Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.1 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
11 29
9 49
4 10
1 1
1 2
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Clifford M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2021 03:27:12

Be very careful if you run this as written. Know your party, which might defeat the point of being an AL adventure.

The problem I ran into with this adventure is actually at the very start. My players never even got to the race. A couple of them got too distracted playing Sherlock Holmes and then they got side-tracked by other things going on in the city.

The adventure is all about creating a cool fun shiny thing, Na N'buso's Haka, multi-event race. But then it drops this evil plot hook onto the race which is effectively like jingling keys off to the side. Depending on how easily distracted your players are they may get sucked into investigating that rather than doing the event.

The hook to the adventure is tenuous as to why they would do a race rather than go around asking questions and searching for clues. To fix this issue I would completely remove any hints about some kind of plot if your players already want to do the races, which they probably do. If you still want to hint/foreshadow, do so very sparingly. Instead build up hooks around why your players might get a special chance to compete in this event, ideally related to things they've done already. Or make a mini adventure to win entry.

At the end you can have the evil plot unfold as written and the investigation can start.

On top of all that it's pretty lame that the entire plot hook for why the players should be in the race to investigate is that the cheating might be happening during the race. Then, in the end, that's not even true and what my players ended up doing actually made the most sense. Ironically, they staked out the pens instead of joining the race.

Also, as others have said some things feel kind of racist.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2019 17:31:08

So.... this is much better than the race scenario in DDAL07-1, and if you want to make Racing Dinosaurs in Port Nyanzaru!!! a thing your campaign, this is a decent start.

There's a minor issue with this as an adventure: there's a kind of weird story problem where actually being in the race seems like a silly way to actually investigate the problem posed. It doesn't really make any sense and you basically have to railroad your players into it.

But, that's not the main problem. The main problem is that the broken English of Mowbula Utakulu ("A dark skinned, beady-eyed Chultan bookie with and friendly smile") feels super-uncomfortably racist. The presented sample dialog is painfully embarrassing. (Sample: "Nay-um’s Mowbula. Yuhs look like da mob dem owls said me. Cooee close!”) And the other race teams — presumably also native Chultans — are supposed to act with the mannerisms of jungle animals.

Come on, DM's Guilld / Adventurer's League. You can do better than this!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2019 20:10:17

I played this with a mix of experienced and first-time players. Five level 3 PCs, as the adventure suggests. The adventure consists of a small amount of pre-race roleplay, an extended skill challenge, and a fight, to be played over a single session. The pre-race sleuthing/betting/cheating doesn't have a lot of relevance as a self-contained adventure, which I was running this as. The race requires (and encourages) a lot of improvisation to make work, so mileage will vary dramatically. The fight is straightforward, which worked for us, and there was ample advice for adjusting it. My players liked the adventure, but I was a little underwhelmed by the race segment. Time is so abstract in D&D that I had difficulty making the race feel tense or dramatic. It's not a bad adventure, but less structured than I'd like. It's a solid B.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ben J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2019 23:55:51

It's a kind of interesting story and a decent module for weaker parties, since a lot of the encounters are skill challenges rather than combats. Because of that, it can kind of fall on the DM (or player, I guess) to tell a good story about the check, rather than "ok, you passed the check and the thing happens" Also, being death-cursed is no fun :(



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2018 08:20:00

An amazing module that immediately hooked my players into Nyanzaru and set off a great start to a (hopefully) long campaign. The racing mechanic was simple and much easier to follow than a fully theater-of-the-mind race sequence. I, for one, have always struggled with running chase scenes based on the DMG guidance, but this module helps anchor the idea of such a scene without getting too granular. My players absolutely LOVED forming a rivalry against another group of racers. The "Grung Gang" have now become somewhat of a rival adventuring party that now hassle my players whenever they are back in port.

The combat scene at the end was incredibly well-timed, as my players were itching for some combat after the adrenaline rush of the race scene. I had amped the race up a bit by adding "dark zones" (while passing under a bridge, or through a narrow alley where there were no spectators) where players could use tricks like misty stepping onto a rival's mount and cutting the reins. Still, they wanted more. Thankfully, the authors had my back on that. I'd highly suggest picking up the supplemental map pack, too - adds a lot of visual punch.

Also, little nuances like specifying mechanics for stealing the second prize purse during the post-race chaos were much appreciated. Really felt like all the bases were covered to accomodate just about anything the players chose to do. Will definitely run this again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Corey K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2018 01:12:44

Probably one of the best Starting adventures, full of skill checks that any T1 character can feel useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nathan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 08:05:41

best module this season loads of fun to play multiple times



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2018 14:39:51

I was, at first, a little worried that this adventure might be too similar to one of the missions from DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge. Thankfully I was wrong - we all had a blast! Part 1 seemed a little awkward - my players didn't jump in to the opportunity to gather information from the crowds without a little nudge, and weren't particularly interested in betting on the early race.

The race, however, was really engaging and fun for all of us. I made a cheat shett with all the important info to help me keep track of each leg of the race, which helped me keep the action moving. On the surface it was similar to the dino race in the intro adventure, but there was a nice variety in mounts and challenges to keep it fresh, and to give every PC a chance to shine. The adventure concluded with an unexpected battle against undead dinos (how cool is that!), and another clue to the sub-plots threatening Port Nyanzaru and Chult.

This was a fun and fast-paced adventure - one of the few that I actually got my group though in pretty close to the recommended time of 2 hours.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2018 20:29:32

This was an amazing adventure! The racing was well built and engaging during play. It was difficult to keep both opponent teams in the race for the full go but there was still plenty of doubt if the players would actually win. My players surprised me by grabbing the other trophies, so I was happy a note about those were in the text. The battle in the dinosaur pens was a great way to cap off the night.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2018 18:43:02

I liked that this was a good way to get the players introduced into Port Nyanzaru/Chult. The dinosaur race was a lot of fun and the race was more detailed and involved over the DDAL07-01 race. I liked that the race has various options for completing the various stages.

A quick note on the betting before the race, the odds listed have been reversed, so that what would be listed as bet 1, receive 7 is listed as 1:7 instead of 7:1.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2018 09:27:23

I liked that this was a good way to get the players introducted into Port Nyanzaru/Chult even if they did not run through the intro mod. The dinosaur race was a lot of fun and the race was more detailed and involved over the DDAL07-01 race. I liked that the race has different aspect to completing it. It was a nice break from over simply hack and slash. This was the best of the T1 mods out of the series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonah J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2018 17:38:52

I had a blast running this module for my group of coworkers to introduce them to Port Nyanzaru! The concept is really fun, and it's nice to have some different mechanics to switch things up from regular combat encounters. Since I was running this as an encounter within the Tomb of Annihilation HC, I tweaked the introduction from how it was written to help things flow better.

As fun as the module is, there are a couple of minor issues I had. The mechanics of betting before the team starts to race are a little strange, with everyone making bets for separate outcomes of the same race. Also the rules for the Sea Leg of the race are a little confusing with how long you can stay underwater and how you are supposed to complete that objective.

But overall, with a personal touch from a DM who knows how the race needs to work to keep moving and stay interesting, this module can provide a very entertaining and unique experience!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2018 18:27:08

This is probably the best module of the trilogy. The racing brings a different mechanic to the game that my players enjoyed and allowed for a night that wasn't just combat. One note for those who are used to reading odds in the American style: The odds listed have been reversed, so that what would be listed as bet 1, receive 7 is listed as 1:7 instead of 7:1. It took me a couple minutes to figure that out. The whole yuan-ti setup isn't that compelling, but the fun of running the race overcomes the mediocre hook.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Glenn H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2018 00:43:10

Having the big vinyl map of Port Nyanzaru made this so much better, and it WAS fun. But my frustration was the lazy writing. I wrote my own set-up into using Zhanthi as the Merchant Prince. Then I designed the other two teams to be obnoxious locals and cheating Yuan-ti. The bet process was a copy from the hard cover and makes no sense for a 1-bet reace. I re-wrote all the odds so I could pick a winner then I narrated the previous race, complete with a dino going crazy from the drugs. The final fight was hard for 2 x 2nd level characters, which is not a complaint, just to let you know the scaling.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jody J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 21:18:02

A Day at the Races lives up to its name. I have run this many times and running the race always fires me up.

The intro with the betting can be confusing and I usually downplay the investigation before the race because of its limited scope. The race itself can become a slog in the late phase and I usually modify it for time but the players enjoy it.

The finale has become a test of honor as I'm always interested in how the players take on the scenario. Overall we've enjoyed running this even though the race elements aren't obvious mechanically and the math of the final stage can result in too much dice rolling if the group is missing key skills.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 91 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items