Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 28
4 48
1 9
0 1
1 0
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Corey K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2018 01:12:44

Probably one of the best Starting adventures, full of skill checks that any T1 character can feel useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nathan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 08:05:41

best module this season loads of fun to play multiple times



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2018 14:39:51

I was, at first, a little worried that this adventure might be too similar to one of the missions from DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge. Thankfully I was wrong - we all had a blast! Part 1 seemed a little awkward - my players didn't jump in to the opportunity to gather information from the crowds without a little nudge, and weren't particularly interested in betting on the early race.

The race, however, was really engaging and fun for all of us. I made a cheat shett with all the important info to help me keep track of each leg of the race, which helped me keep the action moving. On the surface it was similar to the dino race in the intro adventure, but there was a nice variety in mounts and challenges to keep it fresh, and to give every PC a chance to shine. The adventure concluded with an unexpected battle against undead dinos (how cool is that!), and another clue to the sub-plots threatening Port Nyanzaru and Chult.

This was a fun and fast-paced adventure - one of the few that I actually got my group though in pretty close to the recommended time of 2 hours.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2018 20:29:32

This was an amazing adventure! The racing was well built and engaging during play. It was difficult to keep both opponent teams in the race for the full go but there was still plenty of doubt if the players would actually win. My players surprised me by grabbing the other trophies, so I was happy a note about those were in the text. The battle in the dinosaur pens was a great way to cap off the night.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2018 18:43:02

I liked that this was a good way to get the players introduced into Port Nyanzaru/Chult. The dinosaur race was a lot of fun and the race was more detailed and involved over the DDAL07-01 race. I liked that the race has various options for completing the various stages.

A quick note on the betting before the race, the odds listed have been reversed, so that what would be listed as bet 1, receive 7 is listed as 1:7 instead of 7:1.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2018 09:27:23

I liked that this was a good way to get the players introducted into Port Nyanzaru/Chult even if they did not run through the intro mod. The dinosaur race was a lot of fun and the race was more detailed and involved over the DDAL07-01 race. I liked that the race has different aspect to completing it. It was a nice break from over simply hack and slash. This was the best of the T1 mods out of the series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonah J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2018 17:38:52

I had a blast running this module for my group of coworkers to introduce them to Port Nyanzaru! The concept is really fun, and it's nice to have some different mechanics to switch things up from regular combat encounters. Since I was running this as an encounter within the Tomb of Annihilation HC, I tweaked the introduction from how it was written to help things flow better.

As fun as the module is, there are a couple of minor issues I had. The mechanics of betting before the team starts to race are a little strange, with everyone making bets for separate outcomes of the same race. Also the rules for the Sea Leg of the race are a little confusing with how long you can stay underwater and how you are supposed to complete that objective.

But overall, with a personal touch from a DM who knows how the race needs to work to keep moving and stay interesting, this module can provide a very entertaining and unique experience!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2018 18:27:08

This is probably the best module of the trilogy. The racing brings a different mechanic to the game that my players enjoyed and allowed for a night that wasn't just combat. One note for those who are used to reading odds in the American style: The odds listed have been reversed, so that what would be listed as bet 1, receive 7 is listed as 1:7 instead of 7:1. It took me a couple minutes to figure that out. The whole yuan-ti setup isn't that compelling, but the fun of running the race overcomes the mediocre hook.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Glenn H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2018 00:43:10

Having the big vinyl map of Port Nyanzaru made this so much better, and it WAS fun. But my frustration was the lazy writing. I wrote my own set-up into using Zhanthi as the Merchant Prince. Then I designed the other two teams to be obnoxious locals and cheating Yuan-ti. The bet process was a copy from the hard cover and makes no sense for a 1-bet reace. I re-wrote all the odds so I could pick a winner then I narrated the previous race, complete with a dino going crazy from the drugs. The final fight was hard for 2 x 2nd level characters, which is not a complaint, just to let you know the scaling.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jody J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 21:18:02

A Day at the Races lives up to its name. I have run this many times and running the race always fires me up.

The intro with the betting can be confusing and I usually downplay the investigation before the race because of its limited scope. The race itself can become a slog in the late phase and I usually modify it for time but the players enjoy it.

The finale has become a test of honor as I'm always interested in how the players take on the scenario. Overall we've enjoyed running this even though the race elements aren't obvious mechanically and the math of the final stage can result in too much dice rolling if the group is missing key skills.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Geoffrey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2018 16:57:27

An interesting and fun introduction to adventuring in Chult, this module provides a nice low-stakes yet intriguing adventure in Port Nyanzaru. Overall, I find the race itself to be fun and mechanically sound, inviting players to use class and racial abilities creatively to supplement their weaker skills and assisting their party members to win. The final combat itself is straight-forward, but the threat to the NPC which it revolves around invites potentially interesting RP choices over simply hack and slash.

There are a few weaknesses, however. The betting system on the other race beforehand is not 100% clear on how its mechanics work; each dinosaur has a different die to roll for success or failure, but how those rolls interact when there are multiple bets place is murky. Generally, I've just rolled on all bets and give rewards to the players that succeeded, but I'm not sure that's what the author intended or not. From a story standpoint, the motivation for why you must race is fairly weak and really plays no actual part in the race itself, and the connection between what you do find after the fight and the problem of dying dinosaurs and mysterious racers is not laid out clearly to either player or DM. Furthermore, the transition between the awards ceremony and the combat encounter is clumsy and could have benefitted from some good fluff text.

Overall, a good, solid adventure that requires a little massaging to get flowing correct.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2018 02:55:13

The races themselves are great, but the final encounter feels a bit out of place. It does still provide a good jumping off point for new players getting into the game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by MADELEINE B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2018 01:28:16

I had a rough time running this. It was difficult for it not to seem so adventurer-on-rails. The players wanted more and on subsequent runs, I had to modify some of it a bit.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Adrian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2018 21:21:02

I must've run this one a dozen times across different conventions, and I've even gotten the opportunity to play it with Ruty Rutenberg. Dinosaur racing is a lot of fun and an interesting introduction to Port Nyanzaru. I think it's important to give players the opportunity to experience D&D in non-life threatening situations, so it works for convention play especially. It requires your players to have a little imagination and for the dungeon master to be inventive with their language- I do not recommend this for the linear at heart. But for the brave and the bold, both player and DM, this is a great module to explore.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by andrew S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2018 11:06:13

a fun intro adventure for chult. it introduces several of the ideas that make chult unique. a definite run for t1



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 86 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items