Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 24
4 48
0 9
0 1
0 0
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2018 18:43:02

I liked that this was a good way to get the players introduced into Port Nyanzaru/Chult. The dinosaur race was a lot of fun and the race was more detailed and involved over the DDAL07-01 race. I liked that the race has various options for completing the various stages.

A quick note on the betting before the race, the odds listed have been reversed, so that what would be listed as bet 1, receive 7 is listed as 1:7 instead of 7:1.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2018 09:27:23

I liked that this was a good way to get the players introducted into Port Nyanzaru/Chult even if they did not run through the intro mod. The dinosaur race was a lot of fun and the race was more detailed and involved over the DDAL07-01 race. I liked that the race has different aspect to completing it. It was a nice break from over simply hack and slash. This was the best of the T1 mods out of the series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonah J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2018 17:38:52

I had a blast running this module for my group of coworkers to introduce them to Port Nyanzaru! The concept is really fun, and it's nice to have some different mechanics to switch things up from regular combat encounters. Since I was running this as an encounter within the Tomb of Annihilation HC, I tweaked the introduction from how it was written to help things flow better.

As fun as the module is, there are a couple of minor issues I had. The mechanics of betting before the team starts to race are a little strange, with everyone making bets for separate outcomes of the same race. Also the rules for the Sea Leg of the race are a little confusing with how long you can stay underwater and how you are supposed to complete that objective.

But overall, with a personal touch from a DM who knows how the race needs to work to keep moving and stay interesting, this module can provide a very entertaining and unique experience!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2018 18:27:08

This is probably the best module of the trilogy. The racing brings a different mechanic to the game that my players enjoyed and allowed for a night that wasn't just combat. One note for those who are used to reading odds in the American style: The odds listed have been reversed, so that what would be listed as bet 1, receive 7 is listed as 1:7 instead of 7:1. It took me a couple minutes to figure that out. The whole yuan-ti setup isn't that compelling, but the fun of running the race overcomes the mediocre hook.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Glenn H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2018 00:43:10

Having the big vinyl map of Port Nyanzaru made this so much better, and it WAS fun. But my frustration was the lazy writing. I wrote my own set-up into using Zhanthi as the Merchant Prince. Then I designed the other two teams to be obnoxious locals and cheating Yuan-ti. The bet process was a copy from the hard cover and makes no sense for a 1-bet reace. I re-wrote all the odds so I could pick a winner then I narrated the previous race, complete with a dino going crazy from the drugs. The final fight was hard for 2 x 2nd level characters, which is not a complaint, just to let you know the scaling.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jody J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 21:18:02

A Day at the Races lives up to its name. I have run this many times and running the race always fires me up.

The intro with the betting can be confusing and I usually downplay the investigation before the race because of its limited scope. The race itself can become a slog in the late phase and I usually modify it for time but the players enjoy it.

The finale has become a test of honor as I'm always interested in how the players take on the scenario. Overall we've enjoyed running this even though the race elements aren't obvious mechanically and the math of the final stage can result in too much dice rolling if the group is missing key skills.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Geoffrey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2018 16:57:27

An interesting and fun introduction to adventuring in Chult, this module provides a nice low-stakes yet intriguing adventure in Port Nyanzaru. Overall, I find the race itself to be fun and mechanically sound, inviting players to use class and racial abilities creatively to supplement their weaker skills and assisting their party members to win. The final combat itself is straight-forward, but the threat to the NPC which it revolves around invites potentially interesting RP choices over simply hack and slash.

There are a few weaknesses, however. The betting system on the other race beforehand is not 100% clear on how its mechanics work; each dinosaur has a different die to roll for success or failure, but how those rolls interact when there are multiple bets place is murky. Generally, I've just rolled on all bets and give rewards to the players that succeeded, but I'm not sure that's what the author intended or not. From a story standpoint, the motivation for why you must race is fairly weak and really plays no actual part in the race itself, and the connection between what you do find after the fight and the problem of dying dinosaurs and mysterious racers is not laid out clearly to either player or DM. Furthermore, the transition between the awards ceremony and the combat encounter is clumsy and could have benefitted from some good fluff text.

Overall, a good, solid adventure that requires a little massaging to get flowing correct.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2018 02:55:13

The races themselves are great, but the final encounter feels a bit out of place. It does still provide a good jumping off point for new players getting into the game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by MADELEINE B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2018 01:28:16

I had a rough time running this. It was difficult for it not to seem so adventurer-on-rails. The players wanted more and on subsequent runs, I had to modify some of it a bit.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Adrian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2018 21:21:02

I must've run this one a dozen times across different conventions, and I've even gotten the opportunity to play it with Ruty Rutenberg. Dinosaur racing is a lot of fun and an interesting introduction to Port Nyanzaru. I think it's important to give players the opportunity to experience D&D in non-life threatening situations, so it works for convention play especially. It requires your players to have a little imagination and for the dungeon master to be inventive with their language- I do not recommend this for the linear at heart. But for the brave and the bold, both player and DM, this is a great module to explore.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by andrew S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2018 11:06:13

a fun intro adventure for chult. it introduces several of the ideas that make chult unique. a definite run for t1



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2018 23:22:02

Theme and background: The concept of a new kind of race, the Na N’buso’s Haka in this case is a great set up for an adventure! It is very simple to build an atmosphere of excitement and a hint of mystery to get your players involved in the race.

Part 1, Talk Derby to Me: Mowbula Utakulu makes a fantastic NPC for building the tone of the race! She can impress upon the party how the details of the race are unknown as this is the first of its kind and she can also talk about the strang deaths of prize winning dinosaurs of late. If the players start asking questions that get them off track her limited common can be put into action, She looks at the party confused and attempts to restate the core points again, thus building in what they are to do and keeping the story on track. The gambling hall/ privite race viewing area is the best opportunity for role playing in the adventure so it should be run with that in mind. The main function is for the players to find out rumors to grow the mystery and to try out the racing gambling mechanics but let the players explore and find some hijinks if they are looking for it.

Part 2, Haka Kuh-kah!: Building the team mascots is a great way to give this secton a high energy start! My players rolled up orange Flail Snail so when they entered the arena they all flailed their arms as thought they were eye stocks! I would recomend trying to get your players to act as their creature as they enter and granting insperation to those who comply. The first leg of the race does what it says on the tin, you ride your mount with the intention of being the fastest, the goal should be to sell the players on how fast and exciting the scene is, trying to get the players to act as fast as possible tends to get them into it I find. The second leg of the race gives the DM a great opportunity to describe Port Nyanzaru as the players will be above it and able to view it as a whole. The third leg of the race continues the pattern of changing scenery much to my players delight and even gave them a puzzle which was a fantastic suprise (although my players did solve it in about 4 seconds). The final leg of the race is when things can get really exciting, if the other teams have been left in the dust (as was the case at my table) you are to make another team make a suprise return and give the party a neck and neck race! This really brought it home for them and was a highlight of the adventure!

Part 3, Satchel Special: The players have little to to appreciate where they came in the race as undead dinosaurs crash the party! Be warned the Ankylosaur Zombie is no joke, it outright killed one of my players on a lucky crit! After once the party had a chance to investigate they were eager to figure out what the Yuan-ti were up to!

Rewards: The players weren't very excited with any of the rewards, they weren't upset but nothing really captured their imagination in this department.

Final Thoughts: Fun modual, just keep the excitement up and your players will love this one!

P.S. If you have your party run through the Taban side quest in the Tomb of Annihilation HC having Mowbula Utakulu be the bookie who gives them the quest makes a fantastic callback!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Allen M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2018 00:21:29

I found this to be a very fun module to run, though there are some concerns. The module is in two main parts, the race and the fight.

The race, and the preamble to it, were overall very good. As others have said, the "hook" is rather weak, especially for PC's "new to town." The betting system is particularly weird with multiple dinos all possible winners. We explained this away by saying you were placing more exotic bets, but regardless the end result is unsatisfying.

The actual race was a blast to run, and my players all said they really enjoyed it. It was a lot of fun to just make up descriptions to what the dinos were doing, what the PC's efforts were resulting in, and what their opponents were doing. The race did end up being swingy, with my group doing well out of the gate and on the pteranadons, but it took a lot longer than it probably should have to find the right bricks under water. I found that I had to fudge the other teams' dice so they would either stay competitive or not run too far ahead. Of course, that allowed the other teams to catch up and almost win the race, making it close and exciting. That was me, however, not the dice. More so than most mods, I think this one benefits greatly from a DM keeping things close to the end. It was also fun to bring out my inner Jeff Probst and really get into some of the descriptions. In the end, even my group of six level-one players (three totally new) were able to succeed enough at the challenges to make it fun and exciting.

After the race, there was a pretty big fight. This was a tough fight for all 1st level characters since the big one can one-shot almost any first level PC except for a raging barbarian. The module says it is optimized for 3rd level, so go easy on your firsties. The "investigation" part of the module where the players are all supposed to piece it all together could stand to be much better fleshed out too.

I've run this one twice, and I'll probably run it a few more times because it is just a fun, different adventure for players to try different things in. I'll probably get parts 2 and 3 of the trilogy and see how they go, even though quite a few reviewers say there isn't much of a connection between this one and those two.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 18:20:39

it is simply fun. dinosaurs and races make a great



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joel M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 03:26:14

Ahhh, a Day at the Races! SO MUCH FUN! This mod Ive played and DM'd a couple of times (in fact its the first module I hit Deja-vu on). This is the PERFECT module if you have a table with people brand new to D&D. Having them watch, interact, place bets, try to effect the outcome (I mean, as if PCs wont try to use things like Minor Illusion, and Ball Bearings, and flasks of Oil...)

I will get through the bad parts first - my nick picking on the module has to be that its hard to keep to time, the race earnings are a nightmare to figure out (needs examples, I bet 10 gp on x dino, I win y gp), and other than a super tiny section right at the end, it really has nothing to do with the trilogy. There should be more to do with the theme throughout the race where possible.

The main section of the race itself - playing through this multiple times, Ive found that either the other teams fall off super early and the last part is boring, or the players have basically no chance of winning. A lot of groups Ive played this with do their best to mess up the other teams, so usually fall into option 1, where they get to the final leg and just coast across the finish line. Would recommend that DMs implement a 1 distraction per character rule, to keep things moving quickly.

What did I love with the module is how different it is. Even the combat piece seemed way more natural than most modules - and has the Chultan deadly element to it (a bunch of level 4s are going to struggle...). If DMs make sure they read the module and have a rough outline to cover everything, I can't imagine the table NOT having a good time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 82 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items