Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.1 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 18
1 29
4 7
0 2
1 0
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Corey K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2018 01:16:17

Great adventure full of suprises for the plays but not for lower level players as its very deadly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nathan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 08:02:49

great challenge and a good foreshadowing for things to come



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2018 20:37:55

This was a really good adventure. Incredibly challenging for my players who were a bit underleveld and kept fighting the yellow musk zombies for several rounds. The main battle in the fane was tons of fun to run even if harsh still scaled down. And the inevitable betrayal of Wadamu was a high note. I only wish he had shown up again in the Tier 2 trilogy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2018 18:59:42

This adventure is the best of the tier 1 trilogy. It definitely requires a good amount of prep work to keep all of the moving parts straight.

The puzzle was fun, but make sure that you keep the encounter moving. The waves of zombies can wear down smaller or lower level groups if the group concentrates on them rather than the puzzle.

The last fight was challenging and can be deadly depending on the makeup of the group. I didn’t have Wadumu turn on the party since there was no way that I could have him turn into a bad guy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2018 10:45:59

The puzzle was fun and engaging. The last combat was challenging, and my players got creative to deal with the encounter. The Grung plays a bigger role in this mod and you need to know who the party interacts with him from the previous mod. If you do not run or read the previous mod it is a bit confusing what his sudden mutative change comes from.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2018 18:58:27

The second best module in the trilogy, and the climax of the series of modules. It can be somewhat difficult to run, as a whole heck of a lot is going on simultaneously in Bulobo, and players may have some trouble figuring out the puzzle. Mine haven't had trouble and got it right away, but as others have noticed at least one or two riddles are somewhat vague. I strongly suggest giving the party a chance to have a short rest once they're inside, as the entire module is basically two combats back to back and if they've had trouble in Bulobo going straight into the final battle is likely to not be fun to play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jody J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 21:06:08

I've run this module many times and it always seems to end up a fun and harrowing ride. The location is exotic and has a strong action movie vibe.

The pace can be too hectic and sometimes the party needs to take a short rest in the middle if lower level and the action can get so intense later I frequently need to remind players of nearby treasure.

Overall I expect to continue running this adventure in future seasons as it really captures a pulp action feel.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Adrian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2018 21:26:31

This may be the strongest of the Tier 1 trilogy for Season 7. The puzzle initally was very fun and engaging and depending on hyour players could lead into a dozen different scenarios; each time I've run this I've been entertained with the divergences my characters endured. The boss was awesome and challenging for newcomers but with numbers behind them was still winnable. The third part with the climbing out of the hole from the zombies was maybe the weakest but the players had enough fun at that point. 4/5



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by andrew S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2018 11:10:11

deadly module.. even if scaled back final boss fight can kill easily. the intro to this story is a bit confusing as to why you went here. but for players about to leave t1 it is a great epic fight. bring potions



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joel M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2018 01:02:15

Part 3 of the trilogy and what I now call one of the deadliest Tier 1 modules. This is a must run, almost as a graduation out of T1 play.

Intro is lack lustre (but allows for time to do the big combat, so I'll allow it). Puzzle can get tiresome after a few runs. I've started changing the puzzle to have multiple broken panels as well as having the door open 1d6 rounds after completion (so PCs don't just dash and split up and then jump on down.).

I'd also like to shout out to the authors. NO! WADUMU FRIEND! would have to be the main buzz word around the AL group over here in Singapore. Wadumu is an icon.

The big bad. Boy, is this tough. And if you have good players, don't be afraid to scale this up to the nine hells. Player her smartly, positioning with a HoH and the right eldritch blast invocations can make for a Tpk. This is meant to be scary as hell.

Only downside to the amazing fight (which can easily go for 10 rounds) is that due to timing, the end can get rushed. Sad because our favourite NPC needs to have his moment.

Would 100% play multiple times and be terrified each time as a player. As a DM, this scratches that itch of throwing something powerful at low levels and really seeing your party work together well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 18:17:37

can be deadly with newer players, but provides a great end of 1st tier



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alexis G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2018 16:34:15

This has been one of my favourite modules of season 7 so far. It is not recommended as an emergency pick up and run without prep.

There are a few consistent criticisms that I read in reviews here when prepping and I agree with. 1- continuity with Wadumu in description (colour), and character (part 3) - his betrayal really doesn't make sense. 2-It is a long adventure and better suited to 4 hours.

I ran for a small party (Very Weak) and they had difficulties with the first part due to numbers. The waves of zombies really took their toll on resources, but they really seemed to enjoy it. They also wasted a lot of time trying to explore the ruins of the buildings on the outskirts. I would recommend to anyone recreating the maps to zoom in and just include the clearing as the buildings are a distraction. The clues to the door lock is on the flipside of the page describing all the defenses, so the whole section needs to be read in advance to prep it. . I printed the clues on a handout which I distributed as each riddle was read. I think was helpful for the players. It takes a little extra prep to get everything sorted (e.g. the description when doorway is opening not included in original description), but is worth it. The entry

I asked players to prepare some character background info to prepare for part 2 which freaked them out to everyone's enjoyment (good place for Xanathar's tables). If your room allows it, I'd recomend walking around the table, to make it seem like the voices are coming from all over the cavern. I think the adjustments for a very strong party would be tough, but more entertaining. The legendary actions for the BBEG were quite impressive,but the very weak adjustments were very easy (but time consuming). for a resource drained weak party to defeat. One character almost died staying behind to kill zombies in part 3.

Guild Adept adventure Hunter fits very well before or after this adventure



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2018 09:14:43

PRetty good overall. Some people definitely end up needing some heavy handed hinting at some points. Good plot through the module, but trigger happy players who spend resources tend to have a harder time through the last half. With that in mind, it is really important for the DM to adjust as necesarry.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2018 08:29:14

Good: Deadly Combat Challenge Great Puzzle DM Tips: Review adventure to get most out of challenge



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christian L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/25/2018 22:22:36

This adventure has a great story, solid riddles, and fun combat. My players also loved the loot, so that's another plus. But, as several people on here have mentioned, the difficulty is pretty hard to nail. My party took a good hour of play time to figure out all the riddles, as they were fairly distracted by the zombie horde. I had to make it VERY clear to them multiple times that they could not fight their way out. That set a fairly difficult tone, which made how easily they destroyed the boss a bit of a curveball. My boss lost the initiative roll, and I didn't add any backup for her, so by her first turn, she was hanging on by a thread. As a new DM, I was slightly disappointed that my boss fight wasn't too climactic, but my players all had a great time playing :)

tldr: Super fun adventure, cool riddles, great loot, and do not be afraid to jack up the difficulty.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 56 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items