Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 9
1 12
2 3
0 1
0 0
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Click to view
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dax H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2019 19:30:54

For my first tier 4 game i knew it was going to be tough, not due to the combat but just how dense players can make combat with spells and effects. Thankfully the space to work within is large and the flexiblity of spell casters and clerics lead to plenty of dm empowerment to make this a timed conflict not a deadly one. A greater mission is at play so don't forget the narrative



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2019 14:26:33

THIS IS A GREAT ADVENTURE THAT DOESN'T TAKE A LONG TIME TO PLAY. IT ALSO HAS SOME GREAT REWARDS FOR THE CHARACTERS WHILE STILL PROVIDING A GOOD CHALLENGE.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/30/2018 05:20:47

As an epic conclusion to the Against the Giants section of TFTYP, and some nice forays into understanding giant lore this mod was certainly interesting and I looked forward to running it. However, some cautionary notes: if your party isnt good at puzzles, the areas regarding giant lore will just baffle them - my group struggled badly. The final battle was by comparison more their style although it was still quite drawn out - I did appreciate the mechanics of it though and the time based effects made it a bit more unique. Despite being a "2 hour" mod i think the run time was more than 4. Not one for when you are short on time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2018 09:48:07

I really enjoyed this module. It's really hard, it's got some tips and tricks up it sleeves, and also has some great combat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 16:34:52

One of the toughest T4 adventures out there. The module used more environmental effects to hinder PCs but the fights were also extremely difficult. Please make sure you fully, and completely, read this adventure. I've seen DMs run it where it's obvious they didn't give it enough prep time, and the experiences were horrible.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jake F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2018 00:51:00

This was the first T4 I played and it remains my favorite - it has a great rewards, and everybody can get something (some more than others). It requires a good bit of creative problem solving, and has basically one big combat. One thing that, in retrospect, I enjoyed more about this module than other T4s is that compared to the others it did not feel as stressful, perhaps because the stakes are lower. I look back on this with fondness after being subjected to Avatars of Kyuss and Sun-eating world serpents...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mikaela R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2018 22:01:06

Definitely not a two hour module, especially with the complications in the battle. Regardless, it's a worthy challenge for the treasure you get.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2018 08:18:01

The combat was very hard for the players, they struggled quite a bit, but as a whole the adventure was good. The escape of the enemies at the end, leading to failure of the mission can be frustrating, and I think that it's important to challenge the players not to work against them in the final encouter especially in cases where the party is weak/very weak and the party make up is poor.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2018 17:00:37

Super tough tier 4 adventure. It has tough combat, it has a timer for success/fail, really makes these high level PCs "work hard for their money". The item at the end is.....Legen......wait for it.....dary!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 01:44:20

This was a very challenging tier 4 module. My first time playing, we had the same character die twice! That's how you know it's good! Once again, a very good way of putting in an NPC that doesn't need to be fought, and that does bad things if you do fight her. The story awards for this are also very nice. However, this has never been run in 2 hours, even when I ran it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anthony V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2018 08:10:24

Where have you been all of season 6?!?!?

This is the Redemption of the season! I love this module, I feel like 2 hours is a bit light for most parties soooo much lore to dive into. It was fun and players get some cool story awards and pay for them with painful painful combat. I've TPKed 2 parties with this and they loved every minute of it. Also the magic item was a bit of a let down, I was hoping they would offer the one lower because perfection should be earned in more than 2 hours but a fun ride and those death giants soooo stealing their template to throw in next time I run SKT! -DM Ace



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2018 21:06:11

Two hours for this adventure is definately not enough time. I did play it several times (with different characters) and ran it at least once as well. There are a few situations/traps in here that are particularly nasty and I got the impression some of them were there just to seriously mess up high-level characters whose players were pushing to try and get through this in a two-hour slot.

It is a sequal to the Against The Giants adveture in The Yawning Portal (although having gone through that adventure first is not a requirement) and a prequel to the AL Season 6 epic, DDEP06-03. If you do not have a chance to play DDEP06-03, there's a high likelihood of this module ending on a disappointing note, which is kind of a sad way to end a tier 4 module, especially if it's the one that gets you to level 20.

That all being said, it is an intersting romp through an old ruin and there are some potentialy cool Story Awards/Downtime Activities in here.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:59:06

A difficult and deadly dungeon crawl, this could easily have been slated at a 4-hour adventure rather than one for 2-hours. The pressure of finishing in 2-hours caused players to try to rush through, which ended messily for many of them.

Party composition seemed to affect whether victory would be achieved or not, as well. While it's nice to plan for a group that has all its bases covered, when running AL at a store level, you often are left with a large imbalance in a group, which seemed to lead to many problems in this module as well. However, this IS a Tier 4 adventure, and players should expect (and welcome) such a challenge. Just hope that someone can escape to get those who have fallen resurrected... ;)

The story before the adventure is interesting, and as a lore junky, it was a welcome addition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2017 15:02:17

A good challenge, but players who are not on the ball could easily lose. I personally appreciate this, but some may not. It's Tier 4, players who can cast wish and similacrum should expect a challenge honestly.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2017 19:08:46

A good entry into Tier 4 play. Certainly challenge, though I wish there was either something in this module, or a general document addressing high Tier 3 and regular Tier 4 play in regards to magic items. For instance, if this module called out items that may 'break' the module, and possible ideas for dealing with them. Just a thought. Other than that...it'd be nice if the cert were updated to indicated it required attunement.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items