Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
CCC-YLRA01-03 Bound By Duty
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2020 23:45:57

"Bound by Duty" has alot of enjoyable material in it; a rich story- and one that is refreshingly different. There were alot of different encounters designed in the adventure. Time constraints will end up doing the adventure and the players a disservice by having to glean over encounters that would allow for RP-heavy players. There is plenty of combat options to provide. My players were a little disappointed that the ghost ship did not offer much in the way of exploration. It can be played a few times over and with different endings. I would certainly run this again! I did see that the editing team was also associated with 'Down the River of Snakes' so I do not find it surprising that it would give you similar replayability and enjoyability. Another great work by Jay Africa. A must buy!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-YLRA01-03 Bound By Duty
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-CIC-16 Open Ambitions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2020 22:53:59

I had the opportunity to run this adventure tonight. Had two drop out on me and only had three players. Even with the adjustment down to Very Weak my players had a great time! They actaully partleyed with the IronClaw Orcs and traded 'metal'. They ended up not needing what they recieved in return (wont spoil). They actually made the Percpetion Check to get into Fangjaws Hold through the "other" way. Betwen the Legendary Action and the Lair Action of Tor'Vlexis at Very Weak, I tuned down the eye beams to one per turn, because I sensed that the players were still overmatched. They were challenged. An Inspiration used by the last standing player (one was turned to stone, the other placed asleep) resisted the Charm Ray and this player in turn was able to deliver the defeating blow to the main antagonist! Great dungeon crawl with a great swath of orcs and the lightning storm was a suitable environmental threat (I'm a fan of storms). This one is worth the purchase. Add it to your collection!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-CIC-16 Open Ambitions
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL09-15 Maddening Screams
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2020 16:48:05

I ike the premise behind this series. Since I started this trilogy for my players right after they returned from the hells with Elturel (They did not redeem Zariel), I had them meet Dara and company there in Elturel.. and then Dara explained to them her quest and its importance. I allowed them to use their renown item to "rent" a war machine to transport them to The Canyon. This is where it gets confusing.. It takes the party six hours to get through the tunnels (Dara had the wards of suffering). But how long does it take them to find the tunnels? Many of the dangers in the canyon (but outside of the tunnel) result in saves every hour. I just had them make a group Survival checks every hour to see if they find a tunnel, and if they fail, then they make the howling wind and falling rocks checks. I also had them make a group Stealth checks every hour to avoid being seen by the creatures hunting them. Those Howling Winds can concern a party pretty quick. I bypassed the first set of tunnels (wards of suffering) .. the mechanics for them were troublesome, especially the significance of the clues. This whole part will need a hard look by DMs to figure out how to make the randomness work.. consider not using the tunnel clues; maybe after X amount of tunnels have them arrive at the glyph and move on to Scene C. There I rolled high on the tunnels. They navigated them and dealt with the glyphs had us run short on time. I had to end with a quick narrative, ignoring the wave attacks. The players still found it enjoyable. They were a bit surprised when the advenure ended with a cliffhanger. I feel like there should be an alternate Wrap-Up for those not adventuring in the other modules. My rating is based on the confusing tunnel mechanics in Part One, Scene B. and the area information in Part One that seems very important to the environment, but is not completley captured here. It felt incomplete. Other than that, the players has a good time. Run it all as a series if you can!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL09-15 Maddening Screams
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-UK-4 Bourne of Candles
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2020 16:16:43

I finally had a chance to run this!

I let me players give me the adventure hooks, I only asked that they consider that they came to find each other company and that they were collectively to deliver this missive from the Lords Alliance to The Bourne of Candles. Their interaction with Madge Figgy was entertaining (even for me), and they took to the adventure quickly. One of my players commented that, "It was one of the Top Ten adventures that I played in". My players fell into that, "We rescued her, the Bourne is sure to see us now"-thinking that the adventure was over.. but then ...? Anyway, this adventure told a great story and presents it in a way that DMs can immerse the players with little effort. Well done. If you are on the fence about picking it up... get off the fence! A must in any DMs Tier One catalog!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-UK-4 Bourne of Candles
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-UBCON2020-02-Realm of the Brand
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/15/2020 22:20:09

I found many things in this adventure challenging to present without more brevity and clarity. The background premise is interesting. But before the Call to Action (CTA), there are no adventure hooks provided, players start on a sinking ship. DMs are advised to feign checks-fabricate checks for players to give them the fasaud of hope-the checks simply to eat time? You can gain up to 3 lvls of exhaustion before the CTA ends! Best to have the adventure start on the ship with the captain and crew to avoid mutiny at your table.

The adventure captures a sea-trek to an island where a cure can be acquired to rid several coastal villages of a plague. During travel, there are tasks that grant advantage to checks that don't manifest with DM fiat. The module recommends downtime activities which seem "out of reach" by the rules. In some cases, players will not have the DT to do so. Players may have limited opportunity if they suffered exhaustion levels in the CTA. The island layout is simple; however, crucial information is lost ( i won;t say what) if the party does not speak a certain language-unless magical means exist. The cliff tower that players ascend to get to Episode 3., is presented poorly. Climb distances and limitations are not provided. Episode 3. has a very creative diesease puzzle-one of its highlights; but, there is no meta to go along with the dieseases. (They get no save against them-they automatically get them?). The final encounter seems "one-sided". Player parley ends with the heroes fleeing (I won't say why), dying quickly (I won't say why), or guided to a very descriptive ending, given the cure and allowed to leave. It seems to happen very quick. There's little player agency in the narrrative. DMs will need to do a strong meta-review of this adventure, flesh out the CTA, the end of Episode 2 and the beginning of Episode 3. before presenting.

My overall rating is based on the above observations and a spotty attempt at formatting compliance. It will make reading it slighty challenging. Even so, this is a great premise for an adventure. It just needs to be fine-tuned.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-UBCON2020-02-Realm of the Brand
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
I began the adventure in the style of Robert E. Howard with the heroes already in peril. I waste no time before putting the heroes in peril and making them respond to the challenge. This is different from traditional D&D modules, but I stand by the idea of starting strong and not messing around at page one.
CCC-UBCON01-03 Grime and Gears
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2020 22:20:46

I just finished reading all three of this series in prepping them for local play. The cover was pretty neat, I'm not too much on frills but the cover looked fun to put together. The background is the best out of the three in the series. I havent seen modron up front in a mod since the memorable CORE-1 series from BMG. I like how there is a generic adventure hook and then some specific ones. The others in the series fall short here. The CTA is great. A break away from the tavern trope is good. A battle of tall-tales (BS-ing) was surprising segue into the CTA. Boxed text adds to the settings, having players navigate a modron camp I think will be frustrating and fun. It does seem like players are just subject to a "pass the buck" by the modrons. I like that Pillars of Play bring a closure option to combat, an alternative options to bypass areas of camp, and give the players the option of attempting to speak to the modron and be exposed to their heirarchy in a social manner! I like how the designer reminds DMs to watch time ..even at cons I sometimes get swept up in the game and forget that I'm on players schedules. And encounter/hazard table fits a tunnel trek well, and I like how the modrons that you travel with risk themselves right along the players. I'd tell DMs to watch out the encounters- alot of them cause exhaustion. The worse case scenario- players may end up at the end with up to four levels of exhaustion before dealing with the modron menace. Even still. its a good adventure. It is clear that this designer has some experience in design and writing. I hope that Johnathan Kennedy-Ellis will continue to mentor other designers. I've seen some great effort in this series! Add this one to your collection!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-UBCON01-03 Grime and Gears
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for the review! I hope the adventure holds up when you bring it to a table. Let me know either way!
CCC-UBCON01-01 Back Home Again
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2020 21:48:47

Just from reading UBCON01-01, I enjoyed the background. The adventure hooks seem a bit specific and one of them has a great tie to location history. The Call to Action is enjoyable but granting treasure before the adventure really starts is never a good thing. Part One has a bit of a snafu in the taphouse concerning tables spacing and difficult terrain in the same sentence. Part One is all social and exploration pillars. It seems like a map is needed somewhere because it offers a Cartography proficiency check to learn geographic knowledge. Part Two’s beginning is confusing. It describes dealing with the enemies narratively vice rolling dice and captures how arduous your travel to the area of the final encounter with a dice roll that forces players to expend HD. The loss of hit dice is something I have not seen in other adventures yet. It’s frequently Con Saves for exhaustion levels. You may want to consider adjusting the damage on the pits .. a Lower APL party are doomed if they fall in any of the pits. A mage and a necromancer will be a challenge to most tier one parties and be the demise of a lower level party quick. The big takeaway in Part Two is that if your player have buy-in at the CTA, then they will do so when it comes to allying with The Red Wizards here. When you finally face the undead horde, I like how they have deus ex machina if its needed. It could be depending on how challenging the undead horde is. I don’t believe that I’ve seen anything by this designer before, but I hope with more opportunity the designer will add more brevity and clarity to narratives and Area Information and get a second set of eyes on it during edits. There is some good content here to give players a great time! Good Gaming!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-UBCON01-01 Back Home Again
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDALCCC-DRUIDS-03 In Tents
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2020 13:17:02

As I was reading this module to see if I would run it locally, I noted a few things: -It made me chuckle and flat out laugh many times. -I like the premise-the environment is a large battle camp ... not hard to map or struggle to describe .. -It has different adventure paths that are there. Yes, each path is linear, but there are random encounter tables that add to variety of what lies under each tent flap. For those DMs that feel like adding their own touch, you could use the designers framework to add other table results

  • The cotton balls for clouds suggestion is absolutely clever! I thought, "You know what-why didn;t I think of that?"

The spirit of this adventure takes something that would seem ordinary to adventurers (most equate camps to RESTs and having to come up with WATCH orders and are more focused on resetting everything and not wanting to roll that encounter that messes with their REST) and turns it into somethign extrodanary. I felt like there was alot of exploration and social pillars, but when you have a mist that is always around as the antagonist, that options for your "choppy-chop" and "pew-pew" players is always there too.

I've said enough. Check it out. I look forward to other offerings from this designer!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDALCCC-DRUIDS-03 In Tents
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the favorable review, Marcello. DM's always need a good laugh before preparing an adventure, right, and I'm glad you found room to play with what I wrote. That was my intent, and I hope others will want to play with it as well. Cheers!
Candlekeep Map - Personal Use
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2020 11:47:08

Wow. This map is colorful and magnificently detailed. I'm not a very big optics DM, but I can appreciate the amount of effort that went into it. I intend to get it printed and framed! You should too! It's worth more in my opinion!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Candlekeep Map - Personal Use
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so much Marcello! Please be sure to show me the framed pic! <3
EB-04 The Third Protocol
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2020 21:37:47

Hi all! I ran this adventure at its premiere and my players had a blast. I am a big fan of the Oracle of War as a creative artifact. No need to hink twice about adding htis one to your collection! Your Eberron players will be happy you did!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EB-04 The Third Protocol
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-MMT 01-03: Honorable Dissent - A Price of the Red War Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2020 22:00:44

I read this to have something prepped for my T1 players. I like premise of it. Taking a lost boy back to his family, with a twist. I made a lot more notes than normal. Here are some of the things that as a DM. I noticed.

I was deeply moved by the Adventure Primer .. quoting Gandhi in a D&D Adventure? Never seen it before. Good stuff. The background seems like it should focus on the boy, the father, and The Red War. It feels like they are glossed over. However, a good read over the material should give you a feel of all the NPC players in the adventure.

I had to draw lines to seperate paragraphs that I believe should be spaced apart. Makes it easier to read. Consider working with players to come up with adventure hooks on your own. The ones included aren't the most enticing.

CTA. The players have the opportunity to see Elian's notes if they ask. The Perception Check here seems pointless as does the mention of citrus smell that comes from the notes. I found nowhere in the adventure where this scenty paper has any bearing. If there is significance, it certainly is not present in the adventure. I think the papers and the citrus smell can be RP icebreakers for characters to bond with Elian, and I intend to give all of that out freely to players.

Episode 2. "Passive Perception of 15+ might get the feeling of being followed". Since this episode does have the players ambushed by two groups of people I think that the Passive Perception should be enough, but an opposed check Perception vs Stealth check could be something you consider to make this work. Read this encounter carefully. What you have here is a Players vs. Thugs vs. Soldiers. I don't know of any party that is going to give up the boy to either of them. If they are doing what they are supposed to, you may end up with a battle royale. Thugs and hobgoblins can be nasty, but the hobgoblins attack non-lethally. The Social Pillar of Play hints at non-combat scenarios, but does not provide check DCs. The Exploration Pillar seems to call an for an Insight Check ... or giving players that information. The only other glaring thing here is I noted the adventure called for a DC 20 Str Check to pull Elian away to be given to either opposing party here. That boy's stronger than alot of PC's! The adventure does not seem to progress unless the players do not give the boy up. Elian opens up and provides some info after the battle. If you do not get to this point, then it will take some ingenuity to determine how PC's acquire this information (to include handouts).

Episode 3a. I was a little bit confused; The CTA has players believing they need to take the boy to Kalen Forstrupp at the Beacon Tavern and Inn, but the PC's are at the Still Waters Inn and there to meet Phineas Forstrupp .. not sure where Kalen or this other tavern is at. Not a showstopper. It looks all NPCs here are commoners with the exception of Shady Thayan Expatriates, which are Thayan soldiers. The next scene seems a bit straight forward

Episode 3b. is pretty straightforward.

Episode 4 seems to work once you figure out what creatures are involved in the potential encounters. The Veteran's Men are described as "Two Thayan soldiers", which leaves me head scratching and wondering whether or not this is the same as Thayan Warriors or Soldiers (hobgoblins) in the Appendix or are they Veteran's Men (Beserkers)? . In this part a Veteran is referred to as a Gladiator in another paragraph. There is no Gladiator stat block, but there is a Veteran block. You'll need to straighten this out according to APL before you have a party walk into a battle that they will be stuck with. I think one Veteran and two berserkers will probably prevent most of the party from seeing the end of the adventure. Consider switching the berserkers with hobgoblin soldiers.

My rating is based on these notes plus the clear challenge this module has in its editing/formatting oversights. There is alot that could be mitigated with more clarity and attention to detail; however, an experienced DM or a DM that reads this module ahead of time can adjust to make the module plot flow to player enjoyment. The premise of this module is a great story that does capture a harsh reality of war (or The Red War, in this case). Consider picking it up!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-MMT 01-03: Honorable Dissent - A Price of the Red War Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL09-14 The Vast Emptiness of Grace
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2020 23:13:10

This is my favorite adventure in the series! Great elements of design and a fitting end to this T3 Series. Good swath of adventure hooks. I always love learning new vocabulary, so when I came across the word "pillock", I used contextual clues to decipher its meaning and was in the general area. LOL! I appreciate the opportunity for learning. I like that the module makes an effort to "include" flying players in Part One. Martyr's Alley even made me cringe (and I'm running the adventure, LOL!)! Lasty, I appreciate the nods to Illmater in the descriptive presented ... I even felt immersion in the description of The Wards of Suffering as well as the freindly reminder by the designer to DMs to "... impose a challenge.." to players. The designer also provides DM tips that address potential party splitting.

Another great adventure that is a great additon to any DMs T3 Library. Congrats!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL09-14 The Vast Emptiness of Grace
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL09-13 The Swarmed Heart
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2020 17:32:32

I had the opportunity to play this adventure. I perished, but it was enjoyable. I hope to bring the enjoyment that I had to my players. As I prepped this adventure, I did not note too many things that caught my eye, but I'll share what did.

First off, good story. This series so far has gotten some good background going with it. This plot appears compartmented enough that you could insert it to any point in BG:DiA that starts in Mahadi's Wandering Emporium, or if you are looking at running this in non-organized play, you could have Lulu also be a guest in this particular hellwasp nest along with the heart and the other beings in the nest.

I like the bottom line of the Call to Action, but if you are pressed for time, then consider dropping the combat and turn it into something that the players are drawn to at its end, or have Mahadi's minions aid in the battle and bring it to its conclusion. there are some options there for you. If not pressed for time an encounter in the Infernal Rapture restaraunt has the potential to always be fun.

I like learning.. especially new vocabulary. frass, effluvium and cruor. I appreciate the designers use of the words. I admittedly had no idea what they meant, and looked them up. Now I do. Thank you!

Part One has you capturing a draining journey over the Avernian hellscape, but does provide some random encounters to help give the trek some substance, if you wish. I am curious why there is no Con Save for exhaustion level here every hour of travel, like in the hardcover (and I beleive in this modules predecessor). It's not a show stopper. The Skarback Company are an interesting bunch of NPCs.

When you get into Part Two, this is a well put together mini-dungeon crawl. This is a nest you're running ... expect the common theme. I really like the big baddie encounter at the end. I intend to give it an Aliens finale feel. I didn't see any 'Adjusting the Scene' sidebar for this encounter, but I could see the removal of lair actions, perhaps rolling damage vs. taking average damage, adding or losing hellwasps as options. Shouldnt be an issue to manage. Two potions of climbing are missing from the Magic Item Rewards in the Rewards Section. I intend to add it to what is there.

To get 'The Final Temptation' in Part Two you either have to acquire the parchment that you can find during the crawl, or maybe have already earned Mahadi's favor in the Call to Action. Seems reasonable that this could be an option for you if any of your players are already persona non grata (No Exceptions!-branded!). Again a return to Infernal Rapture can turn into a long one, so watch your timing, because I believe that the ending in 'A Freinds Return' is significant enough to present to players, especailly ones that will be playing the series.

The Story Award (outside of the return of Mahadi's giving-you-the-boot award) is interesting enough.

My rating is based off of these noted items above and my previous enjoyment of playing it. It is well put together and should not be a challenge to present to players. There are opportunities for all the Pillars of Play. I look forward to seeing other works by this designer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL09-13 The Swarmed Heart
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL09-12 The Breath of Life
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2020 00:54:50

Hey All-sorry for the book. But I've committed myself this year to providing constructive feedback to all designers whose adventures I have the opportunity to present and offer some insight into how I have/will successfully present their works, in hopes that my player's experience is as enjoyable as I can make it and that perhaps this courtesy will be reciprocated at some point in my future design efforts.

I had a chance to play this adventure and it was enjoyable. I am a fan of RP, so it did not disappoint in that respect. I believe my DM breathed some life into it as well (no pun intended). Now, I as prep it for one of my groups, I saw a few things that I felt warrant mentioning.

I'm not really sure why the amount of charges in Soul Coin is important at all to the CTA. I prob won't even mention it. DMs-please read the Dramatis Personae at a minimum, unless you already have some knowledge of Mahadi's Traveling Emporium from BG:DiA or other adventures in Tier Two where The Emporium appears. The adventure can come to a screeching halt if players do not barter with Mahadi. Some of the terms seem reasonable for T3 characters; however, the bartering can also be overcome with players meeting one or two of the conditions for barter. Making the group check that the modules advises garners more insight into Mahadi and the galal, but do nothing to affect the terms offered by Mahadi. There appears to be no cause/incentive for even attempting the check other than being given more background into Mahadi and perhaps some fodder to use in RP in the Second Part of the adventure.

Part 2 gave me the feel of the DDOPEN 2018. Heavy RP and again a pat down that may rattle players feathers, but they will get a chance to hide weapons and the weapons are just being checked-in storage here, so they aren't being stolen. I would encourage DMs to read Appendix Three, present the guests as people that, "catch their eye", "bump into players" or have them overhear something that might appeal to their background or ideals, bonds, flaws, etc. I intend to use events from the BG:DiA hardcover or the other Tier Two adventures plots as gossip for the party. To set the players up with options to complete the adventures objective, be sure to engage them with the bulleted list in 'Use the Clues' section in Part Two and gauge your audience when you present the Qirroz option please. Escaping after the chalice has been lifted is relegated to one check like in Part One, but I think the designer did a good job of offering options for DMs to present Exploration and Social Pillars to gain some insight into things that can help them. Players already familiar with Mahadi's rules or some behaviors in BG:DiA, should know that combat in a gala filled with all manner of devils will not end well for them.

In Bonus Objective A, I thought we could be provided some insight into what the nature of the deal between Galabraga and Mahadi was. Since its not provided, I see it as an opportunity for DMs to add a little something of their own to the adventure. I appreciate that the designer has good adventure flow back to the main story line from both Bonus Objectives.

In Bonus Objective B. What is presented here could easily be captured in a chase using chase rules. I'm a little bit surprised its not presented as such, but this is easily remedied by a three to five round chase scene. Use the Chase Complications in BG:DiA for Infernal War Machines.... add a distance trigger, and the chase rules to escape, and I think that could also meet the spirit of the chase (pun intended this time). The Social Pillar of Play in this Bonus Objective seems to be a 'No Go' from the start. I don't see any player group giving up The Chalice after what they had to go through to get it, or giving up 25 souls coins that they probably gave up already to Mahadi to get to this point in the adventure. I did enjoy the No Exceptions! Story Award, I think that it is approriate tormenter and suitable consequence for the realm that these adventure take place in; however, the other story award in this adventure is devilishing brutal. I don't imagine players being too eager to continue their travels in Avernus in the throes of the exhaustive nightmare of these two story awards working in tandem on them. I'd be working with Mahadi to book the first flight back to the Prime Material PLANE (oh, there I go again).

Alright. Seriously, I do find this adventure an enjoyable read and I know my players will enjoy it too. This adventure provides opportunities for DMs to focus on NPC presentation and amplify descriptives to help with scene immersion. If your players are looking to just chop up evil devils, this is probably not the adventure for you. I'm not a fan of "One way out" meta (One check stops/impede/complicates adventure flow), but there is enough here to work with, meet the spirit of the story the designer presents, and end with entertained players. Pick this adventure up if you haven't already!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL09-12 The Breath of Life
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL09-08 In the Garden of Evil
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2020 12:59:51

I had a chance to play this adventure, but now I get to run it at Garycon this year. There are many things to enjoy about this adventure. The background story is great and befitting the overall theme of this season. I enjoyed that the flowchart placement. I like the sidenotes with tips on presentation of the flora and the forest corruption. The first part consists of several encounters enroute to the location of Story Objective B. They are provided in a table format for those that like to add randomness to the encounters. You may find yourselves headscratching trying to understand timing in game. I think the important thing here is to be mindful of event timing and base Part lengths (event timing) off of that. I had no idea what a vole was and had to look it up, but was surprised to see what it was (I enjoy learning)! I do like the persistent challenge in Part Two and look forward to see how they play out. I like the tailored corruption. I just went down the chart in the Appendix and gave each corruption event a level so that I could associate it in my mind with levels of exhaustion, and to incorporate their effects into the game, I would recommend using the narrative given on the table when a player misses a check, or when other characters are observing this character and also consider rewarding Inspiration to the player! This may be slightly bothersome to those that need some kind of meta associated with it.

The story rewards are Baldur's Gate: Descent Into Avernus-encompassing and their importance and value are easy to discern. Overall, it was a great read. I enjoyed it as a player, and am looking forward to presenting it at Garycon 2020! The adventure is not the best one of the series, but it is good (I don't give out five stars often). I know there will be completionists that probably already have this adventure, but if you were on the fence, I encourage you to consider picking it up!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL09-08 In the Garden of Evil
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 62 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items