Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
CCC-BLD 1-1 Bleeding Gate: Pandemonium $4.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 7
0 3
1 0
0 0
0 0
CCC-BLD 1-1 Bleeding Gate: Pandemonium
Click to view
CCC-BLD 1-1 Bleeding Gate: Pandemonium
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/13/2019 22:05:05

I chose this adventure for my first time as an Adventure League DM. I really enjoyed it and so did my players.

Pros:

  1. Well-written and easy for the DM to understand. The author presented an excellent summary of the whole module before launching into the detailed narrative of the adventure.
  2. A fun and positive story that everyone seemed to relate to.
  3. Two good combats featuring slightly offbeat monsters for those of us who are tired of fighting kobolds.
  4. An interesting and creative story award that doesn't jeopardize game balance.
  5. A strong lead out to the sequel.

Minor issues:

  1. There is a significant possiiblity that the first encounter could one-hit kill a first level character. To be clear I am sayng dead, not merely unconscious or disabled. As a DM you should decide if you are OK with that and plan accordingly.
  2. As another reviewer wrote, allowing the players some influence over the Peacestone's decision would be more satisfying. I created an opportunity after the first battle for the characters to earn some good karma (a plus) for their upcoming roll.
  3. The story can fall apart if there is no Harper in the party to pull in the Harper hook. As DM you need a plan B to get that information to the players. One simple solution would be for a desperate Harper agent to make a cold contact asking for the party's help.

Ideas are essential to art. They stimulate us, intrigue us, challenge us, provoke us, and hopefully enlighten us. Important ideas play a large role in this module and I definitely consider this module to be a work of art. But I caution the author that often a subtle touch is better. Be careful about letting the ideas become bigger than the story. Layer your ideas into your work and let people draw their own conclusions.

Summary: this is one of the best Tier 1 adventures I have seen. Absolutely run it for your players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your review, Thomas! Being my first adventure, I admit I had a lot to learn and I hope to keep on improving. Some things that might help for future running, when I run the first encounter, I have the neogi and snakes target Theema Aga'Rith. I may still choose to attack the PCs a little but I mainly use the neogi and snakes as an introduction to Theema Aga'Rith and Tomakas. Even though touching the Peacestone yields random results, it has a high probability of success. Still, no matter what the result, as the Paragon says, a PC may broaden peace. If they choose to receive training (give them a copy of the principles and Paragon quotes) despite not receiving the story award, WOW that would say a lot about that character and could make for some interesting roleplay. I have definitely used your approach for the Harper hook or given it to the most roguish PC. I've also run it without a Harper; an insight check can reveal the same information about Ersu's reluctance to talk in front of the crowd even without reading the Thieves Cant tattoo. I can't change much about the module at this point but those last two suggestions (Peacesmith and insight check) could be added if you think it would help. Thank you again for playing my module and for writing the review! Ma'at
CCC-BLD 1-1 Bleeding Gate: Pandemonium
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2018 00:42:16

Spoilers below.

Pros:

  • Charming background and characters!
  • Story Rewards done (mostly) right. The Peacesmith reward is a great example of an interesting but not game-breaking player reward. The lead-in to it was also very original.
  • Good combat balance.
  • Good proofreading, a positive that is less common in AL than I would like.

Cons:

  • The randomness of how the Peacesmith reward is obtained by players. At least give players who are peace-inclined and roleplay it well a stronger chance of obtaining the reward.
  • The search for the child Ahera in the middle part of the scenario. Players are prompted to search Emudomier for her but are given hardly any details on the locale and thus the "search" just ends up being a very linear and unsatisfying experience. I think this was a missed opportunity to throw in some non-linear content.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BLD 1-1 Bleeding Gate: Pandemonium
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kevin T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2018 03:30:18

it's a great trilogy I highly recommend, grest items and story



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much, Kevin! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!
CCC-BLD 1-1 Bleeding Gate: Pandemonium
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2018 20:48:07

Adventure called one day and I had recently purchased this adventure but hadn't had time to read it. The module was set up really easy for me to find things but I have to say I love the story so much! My players loved it as well! The artwork is fun, the story is fun and different from many other modules, and left me and my players wanting more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Oh I’m so glad to hear that! Thank you so much for sharing! I’ll keep working to put out more stories we can tell together!
CCC-BLD 1-1 Bleeding Gate: Pandemonium
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2018 09:25:43

5/5 -- I will definitely DM this adventure again.

Story:

  • Easy to understand the story
  • Interesting premise during gameplay
  • Leaves you wanting more

Artwork:

  • Creepy cover art (in a good way) which made players curious about what was about to happen
  • Fun depictions of the main characters throughout the document. It was great getting to see how you envision them to look.
  • Nice little drawings of what the Encounters look like. It helped those of us who are visual people describe/understand what was happening

Combat:

  • The recommended creatures can be quite powerful against a low level group
  • There's plenty of flexibility to make it fun (by making it harder|easier) for the group.

Rewards:

  • The story awards are quite interesting. I hope to see more of the Peacesmiths in other stories...if not through written material, than through DM generated flavor additive.

Extras:

  • The supplemental material was excellent! I DM while online and I used the artwork provided in the supplemental to replace the artwork for creatures and characters on Roll20. I liked this, because it made the creatures feel much less generic. The game definitely benefited from the tenets provided by Ma'at.

Inclusivity:

  • I was pleasantly surprised to learn about the different types of relationships between some of the main characters.

Overall, I really enjoyed running this game. I look forward to seeing who else will pass the Peacestone's test!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much, Red, for your kind words and helpful feedback! I look forward to seeing more of your Ancient Red Dragon Twitch real play videos. Ma'at
CCC-BLD 1-1 Bleeding Gate: Pandemonium
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2018 16:28:51

Ma'at,

I really get the sense that there may have been something spiritual going on as your muse for this module. At least with Emudomier and the Peacstone and Peacesmiths. It seems that their tenets were closely associated to some aspects of Buddhism. I had to move away from some of this because my players were losing interest. But I loved the vague associations in your descriptive about the NPCs and the creatures. The font was made it easy to read, but the artwork.. wow, you certain ly get people's attention with it! I was distracted by it because my eyes would wander towards your illustration when I was trying to present your narratives! LOL! I liked the lava shoes .. that was an unique touch on what would be comsidered mundane in other presentations. The players told me that it was trippy and felt weird ... knocking their imagination stereotypes off keel.

This module stands out for me because of its culturally diverse narrative and NPCs. It was tough to present, but I hope in future efforts I am able to truly capture what it is you have placed in this module.

I absolutely thought the supplemental guide was great! For a DM to be able to lay the map pages out without worrying about a grid allows for easy optics. I also liked that you made some of the handouts optional. When and Where is this Bleeding Gate Con?

Best of Luck in your future products.

Resp.

Marcello De Velazquez



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you Marcello! I'm glad you enjoyed it and it gave you pleasant surprises and useful tools. This Bleeding Gate adventure debuted at last year's GameStorm in Portland, Oregon. But I've seen notices that it has been played at other conventions. And all three Bleeding Gate adventures will be played at this year's GameStorm and at the Oregon Coast Comic Con. Best of Luck and Happiness to you too! Ma'at
CCC-BLD 1-1 Bleeding Gate: Pandemonium
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lance C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 23:53:35

Adventure calls! and I had to dm (for the first time) instead of playing. I decided to grab this module because it just came out then. Suprisingly, it was very easy to understand and I was able to dm the module with little time to prepare. If it's your first time dm-ing or you recently just started dm-ing, I recommend this module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much Lance! You're review helps a lot. I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Ma'at
CCC-BLD 1-1 Bleeding Gate: Pandemonium
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tait T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2017 21:23:07

This module is well written and very enjoyable. It has a great storyline with intresting NPC's for characters to interact with. The author explores a lot of diffrent types of monsters that are not commonly avaliable to fight in many other AL modules. The module wraps up with a wonderful cliffhanger that leaves players eager to play the second part.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BLD 1-1 Bleeding Gate: Pandemonium
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gionmattia C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2017 08:31:29

My players really liked this adventure and the "peace stone" minigame. Moreover it's well written and organized, can't wait for part 3 and the supplemental!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BLD 1-1 Bleeding Gate: Pandemonium
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dustin G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2017 18:22:27

Ran the adventure for a group of 5 first level characters 4 of who are brand new to D&D. Everyone loved it. Using the encounter scale made it very balanced and the rewards are great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items