Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:3.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 8
0 17
0 30
0 14
1 3
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2018 09:39:39

If this was a stand-alone module, I'd give it a two but you run this with the others in the trilogy. It is a weak transsion betweeen A Day at the Races to Whispers in the Dark. It was not until I read Whispers in the Dark a week later did this mod make more sense and how it fit in the trilogy. I would recommend reading all 3 before u run a this mod. The Grung needs to be played out well as thier ally because he plays a bigger role in the next mod.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2018 18:31:23

This is easily the weakest of the modules in the trilogy. The urban chase doesn't make much sense, especially with the geography involved as written, and frankly is probably best skipped as it was optional to begin with. For that matter, the whole children pickpocketing the characters does not work well. The word satchel is used way too often (though my players did enjoy the chance to buy one), the NPC guide appears out of nowhere, and it was hard to get my players to continue into the jungle when they were originally told to just investigate a shop. The combat is rather unexciting and there's really not much chance for role play. The author promoting a Twitch stream in the text is unprofessional. If you are interested in running the trilogy, I'd actually suggest using theater of the mind and getting through it as fast as possible.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Allen M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2018 23:33:31

If this was a stand-alone module, I'd give it a two. There really isn't much here, but it does serve to bridge the story from A Day at the Races to Whispers in the Dark, both of which are very good and so this module is the least part of a pretty good whole. The transition from Races to this module could be smoother, but the DM would have to have read / prepared both. In fact, it is probably worth the time / effort to read and prepare all three modules at the same time to get a better feel for the overarching plot. It does introduce Wadamu, who is a fun little grung for the DM to roleplay. The conflict in part one, on the bridges, has potential to lead to a fun chase scene; but we didn't have the "extra time" to allot to the chase. The jungle / flood encounter was a lot of fun to DM, with characters slipping and sliding all over the jungle. The actual danger here was pretty minimal, however, and the party of 2nd level PC's basically escaped unscathed. The "big fight" in Part 3 is pretty underwelming too. My group took a long time here, but it was a lot of youngsters so I wasn't surprised. The adventure total is pretty short, only about 12 pages of module before you get to the bestiary in the back. An experienced group of players could probably do the adventure in less than 2 hours, leaving some "extra" time to more fully explore the chase scene and maybe the jungle trek / flooding scene too. Don't skip this one when doing the trilogy, but don't expect a lot out of it either.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Glenn H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2018 00:28:58

Pretty mediocre--3 stars. Add a Pureblood to the first fight. Having played and DM'd it, the RP in the Sachel Shop devolves into characters forgetting the mission and wanting to buy a pouch with a secret compartment. I added RP that the shop owner really wanted to trade satchels for the one that the players brought in. The travel montage, with Wadumo's extensive help, did not fit with the theme that jungle travel is difficult and dangerous. (Although when I played, one player said afterwards that the mudslide was the only damage he took throughout.) For the final fight, the empty village is weird and made sure the players understood the whole poison-making ritual--it's not clear as written. Also, the Grung NPC has the RP in the final fight, which is a hassel and not as much fun as a player doing it. I decided in advance that he would be mostly successful with 1 Grung attacking and the rest holding back.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jody J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 21:47:52

Of the 8 Season 7 modules I have run this one shows the most need for more editing.

The in-town episode goes well and and jungle scenario was fun.

I continue to get tripped up reading the box text in the last section as the whole thing is a mess that usually ends up fun anyway as the party usually is itching for a fight after the first couple acts.

It seems like there is a missing encounter here that was cut for time but never cleaned up in the edit. The loot handoff seems awkward and I would probably involve it with one of the special shop articles in the future.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ian G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2018 22:02:33

Ran this for a small group.

Port Nyanzaru's slum created effective imagery, but I felt that the intrigue of the Satchel Shop could have been provided with greater detail/context. This would allow the DM to paint the full picture to characters who investigate well. The mud slide gully was difficult to visualize and its weather effects didn't follow the same rain mechanic as Tortle Island's torrential rain or Chult's TOA torrential rain, so the characters were a bit 'mechanically' taken off guard. All of the encounters were very easy. Would benefit from a tactical map with some environmental complexity, or a scaleable encounter table.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2018 00:21:39

Part 1 Nice follow up to A day in the Races, goes right in to the mission shot and simple even if the players havent played it. It''s very easy to set goal of the mission for the players to follow and their reasoning. The chase was curtainly uniqe and fun to run, but It's way too easy to bypass with characters having a really high passive perception, plus if the players dont really care for their personal items or the small amouts of gold they carry it just feels forced. Having a way for the thieves to pickpocket something worth to the players would make the chase feel more organic. The satchel shop was a blast to roleplay the owner and Wadumu was especilly fun.

Part 2 Nothing really wrong with this part I found, fun skill challenges, didn't drag on too long and forcing players to think outside the box to sovle basic turrain problems.

Part 3 This is your standard big fight at the end nothing to it, it did make things intresting that it could be a three way fight with the players, Yuan-ti, the Grung and the Players, other than that fun and simple combat encounter.

All in All and short and fun mod to run especially for newer players, even older ones near the end.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2018 02:10:55

This adventure can actually go quite quickly, and there are cool things in it. Waramu is a hoot to roleplay. You and your crew will enjoy this. Pretty straightforward.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Adrian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2018 21:22:59

I love Wadumu and I always have a great time roleplaying as this NPC. I thought the story behind him was pretty deep and liked how it tied into DDAL07-05. I though this module was a great bridge between the other modules in the trilogy. I will say I was undewhelmed with the combat component, but had fun running this module regardless. Good job Satine!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by andrew S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2018 11:08:11

love parts of this module the flash flood in the jungle is awesome as is the final fight. but other than that part 2 of this triligoy is lacking



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joel M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2018 00:54:38

The 2nd part of the trilogy was unfortunately the weakest in my opinion. It was great to see more tied to the overlying plot line of Wanderlust (something part 1 was lacking), but the investigation was very one sided. Not much player options here, so great to run at conventions where time is short.

I loved the jungle hazards and would like to see more of these. Especially hazards where based on decisions follow up hazards are ramped up or down.

More options for players to come up with a plan in the final part would have been nice. And something better to tie it into part 3 (which has the issue of 'hey we just go here because... Well, you just do").

Not my favourite, but not even close to the bad end of AL. For trilogies though, this is still one of my first picks, so we'll done.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 18:19:39

very story driven trying to connect module 3 and 5, but offers some funny moments when the party screws up



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2018 09:32:07

Definitely requires some adjustments during the final fight to pose a bit more of a challenge. Poor editing however made for a frustrating experience and greatly takes away from what over al lcould have been a great trilogy. If the DM works for it though, it can be a great game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2018 20:51:23

Overall I liked the trilogy but thought this was the weakest of the 3.

Problem with the module as written:

  • The kids are above the group and fish out items...then its a chase scene. How did the characters get on the same level as the kids? Players got confused there.
  • The bag shop went well until they needed to leave. Basically they felt it was their only clue and had no where to go after....and the next clue doesn't show up until they step out the door.
  • Our friendly grung offers his services because he wants some extra coin...but then ends up paying them with goggles of night?

The fights were light so if you've got players just interested in combat this one is probably best to avoid as it was more about an investigation, and traversing through the jungle.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2018 08:24:14

Good: NPC's Challenging Enviornment Encounter Bad: Low Combat Challenge DM Tips: Review and tailor combat difficulty



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 72 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items