Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories















Back
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse $0.00
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
339 76
90 9
31 1
4 0
1 1
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2022 23:09:51

Really well-written and well-organized adventure. The layout is fantastic. The story and creatures included are original and creative. This is one of the best short adventures for 5e out there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2022 05:54:33

Superb stuff, loved it so much it inspired me to write my own side quest. Really nice layout (which I tried to mimic). Totally easily usable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Badger B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2022 17:21:15

What an amazing module

  1. It made very little assumption for the GM to run it.
  2. The artwork was incredibly.
  3. It was very well laid out.
  4. It reads incredibly well.
  5. It is self contained. [Everything you need to run it].
  6. Tight and enjoyable storyline.
  7. Mechanically great [good rules thoughts]

You might thing that adventures like this are common. Sadly they are not. This adventure should be used as the gold standard of things to include in a published adventure, how to write, the artwork, etc. It is worth getting this adventure to study it, just so as you can see "How its done"

Thank you so very much for such a great thing you have created!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2022 09:50:07

This is a fantastic campaign! I needed something to run for a beach vacation with friends, and this was perfect. It's very well written and organized. This is an awesome choice for a first time DM!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2022 21:05:41

Half my group was unable to play today. I remembered looking this over when I dowloaded it, and decided I would give this a try as a one shot for my four players who were there. They each quickly threw together a 5th level character and we were off! With essentially no prep, I ran the adventure. Overall, excluding a couple of breaks, we finished in about 6 hours of play. I didn't adjust much. Was essentially a hair's breadth away from a TPK when a lucky nat 20 on a death saving throw turned things around in the final chamber.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2022 10:26:24

Fantastic adventure! It wove seamlessly into my overarching custom campaign and provided the perfect seqway for the party to transition into the maritime/pirate outpost section of my story. The maps, monster stats/descriptions and story hooks were well crafted. The format of the adventure was a great change as well, providing consice and clear information for me to use as the DM to convey to the party quickly and efficiently to keep the pace of the game moving smoothly!

I can't wait to see more from you and my players can't either!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bo B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2022 01:45:12

Great adventure! Particularly a big fan of the maps.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brad B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2021 05:58:43

I found this adventure a good fit for characters with a Coastal Background, especially for my character. As a Coastal "Anti-hero" of some noteriety, my character was a 5th level Yuan-ti Sorlock. As a Power Gamer, this adventure proved to be extremely deadly for a Solo 5th level character, but the captured Captain and the last minute resuce by the captive forced to use a magic item for nefarious purposes brought the adventure to a close just moments befroe certain death, making the adventure most enjoyable... I just love adventures that bring the character to the point of death where ingenuity is the only factor in coming out alive... if you do too then this is your adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcel G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2021 18:52:42

Having a great time running this as an add on to my Ghosts of Saltmarsh campaign for my players. Having the extra monster in the stat blocks for a higher APL is a nice addition, so I didnt have to homebrew something for my party. It is written in such an easy style to follow and reference without having to do much prep.
Great if your party suddenly wants to head out to sea at a moments notice. I have now run a couple of Arcane Library adventures and they are always fun, challenging and easy to run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2021 14:23:30

I am new to being a DM and these premade adventures really help. I got this one and ended up getting a few off the website after since I really like the way they are structured. I'm not super familiar with a lot of the mechanics and spells in 5e so its nice to take some of the stress of running the world while managing players. Really good content for a free adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2021 09:39:36

Brillliantly put together, this module was not only fun to run but also taught me a lot about how to present information. IT WAS SO EASY TO PROCESS, WHY CAN'T OFFICIAL MODULES BE THIS CLEAR TO RUN!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2021 15:39:20

Ran this as a 1 shot a couple of days ago. Unfortunately, the party got TPK'd in the last room of the adventure, as they showed no caution at any point in the session and ran out of spell slots, but everyone said they had a great time.

I was able to run it with about 30 minutes of prep and it all flowed very well. Would definitely recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Poncho R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2021 07:36:07

The premise, ideas and details of this adventure are too similar to the U1 - Sinister Secret of Saltmarch - while it's a nod for a classic series of modules from the 80's, there's many other creative avenues that could be pursued without drawing such a strong and easy 1:1 comparison to the original module, as well as the many opportunities to fill in the content gaps.

Ecology and illustration of the Eelfolk would be welcome to differenciate this from any other Picine species currently in publication - with the diverse classes offered in the module you can't help but assume an advanced civilization beyond nomadic hunters. Interestingly they require to breathe air?

The takeaway here is that the Saltmarch framework was remixed,ingedients were replaced with others on the shelf and it's up to the DM to fill in the blanks for the how's and why's.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I had actually not read Sinister Secret of Saltmarsh until the 5E revision of it in Ghosts of Saltmarsh, which arrived two years after I published this. Any similarity to the module is unintentional on my part, and perhaps down to the slimy nature of watery enemies and wet places!
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2020 10:04:25

I ran this module in the main campaign and enjoyed it! I'm not sure my players liked it so much because I killed the Beastmaster's pet but I managed to incorporate the death back into my campaign. I did get tripped up at one point, how the door in room 3 goes to area 5, but overall it's well done, with good NPC descriptions and motives for monsters laid out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Skyhorn Lighthouse
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Foo B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2020 06:25:41

After trying out several other downloaded adventures from a variety of sources, I think this one is extraordinary.

The Great:

  • excellent layout, easy to follow.
  • bullet points not paragraphs.
  • each area & encounter fits on exactly one page. no flipping around!
  • nice maps, excellent handouts & reference cards.

The Not Great:

  • railroad encounter path, almost no exploration or branches.
  • black & white morality. bad guys are here to destroy, so kill or be killed.

The Gripping Hand:

  • it's free.
  • I wish all adventures used this format.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 87 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items