Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse $0.00
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
279 66
74 10
23 1
3 0
1 1
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2021 09:39:36

Brillliantly put together, this module was not only fun to run but also taught me a lot about how to present information. IT WAS SO EASY TO PROCESS, WHY CAN'T OFFICIAL MODULES BE THIS CLEAR TO RUN!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2021 15:39:20

Ran this as a 1 shot a couple of days ago. Unfortunately, the party got TPK'd in the last room of the adventure, as they showed no caution at any point in the session and ran out of spell slots, but everyone said they had a great time.

I was able to run it with about 30 minutes of prep and it all flowed very well. Would definitely recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Poncho R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2021 07:36:07

The premise, ideas and details of this adventure are too similar to the U1 - Sinister Secret of Saltmarch - while it's a nod for a classic series of modules from the 80's, there's many other creative avenues that could be pursued without drawing such a strong and easy 1:1 comparison to the original module, as well as the many opportunities to fill in the content gaps.

Ecology and illustration of the Eelfolk would be welcome to differenciate this from any other Picine species currently in publication - with the diverse classes offered in the module you can't help but assume an advanced civilization beyond nomadic hunters. Interestingly they require to breathe air?

The takeaway here is that the Saltmarch framework was remixed,ingedients were replaced with others on the shelf and it's up to the DM to fill in the blanks for the how's and why's.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I had actually not read Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh until the 5E revision of it in Ghosts of Saltmarsh, which arrived two years after I published this. Any similarity to the module is unintentional on my part, and perhaps down to the slimy nature of watery enemies and wet places!
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2020 10:04:25

I ran this module in the main campaign and enjoyed it! I'm not sure my players liked it so much because I killed the Beastmaster's pet but I managed to incorporate the death back into my campaign. I did get tripped up at one point, how the door in room 3 goes to area 5, but overall it's well done, with good NPC descriptions and motives for monsters laid out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Foo B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2020 06:25:41

After trying out several other downloaded adventures from a variety of sources, I think this one is extraordinary.

The Great:

  • excellent layout, easy to follow.
  • bullet points not paragraphs.
  • each area & encounter fits on exactly one page. no flipping around!
  • nice maps, excellent handouts & reference cards.

The Not Great:

  • railroad encounter path, almost no exploration or branches.
  • black & white morality. bad guys are here to destroy, so kill or be killed.

The Gripping Hand:

  • it's free.
  • I wish all adventures used this format.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2020 10:22:16

I'm going to echo what other reviewers have already alluded to. The standout feature is the emphasis on minimal preparation and at-a-glance format. From the layout of encounters to the roleplaying notes for NPCs, it's all very easy for a GM to run. Great format and a good story make for a winning formula for both players and GM.

Had such a good experience, I purchased other adventures from the Arcan Library.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Travis W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2020 00:20:44

Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse review This adventure is great for a one-shot or as part of a campaign (I haven't read the sequel yet though the authors other adventures are consistently good). I appreciate that many of the encounters have multiple solutions, and it's more nuanced than just diplomacy vs combat. For example, there is one encounter where Intimidate makes things worse no matter how high you roll because the characters are people who can't afford to lose face. I appreciate the thoughtful details packed into an easy-to-reference space.

Kelsey Dionne/Arcane Library review The most innovative thing about adventures by this author is the super slick format. Makes life really easy for the storyteller. Encounters fit on one page, all the relevant details are easy to spot. It cuts down on prep time and page turning.

You may be concerned that packing the encounter into such an efficient space would make the game superficial but I found there were numerous details that allowed me to expand the game. For example, NPCs have a brief description of the appearance, motivation, a link to their combat statistics, and usually they have a secret which the GM can use to enrich the encounter or ad lib future encounters.

If you like this adveture or style you should check out the authors website, https://www.thearcanelibrary.com/ there are other high quality adventures there. There is a mailing list with brief, interesting articles about game mastering. It is one of the few email messages I actually consistently read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Victor N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2020 13:44:22

This is a fun one-shot adventure that doesn't take a lot of preparation time from the DM, and can be dropped in to just about any campaign. I really appreciated the formatting which made it easy to read and find important info on the fly. [SPOILERS] There are some nice roleplaying opportunities in here on the docks at the beginning (my party loved Sheila Coppertree) and with Lucien in the Lighthouse, and the eelfolk's tendency to explode when they die made combat more interesting. My favorite part was probably the underwater combat with the sharks; I cued up the Jaws soundtrack just before the encounter and made the players really nervous!

If I had one complaint it would be about the final encounter. The temple area is one giant room filled with about a dozen eelfolk, which made for a long slog of a combat. It didn't help that one of our PCs just ran into the room and alerted them all; it might have gone better if they had attempted some stealth and subterfuge. Having our tank paladin almost die from a lightning bolt attack was a thrilling moment, but the rest was a bit tedious, as the party laid down an area of Spike Growth and the eelfolk laid down Fog to block any movment around the room.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joseph T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2020 21:35:57

This campaign was really fun, both my players and I had a good time and didn't have any problems. We really liked everything.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2020 14:22:30

Great little adventure!

My players all blew thier wad, as it were, early on, and thus had a bit of difficulty with the final encounter, but the flow to the adventure was great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2020 21:06:39

I really liked this adventure. It had a fresh feel to it. I will definately pay $$$ for the follow up adventure for my players and their characters.

I liked the eelfolk. What I learned in this game is I need to work my monster tactics better, so I will be a better DM for having played this adventure.

The best part was the easy peasy way the adventure was laid out. Best layout I have ever seen. I give five stars for my review.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2020 18:47:20

A fun oneshot adventure that can be easily stitched into any campaign! I love the Arcane Library writing style, it makes running adventures at a glance and on short notice easy and fun! I can't wait to run this one again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2020 22:32:41

Tight plotting and organization combined with a clear story make this one a winner. This is the sort of adventure I love--no fat or superfluous backstory, easy to drop in to almost any campaign, and everything in the adventure has a clear purpose. Very well written and easy to pick up for the DM. I'm looking forward to Kelsey's next adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Akav A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2020 13:42:07

This was a fun adventure that ran smoothly. None of the fights were overwhelming or uninteresting, and there were good opportunities for roleplay and treasure hunting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2020 17:51:52

I loved this adventure. I dropped it into the Essentials Kit as my party went up and down the sword coast. The NPCs are built out, the maps are fantastic, and the adventure is excellent. If you're on the fence, BUY THIS!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 78 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items