Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e) $0.00
Average Rating:3.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
32 2
11 9
19 2
6 10
4 4
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Click to view
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anony M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/08/2019 21:32:04

The Mystic class is similar enough to other spellcasters to feel familiar, but different enough to be interesting. The fundamentals of psi points and psi limits are well balanced compared to other classes.

Once or twice you might notice something like, "they forgot to put a duration on Darkness, hahaHAHAHA" and then your group brainstorms for a while and comes up with something. These should be interpreted as a heartwarming opportunity to bring your group closer together. Same with errata in other products like the Player's Handbook or whatever, so it's cool. :)

Free to download, so give it a look, maybe one of your group will feel drawn to try something new.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Neil C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2018 23:24:29

it's a pretty fun class but I feel sorry for anyone who tries to play soul knife. they dont get any psi disciplines, psionic mastery is useless for them. they're basically a level 3? monk with psychic fists and their best feature is being able to hit once against a forced ac10. but they dont even get an extra attack. the other orders severely overwhelm the soul knife in terms of power and usefulness.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Pablo V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2018 16:04:12

The Mystic Class offers a wide variety of features which trades the use of traditional spellcasting and the use of techniques to a more "out of place" character. There is one thing that might throw off any intention of trying out this class: there is too much to take in. Managing Talents, Disciplines, Psi points and how much you may use at one time to fortify (or not) your disciplines requires a more dedicated D&D player.

As a role-playing class, I see plenty of possibilites in a medium party (5-7) though again, in a more complex story rather than a simple "go get this done" story. Hope to learn more examples on how a Mystic Class fits with the rest of the playable classes out there.

Regards,



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Max E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2018 06:16:15

Seems really interesting and super cool, but I feel like there are a fair few things in this class that seem VERY overpowered.

Also it's a very rules heavy class, but if you can manage that the amount of possibilities are next to infinite!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kaze R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2017 21:00:37

There are balance issues here, but I really like the direction this is going in. Would be nice to have more roleplaying flavor text throughout, but overall I really like the concepts here. I don't think anything this class does needs to be removed, but the psi point costs and effects themselves need some adjustments on quite a few of the Orders and Disciplines. I've put together a list of everything I saw that was problematic, I think if these changes were implimented this job would be adaquetly and cleanly balanced and if refined further would be ready for a final printing.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1XPG0-uGCJjvB_GH0v7uQrKIj8-znVoDG



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ren C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2017 09:35:43

There are still a lot of serious balance issues with this class. I have hard time trying to figure out what this class can't do. Sure, if you want to be "that guy" at the table whom everyone stares at because you're always in the spotlight solving every problem the party comes across single handedly, this class is great; however, this is a group game where we are supposed to be a team. First off it breaks the action economy mechanic with spell casting by giving it a pool that allows for the maintanence of more than one spell. This was one of the biggest balancers in the reigning in of spellcasters. I say that as someone who loves casters and am a little peeved that my ability to buff the party has been seriously nerfed, but I also accept it really was a needed nerf. I have stories about the people at my table needing spreadsheets to keep track of the buffs I would through out. So, I have to ask why are we going back to that? I have huge concerns about giving away telepathy at level 2, do we not understand how powerful telepathy really is, especially in the hands of a creative and charasmatic player. Seriously, am I the only who looks at this and thinks, I could totaly son of sam someone? I also feel like ye olde energizer bunny has nothing on this guy. There is no resource cost. Yes, you have power points, and the power points go down, but the fact that you essentially have a form of life tap, and you regain hit points, as a base class feature mind you, whenever you use psionic points makes me wonder what the developers were thinking. This is just scratching the surface, I could on but there's just too much. This whole thing needs to be brought back to board.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joel H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2017 15:11:01

I think this is an excellent take on psionics and the build-a-class structure allows for the basic psi-point and Discipline mechanics to support many different play styles. Want a psychic warrior? You can build it. Want an elemental bender? You can build that. Want a telepathic and telekinetic powerhouse? You're covered. Want a stealthy psychic hunter? You can do that too. Did you like the Warlord or the Ardent from 4e? You can recreate those abilities with this class.

Unfortunately, the flexibility inherent in the class causes it to suffer from a lack of focus. It seems most people writing here who have had mystics at the game table are complaining that it is too easy to construct a mystic that fills many class roles too well, stepping on the toes of other character classes. As many people have suggested, this might be addressed by baking in more constraints on what discipilnes can be chosen so that the majority of disciplines a character has belong to their order. The ability to choose a discipline from outside your order should be rare and intersting.

I've posted some ideas in the discussion tab regarding order-specific suggestions, so I won't repeat them here.

All things considered, I think they hit the ball out of the park with coming up with the raw mechanics for psionics and the interplay of psychic foci and disciplines and psi point expendatures. Very well done. It just needs some balancing, some polish, and a leash on the flexibility to keep individual characters coherent and sensible.

I am looking forward to updates and hope that they seriously consider the feedback presented here in the reviews and discussion.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Greg D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2017 20:50:57

I love psionics and think that the overall direction of this class is spot on. Having played an Order of the Awakened mystic from level 1-9, my advice for improving it is:

1) Increase the power progression so that there are equivalents to 7th, 8th, and 9th level spells. It is very disappointing to not have anything radically new to look forward to in the high levels like other spell casters. 2) Reduce flexibility (a little). As a trade-off for having more powerful effects, the progression for getting new disciplines could be reduced a little. A new discipline every three levels (instead of every 2) starting at level 4 would be fine I think. 3) A version number on these playtest documents would be great to let us know that there is new stuff we need to take into account (or not).

Excellent work overall and I appreciate the deliberate approach to testing and evaluating new material.

G



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alex S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2017 20:18:26

So you can't decide between Bard, Sorcerer, and Paladin? Why not be all of them at the same time?? The Mystic has a lot of potential, but has some serious balance issues.

Pros:

  • A totally new set of spell-like abilities! One of the biggest issues with 5e has been the same-ness of many classes and creatures that all draw from the same pool of spells. The mystic finally gives people something new to play with, and a lot of it! There are enough abilities here to power 4-5 distinct classes...

Cons:

  • You can easily fill the roles of 4-5 distinct classes with a single character. You can essentially be a Sorcerer with 3-4x as many known spells, a Bard with even more skill versatility, a potent elemental blaster, and a major melee nova damage dealer all in the the same character by around level 5. No joke - I just built this character. You also get a slew of special abilties for every occasion and a lot of built-in self-recovery.
  • You'd think that this would come with either a limited single-encounter output like the Warlock or a lower level of between-encounter recovery like the Bard... but you'd be wrong. At level 20 you can be slinging the equivalent of 16 level 5 spells per day before you even start spending your HP as a resource to cast even more spells!
  • Okay, but you can still only cast one spell per round, right? Wrong again! You have no per-turn limit and as many disciplines include reaction and bonus-action abilties you are usually able to sling 2-3 spell-equivalents per turn. Lets not even start on the action-economy-destroying Psionic Mastery.

Suggestions to fix it (do some of these, not all):

  • Split Mystic into 5 distinct classes based on the Orders - give limited cross-discipline versatility instead of a sub-class.
  • -OR- Reduce the number of overall disciplines and especially cross-Order disciplines that characters learn. I'd suggest scaling to 5 in-Order disciplines and 3 of-choice disciplines by level 18.
  • Apply the PSI limit to your entire turn, rather than to a single discipline
  • -OR- Scale the PSI limit as a half-caster rather than a full-caster (3 at 5th level, 5 at 9th level, 6 at 13th level, 7 at 17th level)
  • -OR- limit Discipline use to your current Focus (change Psionic mastery to allow you to use more than one discipline at once...)
  • Replace Psionic Mastery with something that doesn't undermine the basic structure of 5e.
  • Base the Immortal's temp HP on proficiency bonus rather than Int mod to make it less overpowered at low levels.
  • Reduce the amount of proficiency-swapping available to the Nomad. (seriously, it is silly)
  • Give psychic powers the same common-sense restrictions as their spell-equivalents (e.g. charmed creatures realize that they were charmed when the effects of lower-level abilities wear off)


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/22/2017 23:11:30

I agree with some of the balance issues previously mentioned. Also soul knife does not fit in with the rest of this class and seems like an afterthought.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas K. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2017 17:03:39

To be honest, I actually like the Wu Jen order, yet I have to agree with everyone else - It is far from a psionic order; Psionic is more about manipulating the mind and body of oneself and others, while also exerting certain telekinetic control as external manipulation. I deem that these reviews might as well be constructive criticism, so here goes:

It is basically easier for me to say which disciplines I found less psionic, than mentioning the ones I found fitting; "Mastery of fire", it just feels too arcane, as everyone else is pointing out, and it hardly makes sense in the context of psionics; There are basis for the exception to the rule, such as Charlie from Firestarter, yet to be fair she is more of a one-trick sorcerer than a psionic. "Mastery of Ice", as before, yet even more so, some of the abilities of this discipline could work, yet it needs revision; more on that later. "Mastery of weather", this one is just too externally based, hence not much to do with psionics. "Mastery of light and darkness", well while not entirely implausible, it needs to be focused around internal manipulation, because otherwise it is more of a magical effect than a psionic effect. "Mastery of wood and earth" is overall fine, except for the "The wall of wood" and "Armored form", the last one is basically the "Iron Durability"'s abilities "Steel Hide" and "Iron Resistance", I know that psionic is all about flexibility, but why bother making such similar abilities then, maybe make "Iron Resistance" into "Steel Form", and make it a 7 psi. 10 min. conc. with similar effect to "Armored form" or just plain out similar to "Armored form", period. On a more positive note; The afforementioned disciplines, bar "Mastery of light and darkness" make for great development material for a very dedicated Way of The Four Elements Monk, it could be used there, adding in "Mastery of water" as well. Basically I see the Wu Jen as a more dedicated Way of the Four Elements monk as it is now.

Alas there is room for improvement, and I will not just leave you hanging - You see, I feel like the flavor text to the "Order of the Wu Jen" inspires another dimension than the five elements, and that is - Astral materia and construction, I was a fan of this back in 3.5 Expanded Psionics, and I think it could work here as well, with terrain manipulation through Astral superimposement, basically using material of the astral plane to alter the material plane to ones own design; while also bringing back somewhat underpowered summons, yet with huge flexibility in how they can be imagined. I have not worked on any material yet, alas I see huge potential in bringing the Realm of thought and dream into the mixer.

I am inclined to give you a mediocre rating, yet I still want you to know that there is so much more potential here, and hence work to be done. Looking forward to future editions and psionic in 5e, I believe it has it's place, especially because I LOVE the eccentricity of playing a Mystic.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rocky P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2017 18:01:51

At this point in the Psionics current iteration I don't see a reason to introduce them at all. They are only another type of magic, with the same old blasty powers. Wu-Jen, I'm pointing at you and your elemental masteries.

I'm not happy with the results. It's a re-hashed version of the d20 class bloat. It's really necessary to add a fire psionic? You already have a fire wizard (mainly evoker), a fire warlock (fiend), a fire cleric ("Light") a fire sorcerer (UA: Phoenix), a fire monk (four elements), a fire druid (any Land druid), etc. You aren't really adding something new.

I want a new class to be different than the other classes, to fill a niche, offering at least a somewhat different flavor of powers. The Wu-jen is only another arcane type, intelligence based caster. And that's it. A blasty caster. Like if we hadn't just enough blasty casters. He even gets to cast arcane spells. So the question is, why do we need adding psionics if its going to be another wizard variant?

Fact is, there is a niche. The niche is the powers specifically linked to psionics in fiction. You can remove the science flavor by only changing the names. There isn't much place in Arcane magic for things like telekinesis (1 cantrip, 1 level 4 spell). There isn't any place in clerical magic for the same thing. But you can expand it from a psionic and it is a logical expansion for it. Call it "Order of the Far Hand" (as ¡t was going to be called) and you are done with the "sciency" flavor without repeating the same ol' "I cast a fireball" powers (detonation).

I want a guy who can be all Carrie-like, like a poltergeist throwing knives with its mind. I want Darth Vader choking someone with "disturbing lack of faith". I want a frikin guy that can lift an ogre with the power of its mind.

Also, I want a telepath. A true telepath that could read minds, erase memories, and plant deception on another creature's brains. I may also like a creature with clarisintience from a different kind (aura reading, psychic imprint, etc) than the wizardry type. Let the wizard have their blast. It's enough with the laser cleric stepping in its toes in medium armor.

We could safely say that when someone is making another elemental wizard, is that they are losing creativity. Like someone say in the comments I'd rather prefer a crappy copycat of the jedi than another blaster caster. Of course, I would prefer not having simply a jedi, and having a class with its own flavor. Note that even if I like some of the points introduced here, just for balancing reasons I will rate this article with a 1 instead of a 2. Some people haven't any critical sense. They only see perfection here, for unknown reasons.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeronimo E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2017 17:26:58

Highly unbalanced, crappy class. Most effects are too powerful to the approximate level (ignoring the DMG's guidelines to make spells), and the class lacks coherence and balance. The psionics here have no reason to be at all, as it is the same thing as magic, even dampling any proper identity. There is a lack of historical powers like Telekinetics, and an arcane class that could do... everything.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alister L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2017 10:58:24

PSA: I really cannot understand why anyone would ever say playtest material is fine. It's supposed to be flawed and all of it always is. People who give this stuff 4 star ratings are telling the creators that this playtest is perfect and shouldn't be changed and its people like them who are responsible for the shitty Unearthed Arcana that becomes reality. Reviews shouldn't be negative but they should always be CRITICAL.

My group and I absolutely love psionics and always have. We're all huge Star Wars fans and to us Psionics represent the closest we can get to Jedi and for that alone we love them. With this iteration of the Psionic there are several things I love and several that I loathe. Firstly, for the most part I love the versatily of powers. As much as I appreciate mind control and telekinesis powers, I love so many of the utility Disciplines that the Psionic gets (Aura Sight and Third Eye are fantastic). This is totally a personal thing but I for one wish all the Disciplines had more neutral names in that they don't sound all the same or have the name of their Order plastered all over them so it makes it weird for other classes to use (the Nomad Disciplines are the worst in this regard, followed by the Avatar). Again, this is just a personal preference and I can't really call it a fault per se. Another thing I really love is Consumptive Power. I've seen other people talk about it but I just think this is such a badass ability and I really hope it some version of it makes it through playtest. Ok, now to things I don't like so much. Psionic Mastery is terrible for several reasons. It requires extensive amounts of book keeping and it slows down a lot of combat encounters which is never a good thing. There are so many little parts to it that literally everyone in my group had a different interpretation of it and what's worse is that after reading through it multiple times we still couldn't decide on the right one. This ability should be either massively streamlined or scrapped completely. Also, like literally everyone else, I despise the Wu Jen as does most of my group. We love Psionics for their distinction from magic and the Wu Jen spits on that idea. I'm OK with some ability that might make it possible to replicate a spell (maybe like a psionic Counterspell) but the Wu Jen is an insult to psionics everywhere. One recent reviewer said something along the lines of "You can't shit on Wu Jen unless you also shit on Eldritch Knight and Arcane Trickster." This sentiment is utter bollocks because neither the Fighter nor the Rogue is a class specifically supposed to be separate from Magic. In addition, many of the Wu Jen's Disciplines are so similar to Wizard spells that you really have to ask yourself, "Why the hell didn't this bloke just pick Wizard?" And the answer always seems to be "He's a bloody Powergamer." Those are a couple of things I love and loathe from the Mystic class in its current iteration. I hope that playtests and some balancing and tweaking will make the Mystic worthy to be a 5e class.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sean S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2017 14:02:04

I found that this was a fantastic approach to the "Psion problem"; I've been messing with psionics since AD&D and this is by far the simplest and most elegant approach I've seen. I don't understand some of the complaints I've seen here and can only assume that folks had their own ideas for how this should be and are upset you didn't go the route they did. I like that psionics and magic are interchangeable because nothing holds up a game like having to jump between two books because your aboleth is resistant to psionics but not magic, the complaint that the Wu Jen is too reliant on the wizard is laughable unless it's also pointed at the Eldritch Knight and Arcane Trickster.

The idea that any class can have "too many options" is also absurd, we don't need a dozen separate psionic classes that are effectively the same except for their power selection and one or two class features; the Expanded Psionics Handbook suffered from that glut and killed a lot of people's interest in broaching the subject until 4e came out. A base template class that's modified by archetype is a brilliant and efficient method to offer variety without splitting hairs to Nth degree; looking back, you can see that the 5e Warlock was almost a prototype for that style of class building. All members of that class can do X, how you do X is then modified by your archetype and power choices.

I earnestly hope that the creators don't get disheartend by the masses bucking against change, if folks looked at this without any pre-conceived notions from prior editions I think they would see it was a solid class and I hope to see more along these lines in future UA and official releases.

Keep up the great work guys!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items