Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:3.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 5
0 25
2 9
0 4
1 0
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nathan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 08:08:06

great fun and well paced zhent has the best mission



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2018 20:14:22

Really enjoyed this set of mini-adventures. I worked it into my Tomb of Annihilation campaign by having the quest giver provide the location of all five possible sites early on. As the party ventured through the jungles of Chult, I'd have them discover one of the locations to break up the constant random encounters of the jungle. The third mission was the most difficult to run, I had difficulty running the conversation portion of the mission, but the combat there was a lot of fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Al D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2018 11:56:40

This module contains funny ideas for mini-adventures. This is new experience for DMs and players. I think some parts can contain fewer fights, but it still can be played in 5 hours slot. Best is OG, EE and Z parts, my players enjoed playing it.

This review is for the DM-quest for the important characters because the rules 8 season is bad.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jody J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 21:35:16

A nice variety of scenarios and locations to introduce the party to Tier 2.

Roleplay, investigation, and combat are varied and can effect the end result.

Thankfully the lack of permanent items in these scenarios is balanced by very good gold rewards which can help counteract the serious lack of gold in the Hardcover and earlier adventures.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2018 15:54:40

SPOILER-FREE REVIEW I have played and ran these adventures. These are five intro adventures for tier 2 set in Chult. They have a great connecting backstory and can pretty mcuh be played in any order. If you don't get to go through all five immediately, it's not a problem. In fact, if you only use 1 or 2 of them in a campaign, you really aren't losing anything from the story. they can make great last-minute fill-in adventires when needed. Great use of the factions to connect the backstories here. Good treasure rewards, with items appropriate to the tier and length of the adventures. Some pretty fun role-playing based story awards as well. My only two issues with the adventures are: 1) Duration - I don't think any of these can really be accomplished in an hour. 90 minutes would not be a problem fo reach, but 60 minutes is definately not realistic. 2) Maps - Although you can figure it out/wing it, it would be nice if the maps for adventures 1, 2, and 4 were labelled with the floors/rooms/titles from the appropriate adventure sections. This should be a standard rule of thumb for maps. Overall, a lot of fun and a great tier 2 module to keep at the ready for filling in as GM on local game store AL days. The multiple adventures make it easy to cover anywhere from 90 minutes to 7 hours or so of gaming time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ronald L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2018 12:38:56

Normally I don't like 1 hour adventures. This set of T2 encounters has mechanical issues -- I had to 'hack' extra short rests in several times, most notably on the Hermit's tower -- but somehow manages to overcome my usual complaints. They're fun, bite-sized adventures you can fit in where needed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by FJ A. I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2018 14:12:50

All 5 1-hour adventures were well balanced with combat and role playing. Some were tougher than others for the combat. Most of them took longer than an hour. All give the feeling that the players are in a jungle setting. The death curse didn't come into play as my players did not drop to 0 hps (close in part 5). I highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 18:22:39

timing wise, they take longer than an hour on average, but when ran as one they combine for a great adventur



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alexis G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2018 17:05:03

I've both played these adventures and run them. Typical of the 1 hour adventures they take far longer to run than 1 hour. Prioritize which adventure based on which factions party members belong to. Unlike with tier 1, there is no overarching plot, and the quest giver doesn't seem to get mentioned again (I have not seen the t4 adventures yet). None of the locations seem to come up in other adventures that I have seen.

1 - I ran this one but did not play it. It was one of my favourites. I would recommend using the time saving options (I did this for all of the sessions I ran, though it doesn't make sense for other enemies to explode). It was a good opportunity for gross descriptions which the players ran with. 2-This one can take time due to lots of combat. When I played it was completely derailed by a druid with a staff of the woodlands conjuring a wall of thorns. It's one of the few adventures that requires medical skill proficiency, though failure doesn't seem to have much consequence. 3- this one can take a ton of time if charm/control attempts by the NPCs are successful (which is likely with the trap). I was expecting an adventure to get into more detail about some of the questions raised at the end. I think this was a missed opportunity. Characters without ranged attacks might have a hard time, but a party with lots of immunity to charm might have too easy a time. 4-I really enjoyed this one, but again it can take a lot of time with a BBEG spellcaster using charm/control. The entry can take a long time to figure out. When I played it the DM penalized us for finding other working solutions, unlike the text directed. The squares on the floor could lead to a quick TPK through accidental friendly fire, but didn'tcome into play in my experience. 5- I did not play or run this adventure. It's notable for the hobgoblin iron shadows, which I haven't run into elsewhere.

Overall this was ok. Like someone else said, I like the idea of 1 hour adventures of a higher tier, I just wish they actually were 1 hour, and seemed to have more connection to the rest of the season.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2018 17:35:07

Some alright adventures. As a module, there's pretty much no connection between the mini-adventures so they feel more like a bunch of side quests. There's also no clear and concise ending which could leave the group a bit unsatisfied if ran all at once.
The adventures themselves are pretty fun, though easily take about 2 hours each to complete. The Gold rewards in these adventures are pretty nice from a player perspective but one thing I noticed was how it was pretty much impossible to go under the Max XP limit. My group of 5 easily got about double that in a lot of these missions.

Overall pretty good but nothing special.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2018 20:32:54

This are good stand alone mini-adventures however the story feels very weird and disconnected to anything else in season 7. Beats me why every task requires a ten-day journey through the jungle for any reason other than ensuring that characters who are wasting away from the death curse die.

Still there's plenty of fun to be had in these adventures!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by david w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2018 14:29:52

Overall these are fine, nothing special, nothing terrible. I do like the idea of the minadventures for the tier 2 players, but I felt the rewards were lacking. Not a lot of motivation for them to do the stuff. Mostly, these are run as a checkbox to finish the season.

As others have mentioned, they take way more than an hour to complete, so plan accordingly.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mathieu P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 19:40:00

The adventures are interesting but not much.

What I found the most a shame is that there is no conclusion to this adventure. DDAL07-01 had 4 miniadventures and the fifth was the conclusion. That was pretty great.

Here you are sent on a mission to 5 spots and you never hear of the outcome of it... this is a letdown for me who really like the story behind the modules.

But what makes it 4 stars and not 3 is that taken as stand alones, the mini-adventures are really fun to run and to play. Nice mechanics and everything.

Also great to have tier 2 adventure that you can run on a short time-slot.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2018 19:57:12

These are five very solid adventures, but this should be listed as five two hour adventures not one hour each. They have rich role play potential, dampened by the time constraints.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anders T. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 17:06:43

5 good missions. As allways these missions take way more than 1 hour to complete unless you wanna "boardgame" the RP part. the maps was not very well marked so more time was needed to pair the descriptions to the map.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 43 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items