Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
A Guide to Tomb of Annihilation Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
45 3
20 3
7 0
0 2
1 2
A Guide to Tomb of Annihilation
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
A Guide to Tomb of Annihilation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Josh M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2020 09:20:18

If I had simply found this online, I would have been pretty happy to stumble upon it. It's always useful to see how other DMs have written their notes, and it helped me structure my own.

However, I did not just find this online. It's presented as a product worth paying for, with a professional-looking cover and a promise of notations and summaries meant to guide you through running the adventure. It is not really that. It's just... prep notes. Notes which are quite useful, yes, but there's not nearly as much advice in here as it seems to be presented as. It's an abbreviation of the adventure with a thin layer of commentary. Some of that commentary is just the author's DM preferences and some of it is just his ideas half-formed ideas for how he might run an encounter - ideal for DM notes, but it's a stretch to call it advice.

To top it off, it clearly hasn't been edited at all. There are quite a few typos, fractured sentences and other editing errors. The formatting is slapdash, and little thought has been put into how to present the information in a useful and attractive way for others. It reads like what it is - a DM's notes, in his notebook, for himself. The fact that some extra stuff is tacked on doesn't really change that core.

And that is not a bad thing to have! I did manage to find some use from it, and judging by other reviews, other DMs found even more. McGovern is clearly a confident DM and has his own process from which any DM, even an experienced one, will be able to learn from. Some might even pay for them! But it is not a complete product or guide, and it seems to be presented as one.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Tomb of Annihilation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Leons P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2019 08:41:52

The Guide is a taster of the true awesomeness that is the Tomb of Annihilation Companion by the same author. Try the guide for a taster if you're not sold, or skip straight to the Companion which frankly you need to tie the jungle, Omu, and the Sewn Sisters into a cohesive whole.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Tomb of Annihilation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bean S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2019 14:27:15

I can't really say much good about this guide the pdf crashes when i try to open it



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Tomb of Annihilation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcus M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2018 07:43:29

So glad i picked this up! Tomb of annihilation was a huge adventure but felt like it was missing a lot of transition details, it was hard for me to begin to run. This guide made it a lot easier for me to digest the book again and I might finally run it soon with my players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Tomb of Annihilation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Todd B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2018 13:06:50

The organization could be improved by adding additional PDF bookmarks, but the content is excellent and really helps to provide some structure for the early part of the module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Tomb of Annihilation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2018 14:05:29

Just ends, feels like its not complete and only guides you a point into the adventure and never to the end tomb



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Tomb of Annihilation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Anthony L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2017 12:21:12

Very good companion to running ToA. The day-by-day travel breakdown is worth paying for by itself. Definitely recommend DMs read this prior to running the campaign. It greatly helps paint the bigger picture of the module, and will be valuable to reference during the entire game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Tomb of Annihilation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Grace L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/21/2017 15:00:46

I haven't found many of these guides that helpful. This is another, for the most part it's just restating what is already in the adventure. A lot of this is pretty straight forward and even beginner dms like me would know it. I'd have wanted more.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
What would you have wanted to see? I can try to add it to the guide of whatever adventure comes next.
A Guide to Tomb of Annihilation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Benjamin K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2017 00:26:14

As a first time DM, I felt that I had bit off more then I could chew running first few sessions of this campaign. I was playing far to ridgedly to the book. This guide helped me understand how to make the camapagn more fun for my players by offering a lot of insite to what was important and what should be expanded upon. It gave me an understanding of how I can set the pace of the sessions and journies into the jungle; the former I was really strugling with. Part of that included a lot of ideas on how to expande the personalites of the guides. Thanks for the assist, and I'm sure my players will appreciate it as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Tomb of Annihilation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by ben d. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2017 12:43:06

realy good just one spelling mistake it say when the dm decides it has enough souls to be come a guild pg11



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items