Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Ruea's Ultimate Guide to Radiance
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2020 09:36:04

Weeehlp folks - Chris did it again. This man continues to absolutely blow me out of the water any time he sends me something to review, and I just...I can't! I could spend hours and hours pouring over why I freaking love this book so much - I really could - but it comes down to one main thing, and that is detail. No stone remained unturned, no canyon left to be unexplored, no planar deity left alone. I am not kidding, Chris has pulled out all the stops on this book just as he does with any of his other projects. Like I want this goddamn thing in PRINT ON MY SHELF! You not only get a whole new quasi-plane of radiance as a setting, but a new race (the darkling), a metric fuck ton of new class options - all of which are badass as all hell - AND a whole slew of new monster stat blocks. I cannot even show you how much I am just ooing and ahhing over this thing, but I am shaking with how fantastic this book is. Perfect for any game - and most specifically a Strahd or Avernus game, Chris has knocked it out of the part with Ruea's Ultimate Guide to Radiance and has 100% earned the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruea's Ultimate Guide to Radiance
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Fifty Swamp Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2020 09:23:38

If you want a goodly little batch of swampy swamp swamperton encounters - than look no further. Swamps are perfect places for horror and terror, and Ravenloft is a domain that contains LOTS of swamps. 50 swamp encounters for free is a steal, so I dunno why none of you are reading this and NOT downloading this book - which is 100% what you should be doing. Let them oozes and mists and spooklings come into your game! Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fifty Swamp Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Master of None: Multiclassing Variants and Roleplay Suggestions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2020 09:20:49

So - as someone who often enjoys multiclassing - this book is a godsend. Like literally, I cannot tell you how many times I multiclass and then feel stuck because the mechanics get too clunky or its a pain trying to work it in roleplay-wise: all sorts of issues can come up. But what we got here - from an incredibly talented team - is a book to help solve all those problems. We open with a little history lesson on how multiclassing worked throughout the various editions of D&D - which I am not going to lie is super interesting to read and learn about. Then we get into the traditional multiclas mergers for each class, gesalt multiclassing (I am not going to try and explain it because it confuses even me) and then we break down multiclassing level by level. Now I could get into the nitty and gritty on exactly every single infinitesimal piece of this book, but I am not going to. Instead, I shall say this - WHAT A TOOL THIS BOOK IS! If you are someone like me who likes having the versatility of having two or three classes in one character, you need to have a copy of Master of None in your library. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Master of None: Multiclassing Variants and Roleplay Suggestions
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Book of Races: Daywalkers
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2020 09:07:33

Taking their name from everyone's favorite leatherbound vampire slaying badass, the daywalkers differ from vampires and dhampir in many ways: firstly, they can walk in broad daylight and be fine, and second, rather than shunning their vampiric origins they embrace them to the fullest. They are literal wolves in sheeps clothing, choosing to stand out and be an alpha predator in plain sight. This is absolutely terrifying, and as a character would be an interesting roleplay mechanic to play with. And here in lies the rub - they hunt other vampires and the familiars of vampires, just like Mr. Snipes. They have a ton of really cool abilities that add a TON of variety to how you could run them: charismatic smooth talker, terrifying warlord, all sorts of builds. Honestly, I will probably use this in a game of my own down the road. So if you want some horror and major race versatility in your next character, look no further. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races: Daywalkers
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Book of Races: Orogs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2020 08:25:00

Orcs are up there on my favorite races board, definitely like top 5. And orogs especially - as Kim now takes a very often overlooked orc subrace and brings them into the light of day as they deserve. Orogs are stronger, smarter, and much more deadly than orcs, having the brains to match their brawn. To many within the orcs, you are alientated for your intelligence and cunning, but others outside hate you for your incredible strength and rage. While they don't have much in the way of super cool abilities - I think maybe adding something that could buff allies or something to do with area control would be interesting - the orogs offer a new chapter in orc lore that has been much needed. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 15



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races: Orogs
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

A Walk in the Spirit Realm
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2020 08:04:05

This is a beautiful adventure lovingly made by Jeff C. Stevens and Alan Tucker - two amazing creators. Coupled with Ludovico Tellatin's amazing art, as well as fantastic layout, this adventure is really awesome as it is meant for players of any level. That is right, ANY LEVEL - so you can make this a quick one shot for any evening. Plus, this is a unique adventure in that the players are helping a group of people that are usually are villains within D&D. The players must help an orcish spiritual leader heal a rift between them, a group of hobgoblins, and their gods. So not only does this adventure make players become far more concious about their choices, but it also adds a new gray area. Very often goblinoids are cast as the bad guys, but now players have to directly throw that concept out the window. With simple to follow layout and awesome story, A Walk in the Spirit Realm is worth every cent for a party. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Walk in the Spirit Realm
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Lair of the Frog King
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2020 07:42:29

Rob is an excellent designer and great guy, so I already know that this adventure is going to be fantastic! And the minute I opened it and read through, that was confirmed. This is a goofy - but surprisingly deadly - little one shot to get players into the spirit of D&D, and really get a great balance of roleplay and combat. I abolsutely love the beautifully themed layout and background that Rob chose to use in this piece, giving it almost A Wind in the Willows kind of vibe - which maybe he was going for, I dunno. With Geun's awesome cover art, overall this is an awesome little book which I highly reccomend any starting DM or group of players should pick up to learn. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lair of the Frog King
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for your kind words, Cam! Glad you enjoyed it.
Book of Races: Pech
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2020 16:40:36

The Pech are terrifying little blighters with a damaged and dangerous history - slaves to Entemoch and Ogremoch the archomentals, then slaves to the dao of the Elemental Plane of Earth, before being pulled back into the clutches of the twin primordials. This race is honestly super fascinating to me as it offers folks and alternative to dwarves or svirfneblin (deep gnomes) and gives a ton of interesting material to play with backstory-wise. That, combined with some awesome new racial abilities such as One with the Stone and Stone Coloration make the pech a definite pick of mine in the future. They are a very versatile race, meaning that you could honeslty play them with almost any class and it would work sense thematically and mechanically. The idea of a pech barbarian makes me very happy. Overall, an excellent addition to the Book of Races series. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races: Pech
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Expedition to Wyvern Tor
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2020 14:17:31

Another excellent little adventure from Daniele, Expedition to Wyvern Tor can easily be plopped into the Starter Kit adventure once the characters complete that narrative. At 12 pages for levels 3 to 5, this is a simple and easy adventure to run, especially if you even wanted to start your first time players at 3 - which, let's be honest, is where the REAL fun begins. It's got dungeon crawling, intrigue, pulpy action, and is well laid out - something that can kill a quest, especially for one that is for lower levels. This is a great adventure that you can snag and pull together in an hour or so if folks are looking to get started. My only issue would be that I think some of the formatting might be a little funky and there are points where the text is skewed. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 17



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Expedition to Wyvern Tor
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Psionics: A Supplement for 5E
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2020 14:08:03

I first met the good ol psion in 4e when I started delving into the PHB 3 many many moons ago, and I can always rememebr liking the concept a lot. And especially with so many Dark Sun hints being dropped and not coming to fruition, along with the UA psionics - which really should just replace mystics but that is another fight for another time - what we have here is a perfect example of the old addage "Just gotta do it myself." Bardic has put so much effort into rekindling that spicy psionics fire that we all knew we still needed at our tables with his well-laid out, well developed, and mechanically sound document. Overall, I would totally allow this at my table, but my major concern is that it just feels like it is lacking visually. I want more color, more art, especially original art to pull in that alient Surrealist feel of psionics. But like I said, Bardic did a great job making something that was often seen as inaccessible available and easy to use. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 15



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Psionics: A Supplement for 5E
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Wisdom Under Fire: An Australian Charity Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2020 13:53:52

This is an adventure that immediatly rings true with so many good things right off the bat. A), it is for a good cause, as the money all goes to help the recovery process for the Australia wildfire victims, lands, and animals. B), it is a beautifully subtle way to introduce your children to concepts like relief, foreign aid, and cute little wombat people. And C), this shows just how much can be achieved if you have an amazingly talented ensemble to bring this product to life. Wisdom Under Fire is serious, witty, somber, eye-opening, and a mechanical marvel. With fantastic art, eye-popping layout, and an attention to detail that makes this product worth every single charitable purchase. Want to do your part to aid the Australian people and make sure that more wombats don't get burned to death? Then you need to get this book that I am proud to award the Comics, Clerics, & Controllers Golden d20 Badge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wisdom Under Fire: An Australian Charity Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Book of Races: Ice Elves
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2020 13:40:15

Having grown up in northern New Hampshire, I know just how much the cold can change someone, how the winter and frost can almost become this existential enemy against you. What Kim has done with Book of Races: Ice Elves is take that and personified it in these cold immortals. Isolationist and nomads within the tundras and arctic regions of the worlds, the ice elves are remnants of the long bygone war between elvenkind, and they are an example of pure adaptation. You don't get a lot mechanically - mostly some weapon proficiencies, an immunity to cold but vulnerability to fire, and some other small pieces - which is where I think this really lacks as a race. I like the lore and I like the concept, but mechanically there is nothing really immensely interesting about this subrace. I think perhaps weaving in some ice magic abilities would be nifty for future updates, but I can't say this pulls me in as a player option. If you are a player that is looking to start off slow with a subrace that doesn't blow your table to smithereens and your DM is chill with it, then this is a good option. Overall, I think it is half way there, but Book of Races: Ice Elf just seems to be lacking. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 10



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races: Ice Elves
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Temple of the Opal Goddess
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 08:46:13

Either as the first in the series that The Price of a Soul continues, or as its own solo adventure, Temple of the Opal Goddess is an example of Micah's excellent work. This quest seeths with classic pulp action and drama, dungeon crawls (which I am rarely a fan of but when done well I love it), intrigue and complex plots. This feels like it was ripped from older editions and refreshed with a spicy new paint job and updated mechanics, and I LIVE FOR IT! Plus, there are so many different ways to play this adventure - full stealth, full tank, mix and match; your party comp is going to change exactly how the game goes in subtle ways, and it is awesome. Overall, highly recommend this one shot for anyone looking for a fun night! Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Temple of the Opal Goddess
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Adventure Sidekicks: Tyranny of Dragons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 08:34:23

The Adventure Sidekicks series is already a must-have for everyone - this unfortunately is the first one in the series I have been able to review, but I have seen them in action and know they are steals. Coupled with Rose's fantastic art - having worked with her in the past, highly recommend - Adventure Sidekicks: Tyranny of Dragons is perfect for your dive into the world of the first hardcover quest book that 5th Edition had. Plus, I love the Sidekick mechanics - with my girlfriend's brother using them in our Curse of Strahd game. You get a bunch of new NPCs, along with their sidekick mechanics, and it is just a good time all together. Cannot recommend this book enough. Altogether you get so much in one little book, and it is worth it 100%. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Sidekicks: Tyranny of Dragons
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Price of a Soul
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2020 08:26:37

Micah always puts a great deal of focus into his work, and with this adventure that is still the case. A sorrowful and romantic tale that tickles all the violin strings of my bleeding heart but also stokes the METAL RIFFS OF MY SOOUUULLL - ahem, excuse me - The Price of a Soul is a fantastic one off, sequel, or insert into Descent into Avernus. One of my biggest beefs with Descent into Avernus is that it simply does not have enough roleplay in a badass setting with a badass concept. Well, if you are like me, than this here quest will solve that need for story in your Apocalypse Mad Max game. With beautiful layout, fantastic art, and a wonderful story all fit into 42 pages, The Price of a Soul takes you on a unique and exciting journey across the Nine Hells and across morality, romance, and more. Overall, any DM worth their dice should grab this adventure now. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Price of a Soul
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 168 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items