Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
17 23
7 63
8 18
0 3
1 0
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Paul D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2019 10:09:26

Nice solid intro. It makes me nostalgic to see all the factions represented and working together and disappointed that concept seems to have been dropped.

I don't know how the plot threads started here really worked out though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dalton D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2019 23:29:36

Good introductory adventures but I'd like to see the Death Curse be optional for these. They're probably the best 1 hour adventures, but the rewards are less than stellar and the Death Curse makes nobody want to play.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Martijn S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2019 10:01:19

solid introduction to chult, used it as part of my ToA campaign. love nerissa, played her as my kick ass daughter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Benjamin M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2019 21:10:21

This adventure is broken into five hour-long episodes oriented toward members of the five factions. The obvious weakness to this setup is the possibility of not having the appropriate faction variety in your party, but that can be easily worked around by modifying the flavor text. The pacing of the adventure is satisfying, with regular opportunities for short bursts of both roleplay and combat, and it seems appropriate for first time players and young players in general. The conclusion of the adventure nicely conjoins the episodic narratives and left my players feeling satisfied.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ian G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2019 12:10:01

Good adventure for preparing low level parties for the jungle. Pt Nyanzaru has a lot of potential that can be missed if a group charges into the jungle early, and the wilderness encounters will likely be too dangerous.

We play on a grid with a full party of 7. The party nearly TPK'd with 4 soulmonger deaths from the thugs/ruffians ambush at the end of the first adventure. They had exhausted many of their abilities in the trap room and encounters beneath the city, and forgotten to rest.

Ziggurat was a memorable combat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steven B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2019 15:19:56

Caveat: I've only played the first three parts of this set and DM'd the first.

The first part has a popular story award (who doesn't want a pet dinosaur?) and I expect to play/DM it more, and the dinosaur race in the second part is very exciting. The first and third parts are otherwise straightforward modules, as you would expect a 1-hour module to be; they don't particularly stand out, but there's little to complain about either.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/01/2018 19:23:54

This adventure can be used to provide an introduction to the game for new players or an introduction to Chult for experienced players. They get to meet some of the power brokers in the city and get to explore the various sections of the city in a search to gather together the pieces of the MacGuffin. The various adventures reward multiple approaches rather than just hitting the same note over and over.

The dinosaur race has usually proven to be the most popular section of the adventure for obvious reasons.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christine W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2018 11:26:30

Pretty solid intro mods that have a wide offering of activities. There are some opportinities for each of the pillars, and I like that each faction has a tie in. Chult has proved to be an interesting setting this season.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 18:57:23

As a series of intro modules, it's about what you'd expect. Running it all will get your players from level 1 to 2 with various types of encounters that they're like to run into later in Chult. The MacGuffin had my players wanting more followup on what it actually meant, which is nothing really. It's probably better to run it after running Cellar of Death if possible, which should get your players up to level 3 and ready for either dealing with Port Nyanzaru or the tier 1 season 7 modules.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nathan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 08:08:55

great for teaching the game a little of everything is present



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2018 14:18:41

Another 5-part "intro" adventure to familiarize players with the new season/setting, introduce key faction contacts, and help new players learn and enjoy DnD. I enjoyed taking a little extra time to describe the exotic locations and peoples that are part of the season 7 storyline - it is a bit different from most of the prior seasons and pulls the characters deeper into the story. With the other season intro adventures I was comfortable pretty much just diving into the action, but this one felt like it deserved more flavor.

The five missions included a nice variety of tasks and styles. A mini dungeon crawl with some traps, a skill-based competition (cool idea - nice to chellenge with something other than combat) and pit fight, a brief foray into the dangerous wilds of Chult (providing a preview of things to come in the hardcover and other season adventures), a jaunt through puzzles and traps (note there are some inconsistencies between the text and the map for Mission 4) to deal with an undead menace, and finally a double-cross leading to the discovery of and confrontation with the yuan-ti bad guys.

I enjoyed this more than the other season intro adventures. The players were able to satisfactorily complete the missions and uncover one of the plots against Port Nyanzaru. I really appreciated the "Tricks of the Trade" suggestions on roleplaying various NPCs - these helped me add variety and flavor to the story without needing to spend a lot of prep time. This increased the roleplaying and interaction - don't try to limit the missions to 1 hour each if you don't have to.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2018 20:07:42

Solid set of adventures that introduce the characters to Port Nyanzaru and the faction representatives. While there is a plot thread that ties the adventures together, the last adventure doesn't quite live up to the pay off seemingly promised. Briefly introducing the antagonist, or clues that point to the antagonist, would bring this up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rick S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2018 19:19:56

Really fun adventure that introduces the factions. I really liked how its able to introduce all the different types of monsters that are avaliable, with the grung being a favorite of my players. The treacherous plant life was also cool. The vines in the arena actually stole the final blow from my party's victory.

The adventures were all simple, and even though 100% of my party was new to D&D, and I was new to DMing, we got through each module in roughly the time alloted. Everyone said they had fun, and I never had any issues knowing what was happening.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2018 09:16:49

I liked that this was a good way to get the players introduced into Port Nyanzaru/Chult. The dinosaur race was a lot of fun and the best part of the whole mod, but each section does not quite fit within an hour. To finish each mod in an hour you must trim role-play which I think is counterproductive in a level 1 intro mod to a new season and land. 4/5



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jody J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 21:12:31

These short adventures serve as a nice intro to Port Nyanzaru and Chult for Season 7. The situations are varied and highlight various options that Chult presents.

The NPCs introduced here reappear throughout the Chult series and have good variety as well.

Although I have run these many times I haven't been able to string them together very often due to time constraints. With the changes to levelling these short adventures ma be less appealing compared to standard 2 hour modules although having adventures for very starting characters may continue to serve a purpose despite the lack of magical rewards.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 107 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items