Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
5 18
2 57
3 17
0 3
0 0
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rick S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2018 19:19:56

Really fun adventure that introduces the factions. I really liked how its able to introduce all the different types of monsters that are avaliable, with the grung being a favorite of my players. The treacherous plant life was also cool. The vines in the arena actually stole the final blow from my party's victory.

The adventures were all simple, and even though 100% of my party was new to D&D, and I was new to DMing, we got through each module in roughly the time alloted. Everyone said they had fun, and I never had any issues knowing what was happening.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2018 09:16:49

I liked that this was a good way to get the players introduced into Port Nyanzaru/Chult. The dinosaur race was a lot of fun and the best part of the whole mod, but each section does not quite fit within an hour. To finish each mod in an hour you must trim role-play which I think is counterproductive in a level 1 intro mod to a new season and land. 4/5



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jody J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 21:12:31

These short adventures serve as a nice intro to Port Nyanzaru and Chult for Season 7. The situations are varied and highlight various options that Chult presents.

The NPCs introduced here reappear throughout the Chult series and have good variety as well.

Although I have run these many times I haven't been able to string them together very often due to time constraints. With the changes to levelling these short adventures ma be less appealing compared to standard 2 hour modules although having adventures for very starting characters may continue to serve a purpose despite the lack of magical rewards.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jake F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2018 01:37:43

I enjoyed playing this one, as someone who was totally new to Chult and its lore, I felt immediately immersed. I will say the race was interesting but I think could have been better. The thing that sticks out most in my mind is the zombie pit, as it posed a major challenge for my party (several people almost died protecting the civilians). The rest was pretty standard, but that one was a bit harsh (but really set the mood).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2018 07:15:58

Good intro to Chult, and a nice balance between the missions in terms of styles of play. Could be used as a intro for new players. Each session runs a little long if you have players new to the game or you really want to roll play and let the players explore Chult.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rick S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2018 11:59:55

Nice package of short adventures, nothing too fancy. Not bad for getting new players warmed up. I don't think there's anything too complex or hard here and just reading through the modules once should be enough for even new DMs to not have a difficult time.

If you're running the ToA hardcover I think all of the tier 1 modules can be weaved in and help create a really strong narative for the rest of the campaign. Great for introducing the PCs to important NPCs and learning the layout of the Port.

More experienced players may find the modules a bit boring and unrewarding. They are only one hour mods so the exp/items department is hurting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2018 16:28:19

SPOILER-FREE review. A nice intro to Chult and the various faction leaders that reside there. Good role-playing opportunity with the faction leaders. My biggest issue is that the adventures tend to run long, or at least longer than the 60-70 minutes suggested for each adventure, so plan your time accordingly. Two adventures in a three hour slot should be doable if you keep things moving. Without giving too much away, some of the McGuffins for the 5 adventures do have (somewhat) a specific order in which they need to be retrieved, which can be inconvenient if you wanted to use your party's factions to determine what mini-adventures to run. The full story of the McGuffins is also not resolved by the end of the 5 adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2018 00:50:57

Mission 1: Fun little bit combat well balanced for up too level 3's, the skill check for sneaking past the brigands was fun. (Too bad all the players I get are murder hobos.) The boss fight at the end is a nice challage with fourth level spellcasting can make a fight seem that bit more real for the characters.

Mission 2: New is always good, and Dino races are fun, this was straight forward wasy to follow but still made things feel organic.

Mission 3: Standard skill checks and combat nothing really to say about this one, just the Elf woman being pulled and dragged into the mesh, with no way to rescue her, would be better if she was already on the alter for sacrifice to give her last words.

Mission 4: A nice search and rescue mission, plenty of combat to go around, plus the traps were easy to run and not overly complicated as well as the solutions.

Mission 5: Combat was nice and challenging, the misdirection of the Yuan-it was a nice touch as well as their involvment.

All in All anyone of these Missions are great to run at any time, or if you really need a anothe DM ro run somthing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by MADELEINE B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2018 01:29:08

I had fun DMing all of them except the mini-race. And then when it came time to do A Day at the Races, my players groaned and said, "Another race??"

The other modules were great fun and players had a nice time exploring Port N.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2018 15:50:11

As a group I found these adventures to be a fun way to introduce players to the city of Port Nyanzaru. Warning, Spoliers ahead! I've run this adventure three times now and still enjoy it each time. The structure of introducing the faction agents one at a time with thematic missions made for a great overall experence. Each of the faction contacts had interesting details to help them stand out. Of the bunch, I've had the most fun with mission 2, Grand Prize of the Oracle. While the logistics of the race felt a little confusing the first time, players had fun coming up with insults and other ways to mess with the opposing team. It felt a little odd that it only mattered which individual finished the race first. Once one racer gets ahead the rest of the race doesn't really matter. It may have been better to require the team to place ahead on average instead. The cage match is always exciting! However, it seems all too easy to forget about the plants. I think including an indication on the map of the presence of the vines would help remind DMs of their existance. I think the weakest mission was number 4, When Death Calls. Whlie the first half of investigating and exploring was a good opporunity to rp, and the ambush at the huts felt exciting, exploring the "dungeon" was very disapointing. I wish there had been a real "puzzle" instead of just an intelligence roll. While I loved the concept of the final fight, in pratice, a "boss" with 10 AC and 9 HP doesn't last very long, making the second fight end up being just too similar to the first. I would reccomend changing the encounter adjustment tables in a few ways. For the first encounter, Very strong party, replace one zombie with a Ghoul. For the second encounter, Strong party, add a skeleton near Viplo's Alter. Very Strong Party, have Viplo use the Evil Mage statistics from the first adventure. Over all these adventures were a very fun experience and are a great way to help new players get to level 2.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Cameron H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2018 08:59:16

The array of faction leaders are pretty memorable and used numerous times during the DDAL07 modules, so newcomers start to recognize names and and personalities, which is nice; the introduction to the dinosaur racing was great, though quick on its heels a few weeks later is "A Day at the Races," so it gave both some familiarity to how the events worked and a bit of repetitiveness (though the races do have very different sets of rules). Overall, it's a great primer to get people into the setting of Chult and Port Nyanzaru. I'm sure I'll be running them again!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2018 15:48:58

I played this out over a few sessions with a varying group each time. Most of the times I ran it, we had some younger kids playing with us, and so the five "One-Hour" adventures turned into something more simillar to four 3-hour adventures, but overall we had a bunch of fun! And if I'm being honest, it had a lot to do with not being ready to guide things on my part :)

Overall it was a lot of fun!

The rest of my review highlights what I liked/didn't like, and while I try to avoid any explicit spoilers it could be a little spoiler-y.

I think the parts of it I liked the least were the descriptions/solutions to the puzzles in Parts 1 and 4. They were a little too hard for me to understand at first, and if I'd followed them as written they would have boiled down to "Roll an Investigation check to see if you solved the puzzle". I substituted them with a few home-brewed puzzles that fit the theme of what they were trying to accomplish and everything worked out fine though :)

The story was interesting, but I felt it lacked a little clarity/instruction on how to guide the players through the different parts/it wasn't super clear on how the MacGuffins came to be in the possession of the characters who had them, nor was it super clear on what they could have even be used for/why the baddies wanted them. All that said, each chapter felt distinct, and each one was fun. The variance on the NPCs was great for my love of playing characters, and I particularly liked getting into the boots of Soggy Wren :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2018 12:31:34

DDAL07-01 is a great opening to the setting of Chult, it provides numerous level-appropriate adventures for both new characters and new players, running a gambit from roleplaying and combat opportunities to miscelanious activities that break away from a typical module.

Some players will enjoy different aspects (I know a few of mine weren't too thrilled by the dinosaur racing), but there is plenty in here for everyone to try out a number of different play styles to get a handle of their characters.

It also works as a good introduction to the ToA hardcover and fleshes out the city of Port Nyanzaru.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 18:24:09

great start to the season. they introduce chult in a way nothing else could.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joel M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 02:41:29

Intro missions are always a lot of fun, both to run as a DM and to experience as a player. A City on the Edge does a fantastic job of setting the backdrop to Season 7, giving the city of Port Nyanzaru it's own character. The missions within the module allow the DM to help explore the city (and the jungle as well!).

I ran each of the missions in order, with a consistent group - everyone enjoyed it (especially Mission 2 - bringing in additional thematic activities like Dino Racing is excellent!). Only reason I wouldn't say 5 stars is that the overall theme of the item the players get as they complete each mission doesnt seem to be explained or impact until one section in the final combat.

I would have loved to have seen maybe small bonuses or impacts if the players had or did not have certain pieces threaded into the later missions.

I would also love to applaud the author on having missions that are super easy to keep to time. Usually when you see 1 hour mission/adventure, an AL DM will automatically add an hour. I found these missions were written in such a way that made life easy to keep the plot moving quickly.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 95 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items