Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru $4.99
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
28 9
5 5
1 3
3 3
1 0
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alec M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2020 10:46:18

Encounters are interesting and imaginative but the writing and editing leaves somethign to be desired. There's a lot of typos and stuff like that and some sections are difficult to understand. It's not stellar but it's not bad. Definitely adds some much needed depth to Port Nyanzaru.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nathaniel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2020 22:32:13

Love the variety of options presented here. Some really great combat and noncombat options that easily fit into a ToA campaign. Although several could easily fit into any city based campaign. Definetly worth the money. 10/10 would do again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by C M W B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2020 17:09:14

Another terrific Tomb of Annhilation supplement, this collection of ready to use encounters and mini-adventures can be seamlessly plugged into your ongoing Tomb of Annihilation campaign to add further flavor to Port Nyanzaru.

With a mixture of this tome and Adventurer's League adventures, I've got my party so enamored of Port Nyanzaru that we're six sessions in and nobody is in a rush to head into the jungle!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2019 09:11:21

Full disclosure: I married one of the authors so, yeah, I have an inherant bias. That being said, Encounters in Port Nyanzaru was one of the books I kept a printed copy of in my DM's bag in case we needed an extra DM on AL game day during season 7. The "encounters" are more than just combats against monsters and include enough plot hooks, contacts, and interesting situations to easily tie them into other Tomb of Annhilation adventures set in the port city. Therse are 13 encounters and a 9 page appendix which contains all the creature stats needed for the mini-adventures contained within. For a home campaign, there's enough plot elements here to weave a fun city-based campaign in Port Nyanzaru out of them. As far as Port Nyanzaru flavor, there's dinosaurs, merchant princes, and plenty of other interesting characters. You can easily run 2-5 of these encounters during a single session. For Adventurer's League players, these adventures can be used with character levels 1-11 (covering tiers 1, 2, and part of 3), and can even be used a great "follow up" to Tomb of Annihilation for when the PCs return to the port (providing they are still within the level range). Some of my favorites from this collection include: Rich Lescouflair's Crate Number Seven, Shawn Merwin's The Smell of Death (my favorite adventure in this book - every time I run something from here, I ALWAYS include Shawn's creepy-fun adventure), James Introcaso's Snuffed Out, and Cindy Moore's Undeserved Punishment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Itai G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2018 08:29:52

I love this product a lot and I think it's an excellent addition to any GM that runs Tomb of Annihilation, or even just wants to run adventures in Port Nyanzaru. It has a great variaty of flavors and challanges, and I find that it really deepens the mood of the city. Well Done!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2018 15:52:55

This pack is fantastic for adding additional flavor to your ToA game. I'm running three simultaneous campaigns that are all taking place in and around Chult, all of them starting in Nyanzaru, and I have used at least one of these encounters for each group, depending on what part of the city the group has shown the most interest in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2018 11:18:35

I absolutely love these little drop in adventures for ToA - my group has already ran a few and they are a great way to add story and depth to Port Nyanzaru!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy J. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2018 09:34:05

I'll just break this one down individually... Note that I am evaluating it from the stance of a DDAL GM looking for official content to enhance a DDAL game. If I were non-DDAL GM, I wouldn't have given this product a first glance - I can create flavorful, character-based encounters all on my own.

A Little Too Fancy - Rediculously heavy handed. It automatically assumes the player characters are filthy, cheap, or uncouth. While some of those are possibile, it also assumes that the characters are poor. The reality is that adventurers see more cash in one level than most people see in a lifetime. There is no way the establishment in this encounter could be a functional business if the fees were so exorbinant that adventuerers could not pay them out of pocket.

City Chase - This is barely even a framework, let alone a full encounter.

Crate Number Seven - This one is decent, though it really doesn't go anywhere.

Crime & Punishment - Yet another vague framework.

Intrigue & Suspicion in Port - This one is not an encounter at all, but introduces a system for "Suspicion". It eventually gives NPCs advantage on Wisdom checks and Initiative rolls against the party - in effect, it's designed to mess with the players. I fail to see how it enhances the game.

Otyugh's Wish - This features a CR5 creature and takes place in Port Nyanzaru. This one only works if you're starting ToA with an advanced party. Fresh L1s will get wrecked; this is not an appropriate encounter until Port Nyanzaru is long behind them.

Plague Boat - Another CR5 encounter; see above.

Right Place, Wrong Time - This one could be decent, as it brings the charactes to the attention of one of the Merchant Princes. Unfortunately, under DDAL rules, they have to spend DT to purchase dinosaurs, which means they've already met the merchant princes.

The Smell of Death - Functionally the equivalent of an MMO's L1 rat-smashing quest - boring.

Snuffed Out - The first box text needs a grammar review, but other than that, this one is probably the best of the lot.

Spa Day - This one is more of an encounter location, a setting, than an actual encounter.

Undeserved Punishment - Not terrible, but not outstanding either. It's also the second ecntounter in this bundle that uses the Executioner's Run.

Yuan-Ti Ambush - This one fails for me in the Aftermath section, when the bad guy is simply declared immune to interrogation. It's very heavy handed for what otherwise is a decent enconter.

These might be useful idea generation prompts in a non-DDAL game, where the DM can tightly integrate character backgrounds. Even in that case, I would never run any of them as presented except may be Snuffed Out. For Adventurer's League play, the value is not present - it's a waste of the DM's money.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Steven D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2018 13:34:13

It was good I have incorporated some of the encounters into my campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Richard M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 22:43:14

Encounters in Port Nyanzaru is a certified DM's Guild Masterpiece by the Going Last Tabletop Gaming Podcast!

As the incredible cornerstone of the DMs Guild Adepts program, I approached this book with very high expectations. This was going to be my opportunity to see every single Adapt in one neat little package and I really wanted it to shine.

Which it did. Like, of course it did. Did you see that list of authors?

What follows is the wonderful product of a group of talented writers, each knowing the high level of creativity present in all their fellows, melded with incredible editing, art, and design by James Introcaso and Rich Lescoufair. And from start to finish, the book impresses. Most of the included encounters only take a single page to describe, with the intent that most will be a small part of a much larger adventure. At the same time, each entirely fits within the realm of any Tomb of Annihilation campaign.

A few of the encounters are more like guidelines to add a specific experience to an adventure, whether that's an urban chase or a pit fighting extravaganza. Others open up wider experiences in taverns, spas, or warehouses within Port Nyanzaru. Investigations can lead to rescues in lighthouses or dinosaur pens, or even add suspicion to the unwitting party. Honestly, to talk more about these short events is to give away the punchlines, so I'll have to leave you in suspense!

Each encounter comes with convenient hooks to get your players ready for the scene, and the appendix in the back comes complete with every creature anyone will need to run your game. But, most importantly, each of them will lead to plenty of fun at the gaming table. This simple but outstanding book will add plenty of flavor to fill in any of the gaps in a Tomb of Annihilation game! Wizards of the Coast made these folks DMs Guild Adepts for a reason!

You can hear more of my thoughts about Encounters at Port Nyanzaru on Episode 217 of Going Last!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2018 11:45:35

While there is a nice mix of exploration, social interaction, and combat, each encounter is disjointed from the rest. While this is ok for the number of contributors, each encounter falls flat on delivering a cohesive and unique experience. For example, the City Chase hooks seem more like combat encounters because their plot dead ends as soon as the chase is over. I would have loved to seen those chases tie into another of the encounters.

Alternatively, creating a narrative that utilizes the frameworks established in Tomb of Annihilation would have been nice. Instead, these encounters reference that framework, but still force the DM to build off it, merely providing another avenue at which to approach the framework. For instance, one of Crime and Punishment's hooks reference the Merchant Princes. The ecounter focuses on Executioner's Run rather than fleshing out what I consider to be the more difficult part: the story behind why the party ended up there.

Couple this with repetitive encounters (2 Executioners Run), a missed opportunity for new mechanics (the suspicion system) and some downright bizarre encounters. Overall, this document is a real disappointment because it feels like each DM Guild Adept focused on their own encounter and let the opportunity for collaboration, with the potential to build something better, fail.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Leo F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/18/2017 08:48:41

This is really helpful as it provides more options for players to mess around with - mine almost never want to pursue the "obvious" hooks that the campaign lays out, so having premade storylines allows me to react to the unexpected much more easily.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2017 16:31:03

I am so impressed by this! Some of the best DM's have put together the beginning bare bones of any adventure you could desire in Port Nyanzaru. Satine Phoenix sets up the perfect Bardic adventure which references her and Ruty Rutenberg's Fury's Reach live stream. Rutenberg's way to deal with what happens to character's who run afoul of the law is very useful and can be used in other settings. Some others of note are Will Doyle's great seaborne mystery and Lisa Chen's funny "Spa Day".

Really worth the purchase!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2017 16:28:36

Really helped me flush out the major city in Chult. Great for starting story lines, I even used one of the ideas to tie two expeditions together. Very helpful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in Port Nyanzaru
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brent D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2017 16:37:46

This is OK ...

I felt like the Encounters weren't fleshed out enough. Some of them seem like random ideas and less than Encounters (Crate 7 and Smell of Death). I guess just felt like the some of core ideas did have enough "flesh" arond it to puzzle-piece them into the tone of Tomb of Annihilation" as a whole. I had a hard time answering the question "why would a character run across this and why would tehy care?" Sure I could MAKE them care, but I felt like there was something missing here.

This packet is good to have if you playing AL though and you are restricted to approved content ... it really explains on the Chapter 2 options presented in "Side Quests" of the ToA main book. So if you wanted to just run Chapter 2 of the ToA book as an AL game, this offers more options to "build" an adventure and stay within the rules. I would say the expansion to options in an AL game of ToA is worth the money enough. Never can have too much content to run AL games from.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items