Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
7 20
2 61
4 17
0 3
1 0
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/01/2018 19:23:54

This adventure can be used to provide an introduction to the game for new players or an introduction to Chult for experienced players. They get to meet some of the power brokers in the city and get to explore the various sections of the city in a search to gather together the pieces of the MacGuffin. The various adventures reward multiple approaches rather than just hitting the same note over and over.

The dinosaur race has usually proven to be the most popular section of the adventure for obvious reasons.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christine W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2018 11:26:30

Pretty solid intro mods that have a wide offering of activities. There are some opportinities for each of the pillars, and I like that each faction has a tie in. Chult has proved to be an interesting setting this season.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 18:57:23

As a series of intro modules, it's about what you'd expect. Running it all will get your players from level 1 to 2 with various types of encounters that they're like to run into later in Chult. The MacGuffin had my players wanting more followup on what it actually meant, which is nothing really. It's probably better to run it after running Cellar of Death if possible, which should get your players up to level 3 and ready for either dealing with Port Nyanzaru or the tier 1 season 7 modules.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Nathan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 08:08:55

great for teaching the game a little of everything is present



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2018 14:18:41

Another 5-part "intro" adventure to familiarize players with the new season/setting, introduce key faction contacts, and help new players learn and enjoy DnD. I enjoyed taking a little extra time to describe the exotic locations and peoples that are part of the season 7 storyline - it is a bit different from most of the prior seasons and pulls the characters deeper into the story. With the other season intro adventures I was comfortable pretty much just diving into the action, but this one felt like it deserved more flavor.

The five missions included a nice variety of tasks and styles. A mini dungeon crawl with some traps, a skill-based competition (cool idea - nice to chellenge with something other than combat) and pit fight, a brief foray into the dangerous wilds of Chult (providing a preview of things to come in the hardcover and other season adventures), a jaunt through puzzles and traps (note there are some inconsistencies between the text and the map for Mission 4) to deal with an undead menace, and finally a double-cross leading to the discovery of and confrontation with the yuan-ti bad guys.

I enjoyed this more than the other season intro adventures. The players were able to satisfactorily complete the missions and uncover one of the plots against Port Nyanzaru. I really appreciated the "Tricks of the Trade" suggestions on roleplaying various NPCs - these helped me add variety and flavor to the story without needing to spend a lot of prep time. This increased the roleplaying and interaction - don't try to limit the missions to 1 hour each if you don't have to.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2018 20:07:42

Solid set of adventures that introduce the characters to Port Nyanzaru and the faction representatives. While there is a plot thread that ties the adventures together, the last adventure doesn't quite live up to the pay off seemingly promised. Briefly introducing the antagonist, or clues that point to the antagonist, would bring this up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rick S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2018 19:19:56

Really fun adventure that introduces the factions. I really liked how its able to introduce all the different types of monsters that are avaliable, with the grung being a favorite of my players. The treacherous plant life was also cool. The vines in the arena actually stole the final blow from my party's victory.

The adventures were all simple, and even though 100% of my party was new to D&D, and I was new to DMing, we got through each module in roughly the time alloted. Everyone said they had fun, and I never had any issues knowing what was happening.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2018 09:16:49

I liked that this was a good way to get the players introduced into Port Nyanzaru/Chult. The dinosaur race was a lot of fun and the best part of the whole mod, but each section does not quite fit within an hour. To finish each mod in an hour you must trim role-play which I think is counterproductive in a level 1 intro mod to a new season and land. 4/5



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jody J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 21:12:31

These short adventures serve as a nice intro to Port Nyanzaru and Chult for Season 7. The situations are varied and highlight various options that Chult presents.

The NPCs introduced here reappear throughout the Chult series and have good variety as well.

Although I have run these many times I haven't been able to string them together very often due to time constraints. With the changes to levelling these short adventures ma be less appealing compared to standard 2 hour modules although having adventures for very starting characters may continue to serve a purpose despite the lack of magical rewards.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jake F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2018 01:37:43

I enjoyed playing this one, as someone who was totally new to Chult and its lore, I felt immediately immersed. I will say the race was interesting but I think could have been better. The thing that sticks out most in my mind is the zombie pit, as it posed a major challenge for my party (several people almost died protecting the civilians). The rest was pretty standard, but that one was a bit harsh (but really set the mood).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2018 07:15:58

Good intro to Chult, and a nice balance between the missions in terms of styles of play. Could be used as a intro for new players. Each session runs a little long if you have players new to the game or you really want to roll play and let the players explore Chult.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rick S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2018 11:59:55

Nice package of short adventures, nothing too fancy. Not bad for getting new players warmed up. I don't think there's anything too complex or hard here and just reading through the modules once should be enough for even new DMs to not have a difficult time.

If you're running the ToA hardcover I think all of the tier 1 modules can be weaved in and help create a really strong narative for the rest of the campaign. Great for introducing the PCs to important NPCs and learning the layout of the Port.

More experienced players may find the modules a bit boring and unrewarding. They are only one hour mods so the exp/items department is hurting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2018 16:28:19

SPOILER-FREE review. A nice intro to Chult and the various faction leaders that reside there. Good role-playing opportunity with the faction leaders. My biggest issue is that the adventures tend to run long, or at least longer than the 60-70 minutes suggested for each adventure, so plan your time accordingly. Two adventures in a three hour slot should be doable if you keep things moving. Without giving too much away, some of the McGuffins for the 5 adventures do have (somewhat) a specific order in which they need to be retrieved, which can be inconvenient if you wanted to use your party's factions to determine what mini-adventures to run. The full story of the McGuffins is also not resolved by the end of the 5 adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2018 00:50:57

Mission 1: Fun little bit combat well balanced for up too level 3's, the skill check for sneaking past the brigands was fun. (Too bad all the players I get are murder hobos.) The boss fight at the end is a nice challage with fourth level spellcasting can make a fight seem that bit more real for the characters.

Mission 2: New is always good, and Dino races are fun, this was straight forward wasy to follow but still made things feel organic.

Mission 3: Standard skill checks and combat nothing really to say about this one, just the Elf woman being pulled and dragged into the mesh, with no way to rescue her, would be better if she was already on the alter for sacrifice to give her last words.

Mission 4: A nice search and rescue mission, plenty of combat to go around, plus the traps were easy to run and not overly complicated as well as the solutions.

Mission 5: Combat was nice and challenging, the misdirection of the Yuan-it was a nice touch as well as their involvment.

All in All anyone of these Missions are great to run at any time, or if you really need a anothe DM ro run somthing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by MADELEINE B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2018 01:29:08

I had fun DMing all of them except the mini-race. And then when it came time to do A Day at the Races, my players groaned and said, "Another race??"

The other modules were great fun and players had a nice time exploring Port N.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 101 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items