Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
CCC-BLD 1-2 Bleeding Gate: Amalgamation $4.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 8
0 0
0 0
1 1
0 0
CCC-BLD 1-2 Bleeding Gate: Amalgamation
Click to view
CCC-BLD 1-2 Bleeding Gate: Amalgamation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Merlin E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2019 13:50:15

Like the previous adventure, this one had a great story and was fairly easy to follow. A few meta bits of travel get lost some (like moving from the sewers to inside the Gibbering Mouther), but otherwise it was smooth sailing. My players loved the concept of the Census Watch and we easily could have spent a lot of time there.

Make use of those Winged Boots! I forgot to have Anfred fly up after his first attack and...well...I had to do some fudging for some HP (which I generally hate doing) otherwise that last fight would have been super anti-climactic. As for the resolution, I've never seen players so morally conflicted as to whether they revive one NPC or another. That was a pleasure to watch, hahah!

Again, the material in the appendix and suppliment were amazing and the art really did a lot to bring the story to life. Excellent job all around!

My only suggestion, and an echo of my players, "More Raan!!!" ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BLD 1-2 Bleeding Gate: Amalgamation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dax H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2019 19:21:05

Well paced and written content that could have been a bit thinner in direction due to player interaction which tended to instantly dislike and distrust the npc motives and requests. Clever players and DM's will learn loop holes within a few ritual spells along with speeding up conflicts. This module is a bit longer than the given time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
There is indeed potential for taking longer on the adventure. When I need to stay within the 2 hours I have Raan help fight the 1st mouther and in the 2nd encounter I shrink the size of the mouther-cavern for scariness (they usually hurry outta there pretty quick). Thank you for your rating and review!
CCC-BLD 1-2 Bleeding Gate: Amalgamation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/14/2019 19:43:28

Bleeding Gate: Amalgamation is a strong sequel to Bleeding Gate: Pandemonium. Having run this for both a seasoned party and a relatively inexperienced party I highly recommend it.

Pros:

  1. Following the successful format of the original, the adventure is well-written and easy for the DM to understand. The author presented an excellent summary of the whole module before launching into the detailed narrative of the adventure.
  2. Strong narrative with good role-playing opportunities and an interesting backstory.
  3. The players are repeatedly challenged to distinguish friend from foe.
  4. The combats are really good and feature some distinctive monsters.
  5. The author's voice seems to have matured since he wrote the first episode. The underlying ideas are presented in a subtler way.

Cons:

  1. The third episode of this trilogy is on Tier 2. Stepping up in the middle of a trilogy is very awkward.
  2. Between my two parties there was only one player who had run the first module. The "Previously on Bleeding Gate" part of the adventure took a lot of time to narrate and even after I invested that effort I still needed to make another significant effort later on. All the critical characters from Pandemonium suddenly show up in the grand finale of Amalgamation and a lot of people were a little lost.

But that's AL in a game store for you. If you can run both episodes for the same party it will be amazing as this weakness becomes a great strength when it all ties together. Otherwise just make sure that you know Pandemonium. Be prepared to spend some time catching people up and it will be fine.

Conclusion: A well-written module with an excellent story and enjoyable combats.

PS: With regard to a previous review, both my parties resolved the final conflict without battling the Villain. Thus they avoided an extremely dangerous encounter that could easily have led to fatalities. I believe it is the author's clear intent that this outcome is possible and desirable. He goes to a lot of trouble to outline the persuasion and intimidation tools at the adventurers' disposal.

Where the author failed is in defining what success looks like. It was completely up to me to decide what combination of strong words, good rolls, and blown up zombies would force the Villain to capitulate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your review Thomas! I'll try to keep in mind for future adventures to define what success looks like. I'm so glad you and your players enjoyed yourselves!
CCC-BLD 1-2 Bleeding Gate: Amalgamation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2018 01:15:59

Spoilers below.

Pros:

  • As with Part 1, Charming scene setup and characters!
  • Solid spellcheck and grammar check (But maybe not proofreading for playtesting, see cons below)

Cons:

  • Lack of consequence: At the beginning, the players are given a test to work for a secret organization. However, regardless of passing or failing the test, the result is exactly the same. There is no interesting variation here. It gets worse at the end; the players run into a confrontation with Arnfred and are very clearly given opportunities to talk him down. However in reality there is no difference at all whether they take the peaceful route or aggressive route! It still ends up in the same combat with no difference. It's like the author intended to do something more here but utterly forgot. Considering the emphasis on peace and diplomacy in this series, this omission and forced linearity is very disappointing.
  • Poor use of factions: Two factions are given missions; however there actually are no interesting things for them to do: Simply completing the main story grants them their reward. What was even the point? This feels like something thrown in and not completed.
  • Combat Balance: Unlike Part 1, the combat here has definitely become swingier and was not vetted. The Slithering Tracker is definitely interesting but at an average party of level 3 characters is has excessive kill potential for not being the final fight. The final fight itself is even worse. This is Tier 1. What possessed the author to throw a 11th level spellcaster with Winged Boots at the party? Even in weak adjustment Arnfred has access to such high level killer spells as Harm and Blight, things that shouldn't be thrown at even a Very Strong Tier 1 party. On top of this, he can effectively fly at will. If I got fed up with annoying players and decided to just kill everyone, this is the final boss I would write.
  • Time management: 3 mandatory combats in a 2 hour adventure is stretching it. Considering this is in the category of Con Created Content, this makes even less sense. CCC's should be extra sensitive about time.
  • Inappropriately timed and longwinded monologues: The first problem comes when the party hears Takwen shouting just before the Gibbering Mouther fight. It is way too long, with too many new names, and absolutely no segway. It's important yet the players instantly get turned off. The final 2 monologues at the end DO have a segway in, but are even longer at a point in the game where players do not care. Long monologues should not be the primary device for cramming in plot points. Either slim it down or divide it up over time to give players time to digest the information instead of being bombarded all at once and absorbing none of it.


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for your review, Stephen. I do assure you that all my adventures are playtested A LOT with different DMs and players, and after multiple edits. And you're absolutely correct about monologues; I was too long winded. That is something I've learned to cut down on since writing Bleeding Gate. And I've become more clear about reminding DMs that no combat is mandatory, giving examples of how characters can navigate encounters with other approaches. I'll keep your other cons in mind, next time I edit Amalgamation. Thank you again! Ma'at
CCC-BLD 1-2 Bleeding Gate: Amalgamation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kevin T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2018 03:31:59

I had a barbarian who picked up the slithering tracker, then died



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Oh no! Picking up slithering trackers is trouble! Did they drown or get pummeled to death!?
CCC-BLD 1-2 Bleeding Gate: Amalgamation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2018 20:57:38

Second part was also a day of adventure calls because of how much the first mod left us wanting more! Part 2 did not disappoint. Again the artwork was on point and me and my players absolutely loved it. Then in this mod we got to meet some of the populace and oh my it was the best. I loved the different npc character of these mods so much!

After that again the mod was well put together for the kind of last minute reading I did and despite moments of confusion on my part because of that reason the module was still easy to run and easy to understand.

Again, fantastic job on the whole thing! I loved it and I really can't wait for other mods set with the individuals of the Peacesmith community.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Fwoo! So glad y’all had fun! I’m do my best to write more!
CCC-BLD 1-2 Bleeding Gate: Amalgamation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lance C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 23:59:57

Enjoyed this module. My players liked the first one, but they definitely enjoyed this second one! It was very well written and very easy to follow. The monsters and NPCs are very interesting and can add a variety of twist to them if in case your players think of creative ways to interact with them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you again Lance! I'm so glad they had a fun and creative time! Ma'at
CCC-BLD 1-2 Bleeding Gate: Amalgamation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tait T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2017 21:26:53

Amalgamation is a wonderful follow up to Pandemonium. It picks up where the previous story left off allowing one to continue to delve into the varied and interesting lives of the NPC's they met in the first adventure as well as some new ones. Characters are colorful and interesting. The combat is both fun and challenging and follows the pattern of the previous adventure in introducing monsters we do not always get an oppurtunity to battle commonly. Players are left off eager to get their hands on the final installment and find out how everything will wrap up in the colorful narrative painted by the author.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BLD 1-2 Bleeding Gate: Amalgamation
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gionmattia C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2017 14:44:24

Played yesterday with my group. They liked the variety of monsters and, as a master, i really enjoyed to role play the NPCs. Hope the 3rd part will be released soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review; so glad everyone enjoyed themselves. I'm working quickly on part 3's final edits & permission for DMs Guild upload. I'll keep you updated.
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items