Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Bulette Storm - FREE Adventure $0.00
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
22 11
1 1
2 0
0 0
0 0
Bulette Storm - FREE Adventure
Click to view
Bulette Storm - FREE Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jenna F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2018 23:54:57

This is really solid. I used it as what was essentially a side quest, and it fit into my (weird) world pretty damn well. As someone who builds their own campaign, I had a bit of a difficult time keeping tracking of who knew what and who did what, but that was maybe on me? I don't ever really run pre-written stuff, so... ANYhow - the key thing is that my players loved it, and I had about 90% of what I needed. The other 10% is ALWAYS improvising, yeah? Thanks for putting this together.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulette Storm - FREE Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2018 11:12:27

I don't normally review DM's Guild Material unless I can really recommend it and with Bulette Storm I really do!

The adventure contains great NPC's and solid story hooks. If any of them outlive your adventure they could be an excellent part of any longterm campaign. The veteran Brady and the old adventurer Gwent could be allies or an impetus for later adventures. The farmer and his wife come across like real folk.

Chris Bissette has created a great adventure and some great maps.

The interior art is also well done and even contains some from illustrator & map maker Deven Rue.

You won't regret getting this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulette Storm - FREE Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by halden N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/14/2018 16:21:37

I had to emergency DM this and it was not a bad mission, everyone had fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bulette Storm - FREE Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Will H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2018 16:12:35

Very well put together, perfect one-shot material or mid-campaign side quest, using one of D&Ds less utilised but interesting (and slightly daft) monsters. The interactive pdf is an ambitious attempt to break the norms, but even if like me it doesnt reallt suit the way you DM you get standard versions that outclass most selfmade modules. Great content. Please make sure to play up the JAWS angle (i introduced a scarred veteran who claimed to have been on a trade caravan stranded in a field of bulettes, listening as his companions were eaten one by one. Make your own comparisons but award advantage to any player that insists the mayor has to close the beach/festival, dammit)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulette Storm - FREE Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Leonardo D. M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2018 17:08:43

I dunno how much my words means, cause I recently restart DMing utilizing 5e I used this One-shot as a back-up plan cause the party i was running had some problems and cuoldn't come, at least not all of them. So I found myself only 2 members in a party of 5... so i rapidly search for a one-shot and i found this. I need to say the title got me at 90% for the joke "Bullet - Bulette" The adventure is simple yet complex: PC has a lot of choice to make and NPC are detailed I personally found very funny and well rounded-up, even though i tryed my best reading it in less than 10 minutes



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulette Storm - FREE Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2017 10:04:38

Bulette Storm

The Details

This adventure is designed for tier 1 play, (4th level characters). Setup as a side quest, you can run the entirety of Bulette Storm in a single session of play. The adventure can easily be finished in a single four hour session, depending on which encounters and components the DM wants to use (the adventure itself suggests between 3 and 5 hours). This adventure has a fairly straightforward and tight timeline. Things are happening around the characters and if they choose to dawdle or don’t hit the ground running, the consequences could be dire.

The Hook

Concord is a small town with a vibrant harvest festival that stimulates the economy and draws in neighboring towns. There have been sightings of a bulette in the area and local hunters have taken to the woods and have brought back a dead bulette as proof that the creature has been slain. The mayor isn’t so sure and would like some real adventurers to check out the situation and make sure that everything is safe..

The Rub

The town refuses to cancel their festival for any reason and they represent a ticking clock for the characters to manage. If the characters aren’t quick on their investigation or miss some essential clues, it’s very possible that any lingering traces of Bulette show up during the festival and wreck the town. The characters will have to manage their time as carefully as their hit points when running through this adventure.

The Rating

This was an easy 5 star adventure for me. It features a monster that doesn’t get a lot of play, the bulette. If the adventure sounds similar to you, you should have fun with your players by playing some very specific cello music while they are looking for the critter. It plays fast and requires some thinking but doesn’t bog the game down with trying to solve incredibly complex puzzles. I am a huge fan of this adventure. (Also, the adventure comes in 5 different formats including a fully interactive PDF version, plus a map pack).

Conclusions Bulette Storm is a fun little side quest to inject a change of pace into your game. This is a good diversion to an existing campaign or a wonderful way to jumpstart a new one. I like the adventure’s pacing and layout, and i enjoy the pacing of it. Make sure you check it out, and it’s a free adventure to add to your files. I can think of a lot of different times and places where i could use this adventure and i hope you can find something to do with it. Game On, Game Fans



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulette Storm - FREE Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2017 20:00:37

I just downloaded this today, and after a quick read-through was easily able to drop a truncated version of the story into my ongoing solo campaign with my daughter who is playing a 5th level Fighter (Eldritch Knight)

The design is sharp, storytelling is fantastic, and the adventure is just plain fun.

Pick up a copy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulette Storm - FREE Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2017 15:12:22

This is a great drop-anywhere adventure. I especially like that it intentionally lulls the PCs into a false sense of security before throwing a huge wollop at them right at the end. There's no reason not to pick this up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulette Storm - FREE Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mike G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2017 01:14:03

Extremely well laid out, looking forward to running this



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulette Storm - FREE Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2017 23:40:05

I've yet to run it, but I'm impressed by the formatting and content of the adventure. It's on the list for one night events at my table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulette Storm - FREE Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tim H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2017 18:30:00

(Conflict of Interest Declaration: I am one of Chris's Patreons)

This is a fantasic side quest/adventure which has earned a spot in my 'why the hell are you going that way?' folder. Don't skimp on the interactive PDF file - this could be a game changer in how adventures are published in the digital age allowing DM's to use all of their screen real estate.

That this is free is just the absolute cherry on top of the sundae.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulette Storm - FREE Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mike H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2017 13:38:20

I was one of the playtesters on this adventure. Even in an early state it was a ton of fun to run - we got through it in about 3 hours, and everyone had a blast! It's well written and really nicely presented, with great maps and artwork. I haven't seen the screen optimized version yet but if Chris' blog post about what he intended is anything to go by it's going to be incredible. The fact that this adventure and everything on Loot The Room is free is incredible and Chris definitely deserves everyone's support! I know me and the rest of my group can't wait to see what he does next.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items