Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
CCC-YLRA01-02 Uneasy Lies the Head $4.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 5
0 2
0 1
0 0
0 0
CCC-YLRA01-02 Uneasy Lies the Head
Click to view
CCC-YLRA01-02 Uneasy Lies the Head
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Anton P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2019 18:32:29

Guys, when we can get continuation of Ylra series?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-YLRA01-02 Uneasy Lies the Head
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 08:47:31

First things first, this is not a 4 hour module. With all that is happening in ths module I'd suggest 5-6 hours to become full immersed.

This module is filled with some prett hilarious encounters and they can be pretty entertaining if run right. That said, with all the things going on in the town, it can be challenging for groups (especially those with low Int) to peice together the small strands of plot. For the first half of the module, it felt like random encounters to them.

The module reaches its climax outside of town in a pretty brutal fight. The fight has some tough opponents but there really isn't much of a chance to avoid the battle through social prowess.

The final encounter back in the city provides great opportunities for combat focused groups and social focused characters alike.

It is very clear that these mods have had a lot of thought and design put into them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-YLRA01-02 Uneasy Lies the Head
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Glenn H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2018 00:31:04

An awesome adventure, although I admit I couldn't run it any faster than 4.5 hours. The NPCs and Story Awards in YLRA are "second to none" and I now base all of my characters out of there for the back stories. Some powergamers at my table commented on having the first combat 1.5 hours in (the temple) but they were able to find the right suspect (Lia, in this case) and go to the ruins before nightfall. The choice of monsters in the Sunken Temple fight (Corruped Priests and the other Priests) seemed confusing and limiting, but it was certainly scary for characters who knew what was going on. Next time I'm going to think about creative ways to isolate players 1-on-1 for the tiny monsters to get them. Skimmed the final mob scene pretty quicly but it didn't need much emphasis.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-YLRA01-02 Uneasy Lies the Head
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Noah G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2018 22:27:52

This adventure is a mystery and the villain is part of a larger series, so I think it has to be reviewed a bit differently than other mods. Players won't get to the final destination in this adventure. The question is whether they will enjoy the journey. At my tables, both as a DM and a player, the answer was a resounding yes! There are a lot of NPCs, and most of them are fun to play. Just bring a cheat sheet for your players. The combat encounters are challenging and unexpected. Players may even encounter a bull in a china shop! Randomization of the central whodoneit adds replay value. Not being able to resolve the entire plotline is frustrating but didn't take that much away from my players' experience.

One important caveat about this adventure...it is a mystery that requires players (not their characters) to know how to ask the right questions to get better clues. This isn't a skill that D&D players use all that often, so they get frustrated and blame the mod. What makes this mod a unique pleasure for some groups I DM for will not appeal to others.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-YLRA01-02 Uneasy Lies the Head
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jac Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2018 17:17:42

TL;DR: This module needs 6 hours, not 4.

I have very mixed feelings about this module. On the one hand I really appreciate how unconventional this module is, a CSI-styled adventure with encounters that requires creative solutions (rather than killing everything, Chiang Emporium anyone?). On the other hand, there is simply too much information for the players to attempt to obtain and digest within the given time frame, and it's almost like the module was set up in a way that "forces" the players to fail in their investigation.

Here's a breakdown of my opinion:

  1. Firstly, the connection between the evidence available to a mindflayer behind all this is close to a bare minimum, unless the DM explicitly provide the table with hints. Otherwise, the best they can deduce is that someone is behind all the incidents, mind controlled cranium rats & pixies are involved, and the person-in-charge is a "purple man".
  2. Secondly, the only way the players can find out specific information about who the suspect might be is to ask the NPCs specific questions about other NPCs, which I can't say is something people would think of from the top of their heads when questioning the witnesses of any given crime, especially when the players have no known relationships or former interactions with any of the NPCs. A similar module, CCC-LINKS-01 Champion of the People, has a similar issue. However, since that mod only has four major suspects, and all suspects know each other to a certain degree, it makes more sense for the NPCs to relay information about other NPCs naturally. I cannot say the same for this module.
  3. Thirdly, forcing the players to make a "wrong" decision isn't fun. Through the hands of the mayor, the players are put under a situation where they have to pin someone down halfway through the adventure, even though the odds of them having sufficient information to deduce who the suspect is is very low (for the aforementioned reasons). Their characters' alignments aside, being explicitly pushy over the players' actions doesn't seem like the best idea, especially when they are likely frustrated over their investigation finding nothing.
  4. Fourthly, the "way-out" of this module seems to be just simply interrogate all suspects until the Intimidation check goes through is just..... sub-optimal. Partly because resolving to yelling at your suspects when you can't find any clear evidences doesn't make that much sense in or out of character; partly because in a RP-heavy module like this one, I as a DM prefer to act out all RP interactions, and I simply cannot imagine realistically how I can RP the interrogation.

Furthermore, speaking to all those NPCs take up a lot of time, have the players decide on who to target takes even more, and then there are a potential of two final encounters. In my case, I had to cut both final encounters and settle for a lower xp for my table, simply because I don't have time, which is a shame. With the bulk of information provided in the module, the players and the DM need to be presented a way to efficiently nagivate their way through the investigation phase, or have the bulk of information itself trimmed down.

P.S. Damn that Flametongue weapon is cool. I wish I can get it as a Dedicated DM reward. Ah well. A man can dream.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the feedback; it was definitely my intent to make it feel like there's too much to do in too little time, and that there is no clear "smoking gun"; the ticking clock is supposed to create a feeling of tension, and ideally push players to make decisions with imperfect information and then deal with the consequences. I'm sorry that didn't work out in your case. But this is all great constructive criticism, and I'll keep it in mind for future adventures.
CCC-YLRA01-02 Uneasy Lies the Head
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Philip T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2018 02:45:15

I enjoyed running this mod, though many of the times that I ran it, I felt that the PC's were grasping for clues. The desire to solve the mystery kept the PC's motivated to get through the mod. I liked how the ending is somber, but at the same time, it's as if the PC's didn't have a whole lot of say in the outcome of the adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-YLRA01-02 Uneasy Lies the Head
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Vilma S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2018 12:08:24

All the options given to DM are something that i would like to find in all adventures. I 'll surely buy the other trilogy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-YLRA01-02 Uneasy Lies the Head
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Linda S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2017 19:28:10

This adventure is something of a whodunnit, and it's incredibly fun to play and to DM. The author has given options within the module to allow the DM to choose who the baddie is (and, thus, what clues to give the PCs), so there's great replayability here. Highly, highly recommended!

Fair warning that it can easily run longer than 4 hours as the PCs explore, talk to people, and uncover clues, so be aware of that going in. One group that I ran this for took almost 6 hours because they are heavy on the roleplaying side and insisted on checking out all possible clues. At the end of that game, I had voiced 23 unique NPCs. (Yes, I counted. And yes, that includes the cat.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items