Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Cellar of Death $2.99 $1.79
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
44 38
7 6
5 0
0 0
0 0
Cellar of Death
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Cellar of Death
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Floris P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2020 02:43:42

So happy I ran this before starting Tomb of Annihilation. During the NPC creation one of my players asked if the NPC could be their sibling and another asked if the NPC could be their ex. This made for some amazing RP moments later in the jungles of Chult and gave the group a solid reason to risk their lives to stop the death curse.

I do feel like the dungeon crawl drags on a bit. Perhaps that's the downside of using a Dysonlogos map rather than drawing one yourself (which I have also experienced) because you end up having more rooms to fill than you really need. It doesn't really matter though. This module is a must for anyone running Tomb of Annihilation!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cellar of Death
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chad E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2020 17:49:34

Cellar of Death has the best adventure hook ever. No spoilers, but it really united my PCs in a way 'you meet in a tavern' never could. That alone is worth the price of admission, then add a great adventure on top of that. If you are running Tomb of Annihilation it is a must have to kick off your campaign. ToA is a great story, but the intro is just meh without Cellar of Death. It could even stand on its own as a one-shot. Last point, as a member of the Tomb of Annihilation DMs FaceBook group, this adventure is constantly recommended and the buyer is never disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cellar of Death
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jason B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2020 11:38:59

My players and I very much enjoyed this adventure. I was looking for a way to ease into Tomb of Annihilation, and this adventure did the trick. We have since concluded our Tomb campaign after more than a year of adventuring, but we still talk about "Danny Darkelf," the NPC we created and promptly killed at the start of Cellar of Death.

Cellar of Death if a fine adventure, and it is a great alternate way to start Tomb of Annihilation. Highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cellar of Death
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Baden W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2020 16:11:34

Had a great time running this introductory adventure to Tomb of Annihilation with my group. The adventure is well laid out and the NPC creation section is excellent. We had one character die but that was mainly because of a 'split the party' situation and if anything it added to the premise of the campaign as a whole. Highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cellar of Death
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2020 03:23:53

Splendid blend of new and old school. The funeral vignette to start is a grest plot hook, and the dungeon seftio offers a timed challenge, ending in a satisfactory end confrontation. Get this, you'll be glad you did.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cellar of Death
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2020 09:01:12

Ran this as a pre-cursor to ToA campaign. Well put together, a dungeon crawl feel but with a solid reason for the risk ans supports some good tension build-up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cellar of Death
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2019 21:37:34

My tip for running this, especially with a new group, is to guide them as necessary for act one, when they create that NPC. This could be a great hook and motivaton through Tomb of Annihilation, but if it turns into something silly, it won't work. Make sure all the players get to contribute equally. Don't let any one player dominate the process.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cellar of Death
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nate T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2019 13:13:04

This adventure is great! It's proof that level 1 adventuring doesn't have to be boring. It's well written, works well as either a one-shot or an introduction to Tomb of Annihilation, and comes with everything you need to have a fun night of gaming with friends.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cellar of Death
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2019 20:05:49

This is awesome! It really helps to set up the Tomb of Annihilation, and its such a good price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cellar of Death
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2019 20:47:12

Loved the role-playing/backstory elements at the top, and the ticking time bomb lent an appropriate sense of dread. The dungeon itself was a bit blah, and my players definitely needed some reasons why a level one party was being sent in, so I improv'd a bit to get them in there. Concluding confrontation works nicely, and sets up ToA well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cellar of Death
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2018 12:11:23

I was really happy when I got this product. James is a great writer and this is a really cool way to jump into Tomb of Annihiliation. Lv 1 characters negociating with a Lich is a great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cellar of Death
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Biolife D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 19:32:22

This is a great prelude to introduce a party to the Tomb of Annihilation storyline before the book picks up. It does require a bit of attention to make sure that you keep it consistent with the presumed timeline prior to the proper hardcover introduction.

For me, it also required some on-the-fly tweaks to the story to help suspend the disbelief of my players that a lich would have a "secret" back entrance that a group of 1st level characters could break into. In this case, the twist was that her phylactery was actually a decoy and not the real deal. The players panicked as they had no leverage over her and were prepared to try and flee before the Harpers appeared with the real phylactery - they had used the raid as a distraction and ruse to hold the lich's attention while they stole the real phylactery.

Suspension of disbelief issues aside, this is a very nice mini dungeon crawl, even if used outside of the ToA story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cellar of Death
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lex M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2018 17:17:26

Wow this is great! Okay maybe not for the dungeon. The dungeon is fine...but thematically doesn't have much to do with ToA. Also I altered a section at the end that involves fighting a weakened (but still very powerful) enemy. I really didn't want to accidentally TPK my party on the first session of a new campaign. That said, the brilliance of this book is the system for creating a shared relative. It worked wonders with my group of (mostly) new players. It brought them together, made them gell as a team, and gave them a fantastic reason to want to end the death curse. They loved it. I loved it. It was the PERFECT way to start Tomb of Annihilation in terms of party interaction. Thank you James Introcaso for this amazing idea!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cellar of Death
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Doug H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2018 10:48:44

I've run this twice already. Great little dungeon crawl with lots of flavor. Challenging and fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cellar of Death
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Naren P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2018 10:26:56

I consider this to be a well-rounded and well-written adventure. The NPC creation at the beginnng of the story was a nice touch which my players really enjoyed. Also, the mission made sense in the larger context of the season's storyline arc. I felt the final battle could be challenging for parties without access to magic (which is possible at this tier) but they found a way to succeed. that would be my only hesitation but otherwise really liked this one!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 44 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items