Soulmonger has been destroyed, but it still puts adventurers under the Death Curse, according to the Death Curse Primer. That just doesn't make any sense.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Al D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2018 11:47:53

This module contains a lot of funny moments, but they didn't coincide with the atmosphere and the approach of previous adventures - they are too insane as any animated series. Orc with his catapult shot, monkey encounter or last "cavern" come not from FR as i think. Players have fun however. And this module bad connected with last part of trilogue.

This review is for the DM-quest for the important characters because the rules 8 season is bad.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jody J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 21:30:43

Lots of cool elements in this module where it feels like the standalone adventures can go crazy with stuff that the hardcovers just can't (for tone and canon).

Crazy antics, roleplay and a nice twist all make this adventure a fun ride.

This is very theatre of the mind friendly and almost requires it. I made the mistake of using a 'mini' for the final encounter and the group got very distracted by it.

A fun ride but my only complaint is a lackluster prize at the end.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joel M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2018 05:38:16

I thought that I wouldnt like any trilogy as much as the T1 Season 7 trilogy - boy was I wrong. This entire trilogy (Fester, Rotting, and Putting) are all amazing with the perfect blend of combat, social, and exploration.

Ahhhh, the mod that I realised that my mini collection were missing minis of particular sizes. I needed bigger!

I will say that this mod still has my players commenting everytime they go through the jungle - "oh and over here on the left is the local hoard of skeletons". They managed to survive, however there was a lot of facepalming from myself.

The RP is still within the mod, i would have liked a few more plot hooks or foreshadowing dropped in here, but considering the scheduled mod time, I can understand there are limits.

Be ready for a fun boss fight - players should be feeling how fragile they are. If they are worried about hitting the bucket, then you are doing it right.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2018 03:01:55

The start and end of this module are good fun and call back some cool pop-culture references. It also has some interesting characters and sets up clues to the finale.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2018 06:53:28

One of the best starts to an adventure I have seen. The final boss was great and definately provided challenge. My biggest complaint is that this adventure is more than a 2 hour run. Not good for conventions that have a strict timelines.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Diana V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2018 22:05:26

This module is pretty lack-luster in the middle, but the bookends are some of the most fun I've had this season. Starting out with the... bold plan to get the party out of Port Nyanzaru was one of the funniest situations I've ever put the party in, and the final boss was absolutely amazing. In my eyes, it doesn't even matter what happens in between those two events, because those two make it worth it for nearly any party.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2018 00:00:35

The beggining was well done short and simple, urgency was well written, the combat encounters were challanging but not so much as it seemed unfair for the players, definetly need at least at least 5 players for. The skill challanges did not seemed shoehorned they legit felt needed to progress and the faliure of such seemed reasonable.

Over all the mod was a blast to run and play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Adrian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2018 21:29:02

This was my favorite of the trilogy. The boss battle at the end was thoroughly enthralling; what a genius idea for a boss. The build-up to it with the NPCs was a nice touch, especially the one with the supposedly lost lover. I enjoyed the encounters en route and everyone had a good time. 5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/19/2018 06:58:14

This adventure is awesome from start to finish. The beginning can be bypassed by characters with the right magic items, but that is true of anything. You Got Quicksand in my Zombies is my favorite random encounter. It does a nice job setting up the third mod in the series with some fun roleplay. The final boss is epic with a fun twist.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Noah G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2018 22:47:19

The best of the T2 modules from this season, and one of the better two hour T2 modules out there. It's largely combat, some exploration, and some interesting characters to interact with. Relatively easy to prep, solid but not spectacular experience to play. This adventure has a memorable boss fight, particularly for newer players who haven't really seen a boss and its legendary actions. I don't think it does as much for people who have seen bosses from Season 5's T2 mods. In theory choosing some encounters in the middle adds replay value, but it's relatively common for DMs in my area to have four hour slots so we play the three strongest optional encounters over and over. I strongly recommend changing the series of saves right before the boss fight in to a more creative, dynamic skill check. Engage players' creativity, not just their wrists for rolling dice.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jude M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 18:35:49

From a fun perspective, Rotting Roots may be the G.O.A.T. of Tier 2 modules. It's hilarious, absurd, dangerous, and has more than one cool plot twist. Whenever there's a Tier 2 emergency, I love to bust this one out; EVERYBODY loves Rotting Roots. If you buy into this, your players will love this module. The loot sucks, but that's what White Plume Mountain and Amber Temple are for...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 18:14:13

a great module with replayability. easy to run multiple times at cons andstill enjoy



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2018 17:35:01

Absouletely loved this adventure. Offers some replayability with the pseudo-random encounters at the beginning which are quite fun on their own. Also did a great job of showcasing the dangers of the jungle, both with the undead horde as well as the ambush of bone spirit nagas. The tribe of birdfolk and their whole story with The Big One was quite interesting though a bit weird how quick they decided to go against their guardian deity. Also weird how those birdpeople apparently have no qualms about sacrificing their own people (both to The Big One as well as Ubtao).
The last part inside the giant dino and the fight after were very well done and made for an awesome scenario. My party of 4 (APL 6) was really challenged by the boss and had a very thrilling fight.

Would like to see more adventures like this in the future, with multilinear paths to the goal and a very well crafted boss scenario.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 49 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items