Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Ruins of Mezro $4.95 $2.97
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
21 18
5 7
1 1
1 0
0 0
Ruins of Mezro
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Ruins of Mezro
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Curtis I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2020 17:17:56

Awesome Job!! great resource!! This really adds a lot to my Chult campain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Mezro
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2019 10:23:46

Its very impressive how much you get in 40 pages of this expansion for ToA. You get 3 scearios in Mezeo at three different tiers. You get a nicely detailed ruined city with thematic interesting inhabitants. You get stats for obscure dinosaurs. You get a cool thematic cleric domain and "Heretic" background. You get intriguing hints at some of the backstory for the TOA plot, and a way to interface more with Artus Cimber

All this for 4.95. Best thing I've ever bought for AL and I'd have paid twice as much!

i look forward to using this when we're done with TOA by letting the PCs pay Artus Cimber back for all the help he's been to them.

UPDATE: I had to take a point off after i noticed a bug with one of the main villains.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Mezro
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Itai G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2019 15:42:49

I love the Tomb of Annihilation book, and I have enjoyed most of the products I bought to supplement running it. This product is very good: it gives a detailed map of Mezro, and many interesting NPCs to play with, of varying levels of difficulty and interesting agendas. The adventure seeds aren't that well developed, but I don't feel they are a necessity. Mezro is a very important location in Chult, and PCs should arrive here with their own ambitioms and goals. This product gives a very good support to a DM that wants to introduce Mezro into his ToA campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Mezro
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Remy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2019 22:19:14

Doyle is known for working on Tomb of Annihilation. This is just an excellent complement to the initial storyline. I'm actually doing the ToA hardcover after running 72 hours of Mezro in all tiers. My players loved it, and the rewards were quite nice. Exploiting another city to make other stories happens within the same jungle while not giving emphasis to the actual tomb but rather some other storylines presented in the hardcover was well done. I've loved the multiple details and I've even given the Heretic background (through a custom background baseline) and been enjoying the character ever since. I even got to put a sphere of annihilation with the high priestess in an actual other plane and they all shifter into a demi-place at large. It was a blast doing the whole thing in multiple tiers with multiple on the fly tables.

Well done 5/5

Rémy B



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Mezro
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tyler M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2018 21:55:30

Mezro is a natural point of interest for any adventurer traveling through Chult. Tomb of Annihilation is woefully lacking in any detail on this wonderous city but Will Doyle has really done an amazing job making this place alive. With unique locations, creatures, and factions this lost city really feels alive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Mezro
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jac Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2018 01:22:33

I have ran both the Tier 1 and Tier 2 content of Ruins of Mezro. They make great alternative introductions to the ToA HC. The Tier 1 hook introduce the players directly to the threat of the Death Curse, and the Tier 2 hook is amazing if you want to run the HC starting from Tier 2, which skips over the vast majority of the travel in the jungle of Chult (which isn't everyone's favourite part of D&D).

On the flip side, Ruins of Mezro doesn't work as well as stand alone adventures. Mainly due to how "sandbox" the ruins actually are, and it can be fairly tricky to guide your players through all the lore and story the ruins has to offer. But then again, Guild Adept content were supposed to be supplements to the HC, which Ruins of Mezro did a great job at.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Mezro
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ash W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2018 14:15:01

If you're running Tomb of Annihilation your players are probably going to want to visit Mezro, and there are some great ideas and content in here to bring it to life. My only complaint is how the "curse" on the city makes it impossible for the players to keep any Mezroan artifacts... looting ancient ruins is a core part of the D&D experience.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Mezro
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jason P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2018 21:58:20

I really adore this adventure. Maybe calling it an adventure is too limiting, though—there's a ton of stuff packed in here, including three adventures sketches for tiers 1, 2, and 3. Mezro is a really flavorfully designed place, and the backstory of what happened here is really fascinating. There are also tons of really cool hooks that lure your party into various parts of the city. My absolute favorite involves a music box—you'll know it when you see it (or, hear it in this case!).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Mezro
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jordan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2018 17:05:18

I purchased this module because the hardcover adventure builds up Mezro as this all-important, legendary place... and then (literally) has a one paragraph blurb about its ruins. I needed something to bring Mezro to life - enter Ruins of Mezro.

Overall, it does an adequate job. I ran the Tier 1 adventure and that's it. The Flaming Fist connection is a good touch, and my party immediately warmed to Kes. Afterwards, Kes accompanied them on their further adventures, and, spoiler, got herself turned to stone at Nangalore. Ironically, this was probably the best-case scenario for her!

It's a little rough around the edges, but you should be able to find something useful in it to use in your campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Mezro
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2018 15:28:22

After a few session of running through Tomb of Annihilation, my party finally got to Mezro. Instead of using one paragraph of very one-dimensional mateirla (as providided in ToA), I got to use this really awesome resource and my players loved it! Even some of the ideas that are for players of higher levels are usable with my low level players, it just requires a bit of scaling back. I would 100% recommend this for any DM who is running ToA.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Mezro
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Noah G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2018 13:47:36

Ran this last night for a rotating group that normally runs 4-5 hours but doesn't always have a Tier nailed down until players sit down at the table. The flexibility of this adventure (3 tiers, a sandbox to play in, a mini-adventure for each tier) gives a lot of opportunities and replay value. My players were fairly quest, RP and combat oriented so I gave them the mini-adventure, some random encounters, and only a bit of the sandbox.

My main reservation is many of the encounters at Tier 2 relied on large numbers of weak opponents. The mini-adventure drops a lot of hints that players may not want to face the army of cultists head on. However, the adventure as written makes them easy to incinerate with fireballs. My players started complaining about the lack of challenge in certain areas. That's new for me! If you aren't used to buffing encounters on the fly put some prep time in to balancing encounters for stronger parties.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Mezro
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allison R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2018 21:38:15

Really fantastic and detailed addition for DMs running Tomb of Annihilation. My players wanted to go straight to Kir Sabaal, but after learning about Mezro they decided to change their plans. With less than a week to prep during the holidays I decided to make my life easier and purchase this instead. I was blow away by the sheer quality of this add on - especially for just $5!

Highly recommend anyone purchase this if they don't have the time or desire to flesh out Mezro themselves, because this does all the work for you (besides DMing your table, that is).

It does a really great job at giving you "tiers" of play based on the levels of your players, which I know is a god-send for DMs who don't want to change things on the fly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Mezro
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Remington A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2018 20:17:57

This adventure is fantastic. It adds so much lore and depth to what was nothing more than an x on the map for the ToA hardcover. My favorite part of this adventure is the amount of variety in running it. Depending on the tier of the players, you're playing a completely different adventure. If you only have 4 hours, you can run this as a one-shot session. If you want to get deep into the ruins, the random encounters, suggested encounters, and location descriptions provide at least 2-3 sessions worth of material. I have played the tier two adventure and run the tier one adventure, both as part of a ToA campaign. I plan on using the tier 3 adventure as a sequel to ToA for another campaign I'm running.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Mezro
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gregory V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2017 10:03:35

Great read! Very excited to use this in our ToA campaign. This is a must for anyone who read "The Ring of Winter." This gives some backbone to a part of the map that needed it Love the the little AL logos telling us whats AL legal and what isnt!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Mezro
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by William A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2017 15:21:36

I think it is amazing. I am running my Adventurer's League group through the tier 2 section. I plan to loop them back for the Tier 3 after they handle the death curse probably. It is a lot of fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items