Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire $9.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
60 54
11 12
5 4
1 1
0 2
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight\'s Squire
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2020 11:47:14

This was my first experience with a D&D solo adventure, and I mostly enjoyed it, though in my opinion it has a few issues. The story is compelling enough and has some genuinely cool and surprising moments, but overall I was left feeling like it should have been a bit better. In a solo RPG experience, the story has to do a lot of the heavy lifting to keep things interesting and the plot here just doesn't quite have enough going on. In terms of difficulty, I actually found this module fairly easy, but I think that's because I was playing a paladin and had a pretty high AC. Playing this adventure solo with a spellcasting class or a squishier martial class would probably make it much more difficult. The map areas just aren't all that exciting either. They're all pretty small and straightforward. The book tells you to print them out, but it honestly doesn't even feel worth the paper or ink to do so since the map tiles are so tiny and simple.

Another thing that got a bit offputting after a while is the way that the module handles checking for traps. Every time you enter a new area, the module asks if you'd like to check for traps (which you'll almost always do; even if you're playing as a character who isn't particularly perceptive or wary, it just feels idiotic to not check). But doing these checks and then reading the resulting passages just starts to get really boring and tedious after a while and it felt like way too much of my playtime was spent this way. I realize that traps are a tricky thing to do in a solo RPG experience, but this really isn't the ideal way to handle them.

I think the biggest gripe I have about this adventure is that it just doesn't feel like it's worth $10. It's pretty short (you'll definitely complete it in 1 or 2 sittings) and it's not really all that replayable in my opinion. I certainly didn't experience all of the module's content in my playthrough, but I also don't feel compelled enough to roll another character and go through it again; it just doesn't really feel worth the time or effort. There are plenty of full-fledged, fleshed out campaign modules or sourcebooks out there that you can get for less than the price of this short little module, so the $10 price really isn't justified in my opinion. I fully agree with the notion that the author should be rewarded for the work that he put into this module, but a $5-7 pricetag really feels much more fair. There just isn't $10 worth of content here.

Death Knight's Squire is a fairly fun way to spend an afternoon, but it's definitely not the mind-blowing, euphoric experience that many people here seem to think it is.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chance J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2020 01:57:39

Unique and worthwhile, but would have benefitted greatly from more polish. Various inconsistencies and oversights throughout - is the forest called Weathercote Wood or Clodfell Wood? Why do the Death Knight's saving throws and immunities change so much depending on which entry you're reading? Why is it possible to trigger the INDUCTION entry multiple times without any indication you're about to do so? So on and so forth. Also, would have been nice if the story introduction didn't color in your character's personality for you. The author encourages you to create your own compelling backstory before you start playing... and then proceeds to inform you that you're primarily motivated by gold, that you're travel-hardened and speak gruffly, that you're not used to dealing with aristocrats or associating with the wealthy, etc. All in all, still worth playing, but don't be afraid to re-write scenes in your head, or to backtrack and play around with the options if something doesn't seem to make sense.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Aaron B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2020 19:45:24

This my first taste into a published solo adventure and this review is not necessarily about the content, which is fantastic, but more about discovering I am personally not a fan of solo adventures. I only have one play through so I will give it another run with a different character and perhaps I may change my sentiment. I definitely have no regrets with the purchase and think the story is great (I may use it for a future one-shot session with youngsters) but I still prefer the classic table top experience (which is what most of us like, right?). That said, if you like "choose your own adventures" style of play, this will definitely be well received.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lee C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2020 17:03:40

Well written adventure. The hyperlinked PDF file works great. The included maps and figures are professionally drawn.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2020 16:05:29

This module is fantastic! Honestly just buy the 4 pack that includes this module, you won't regret it. Highlights include a very clear story and purpose, very well-balanced and interesting encounters, a large amount of content with replayability and and very well-structured solo game experience. You get good 1" grid game maps to print out, some free exploration, interesting combats and encounters, a somewhat non-linear experience and an exceptionally well-structured solo gamebook. There are many ways to structure a solo gamebook, this is the best I've seen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jessica G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2020 16:48:14

Terrific adventure! Much better than I expected for a solo DM-less adventure! My arcana cleric, however, hasn't survived after three tries. Think it's time to roll up a new character!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ann I. W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2020 04:46:39

It was my first DnD solo adventure and I loved it! The story is engaging and I think I've explored most of the setting before heading to BBEG. First playthrough took me about 3,5 hours and I'm going to do a second one just to see what I missed. I went in with a tempest cleric (a tank with solid damage and access to healing) because I get scared easily and the fights were relatively easy but still challenging when the dice decided to hate me. I only ran into one bug in the pdf but it was easy to deal with and it didn't spoil my enjoyment of the game. The art is very pretty and helps set up the atmosphere.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2020 07:17:43

I think that the overall concept is pretty good and the storyline is engaging but the writing style varies drastically in tone and the branching story is not handled as well as you'd hope. I also found the combat with the end boss to be very poorly laid out.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2020 11:36:16

Equal parts "Choose Your Own Adventure" book and Dungeons & Dragons, TDKS is a charming and fun adventure to run a new character through for testing purposes, practice your DM skills or to just have fun! Ultimately, it is fun which is always the main goal. I've ran through this twice with two different characters and found there's a lot of replayability. There are some sections I haven't tried yet and some things I haven't found; however, you do retread a lot of the same ground in doing so. Some of the writing is sporatic as well leading to some odd shifts in time or conversations. Though the writer tries to put in options for different classes, they obviously can't which leads to linear paths. Overall, it's a fun jaunt for a solo player!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jasper M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2020 03:29:43

It’s a fun concept, and clearly created with passion, but my enjoyment of it was spoiled by a barrage of bugs and errors. In addition to many little inconsistencies in the rules and writing, the narration tends to make no sense if you took a different route than the writer anticipated, causing the time of day to change erratically. There is also one major scene that the player is likely to experience twice in a row, because it can be accessed in two ways and the book does nothing to stop you from engaging with both. It makes it hard to believe that this book was playtested at all. I suspect that the sequels will be better, since this is a first attempt after all, but spending $10 on the next book to find out is a tough sell.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2020 20:09:34

This hit the spot. Was looking to test drive my Tortle character and didn't have a game to jump on. Chose my own adventure and died having fun. if you are looking for some adventuee, this will get you there. i felt like a kid again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brad B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2019 19:56:37

A wonderful adventure for a DM that rarely is able to play... I ran with 2 1st level character (Wizard & Mystic) instead of the recommendation of running just a 2nd level character... this made for a delightfully challenging adventure with minimal adjustments required while minimizing the possibility of a horrible PC death and dismemberment.

I had to run it twice in order to successfully complete the adventure and increase from 1st level to 2nd level, but left a chunk of the adventure area unexplored due to there being no challenge with 2 PCs at 2nd level.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jason G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2019 10:18:48

This is a really good solo adventure. Challenging which I think is a plus. I was skeptical about solo adventures and this was my first foray. This adventure is well organized with an engaging storyline. I recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2019 13:12:55

Enjoyed it very much. Ran it with two players the first time, and unfortunately died pretty early on. Then ran it with just myself and it was fun. We then ran it again with two players and made it all the way to the end, though not with the intended ending we had hoped for. And all three times gave a different experience, so there is some replayability to it. Plan on getting the rest in the series for sure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Solo Adventure: The Death Knight's Squire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by William D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2019 20:50:27

This was a great start to a solo adventurer campaign. Really good time just playing solo. I even kept a journal going through the adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 73 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items