Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 30
2 17
0 3
0 1
0 0
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by neuzil l. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2018 01:19:07

Great into to the series. Players liked it. I would recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Al D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2018 11:42:11

Good module (best of this trilogue). Funny traps, chessmate game and adventure atmosphere. My players enjoyed a moral fork at the start.

This review is for the DM-quest for the important characters because the rules 8 season is bad.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jody J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 21:25:44

This adventure was my first experience running a Tier 2 module and it was very different from expected. While fighting was allowed early on the mechanics made the encounters more interesting by not fighting.

The encounters were interesting enough but lacked the pacing of some of the earlier Season 7 adventures. Of the 3 adventures in the Season 7 - Tier 2 series I felt this was the weakest.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joel M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2018 05:34:10

I thought that I wouldnt like any trilogy as much as the T1 Season 7 trilogy - boy was I wrong. This entire trilogy (Fester, Rotting, and Putting) are all amazing with the perfect blend of combat, social, and exploration.

The first part with it's race against the clock and difficult choices along with the overbearing theme of the Season 7's death curse is here as the players have to venture into Old City to rescue victims. The puzzles and traps are a good fit, and had my group taking serious pause to ensure they were not dying before they reached the end.

For the middle section I'd recommend the DM find some Three Dragon Ante rules that help to leverage a player's potential proficency - it was trhe one part that my players felt like they werent able to use their skills.

The moral decisions at the end can jolt new T2 characters, which is good - these sorts of decisions need to be regularly made and its great to see them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alexis G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2018 22:11:41

I have both run and played this adventure. I played it at a convention setting, and one of the time-saving options was used. I definitely found it interesting, but I was also top of the tier and trying to level out, so it wasn't particularly a challenge. 1)The timing is good: I ran it for a VERY weak party of 3 level 5s. Normally this group takes a long time, but despite my leaving everything in, the group took about 2.5 hours of real-time despite ineffective combat. 2) the variety of combat options was good: I personally prefer flame skull & spawn, but there are lots of options written in to the adventure. Some are deadlier than others (Max HP reductions) and probably best to go over with players so they understand Death Curse implications. 3) Scaling was good: This was a challenging, fun adventure. Twice I knocked out PCs (their primary healer was sick, but they survived due to clever play).

There's a lot of opportunities for exhaustion, and hit point reduction for the challenges. There were also a lot of chances for roleplay and clever use of skills. Also actions/inactions had consequences (decision on the prisoner, games).

There was some confusion with the gold rewards - as the rewards page mentioned faction money and to see the conclusion section - the conclusion section mentioned money for saving prisoners, but the fact that this was funded by the factions and Miboro Yan was mentioned earlier. I had to get home and check if I had the most up-to-date version (I did) and whether I missed something. The party received JUST under minimum XP, which was appropriate (I bumped them the 30 or so to the minimum) for what they faced, though not the challenge they faced. One of my favourites from this season.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2018 06:39:36

This was a fun adventure I ran for Awesomecon. Good role playing and a great final battle if run correctly. The timeline of this adventure is long though. It feels rushed if you try and stay to the perscribed time. The description of the motes and how to deal with them as a DM was a bit over complicated due to being split between pages.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2018 15:25:28

SPOILER-FREE review.
I have both played and ran this adventure. It was a fun start to the main tier 2 story arc for season 7. It has a great balance of exploration, combat, and social encounters. There are two great role-playing opportunities in this module and if you have the time to run long (more than 2 hours) players can have a lot of fun with them. If you don't, don't worry - it is still possible to run the mod at right around 2 hours with no loss of content. There are some...um..."obstacles"...that can be a little tedious for PCs. The final combat can be a bit challenging and is enough to keep players who enjoy that aspect a little on edge. Overall, a very fun module for tier 2!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2018 11:40:39

Great start to tier 2, the role-playing if Favin was great to run plus the imposing challanges once inside really forced my players to think about their actions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/19/2018 06:45:06

I have played this mod on both sides of the DM screen. It is enjoyable and easy to run. Crackle is a lot of fun to play. In my experience, many DMs run invisibility as equivalent to hidden. The last encounter can be difficult if DMs run it this way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2018 12:09:59

I've run it three times now, and eact time has solidified how much I like this adventure. The combats are short and brutal, the puzzle elements are interesting, and there's some good set-up for the next two adventures. I feel like the section with Crackle could've been expanded a bit, but this is otherwise a stellar entry.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 18:15:54

fun 2nd tier module with lots of story leading into the next 2 modules



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brent D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2018 01:29:23

This mission was efficiently created. It's clear, concise, and uses the exhaustion mechanic effectively in order to make the final fight and escape a nail biter.

Tier 2 modules are hard to balance. I've found that some of them attempt to make fights difficult by increasing the number of combatants, but the result is the fight turns into a drawn out slog. Or the flip is the problem: some writers introduce strong enemies that destroy a party before they have a chance. This one balances this challenge using other mechanics, and it made all the difference (as I stated: exhaustion ... also enemies with unique abilities and a puesdo "liar action" in the final fight).

I really have no complaints. A party that is on the edge of Tier 3 (Levels 9 to 10) will probably blow through this one though ... at that point, character abilities supersede the powers of these enemies, even with them APLed at level 8.

I'm interested in the next part of this trilogy!

~Brent



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2018 20:57:36

I've played this twice and DMed it twice. I think everyone had a great time with it, even though one time ended up in an almost TPK. The time we almost TPKed was long and epic to say the least. A common trip up on DMs I've noticed is they read the dragonchess "treasure" section and let it slip that the potions are potions of poison (they read the text like its a textbox for the players). It might be advisable to rewrite it to say there are 2 potions (then in parenthesis say they're poison but appear to be healing).

DM advice: That first fight scene can go very different depending on the group and which set of creatures the DM decides to pick. The double flame skulls with double fireballs? Ouch! 7 players and low level could easily wreck a group. Be careful as the DM as to which you pick! Can easily run in less than 2 hours.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2018 11:34:09

This module did a good job of setting up the rest of the series and keep the theme for the season. Once into the heart of the module it got a very Indiana Jones feel, the pace picked up and did not end till the conclusion. There are some good early on role-play opportunities.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2018 18:30:56

My favourite adventure of this season yet. Includes some challenging fights as well as some great roleplay encounters. Also gives the exploration option if going the brute force route making it really feel like the party can approach the scenarios however they prefer without hampering the adventure. The tickling clock mechanic is pretty interesting and makes the way the players approach their hurdles matter in a real way.

There a lot of life draining enemies in this one which is really dangerous considering the death curse mechanics but can be replaced with other creatures without much issue if prefered. The spellcaster boss is pretty powerful but the amount of AoEs can be kinda awkward considering the relatively small map and the fact that she doesn't really want to kill the capturesdprisoners since they're still needed for the dark ritual.

Overall a great introduction to the trilogy and also not too difficult to finish in the estimated time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 51 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items