Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Murder at Moonveil Manor Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.1 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
7 4
11 1
0 2
0 1
1 0
Murder at Moonveil Manor
Click to view
Murder at Moonveil Manor
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Megan M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2019 23:14:38

Pretext: I have been playing DnD since December 2018, and have been DMing January 2019. The players I DM for are as new as me, with the exception of one or two who have more experience. Our total party size is 8, and we consistently have 4-5 show up for tabletop sessions.

Pretty much, we are new AF and are learning as we go.

This one shot is awesome. I have been looking for diverse content and this was great! It was challenging, full of twists and turns, flexible enough for us to insert our own twists but had enough content that I didn't feel (as a DM) lost. Would recommend for any newer DMs who want to try something a little outside of the standard DnD mould. The playable area itself was large enough that my bigger party wasn't bored, and th NPCs were really well done, and hilarious to roleplay.

Took me about an hour of prep before hand, and we played over two, four hour sessions total. So far, it has been our absolute favorite one shot adventure during the campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murder at Moonveil Manor
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sofija K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2019 17:05:47

Includes interesting characters and a fun story hook/setting but requires a LOT of prep time beforehand. From drawing your own map to adding more things to interact with (such as clues, character interactions, etc) it could take a few hours before it's playable. While I did enjoy the content that was provided, I wish it was a little more clean and organized. For a free one shot however, I recommend this if you just want a quick and fun night with friends, my players really enjoyed the story behind it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Murder at Moonveil Manor
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Raymond L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2019 10:04:45

Great as an idea, but prep-work and adjustments to make it playable are prohibitively time consuming. Layout is difficult to follow, and the NPCs are not sufficiently fleshed out, and some of them aren't listed except in passing. Finally, the lack of a map make this whole module feel like more of an outline than a ready to play adventure.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Murder at Moonveil Manor
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nolan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/14/2018 14:55:52

Our group enjoyed the adventure as a one shot from our normal campaign and with a guest DM (myself). There were a few typos in the content but nothing that couldn't be overcome with reading it a few times for context. I also feel there was a missing part to the appendix. NPC journal descriptions were referenced in the main body, but were not in Appendix A, and the traps section referenced rolling a d6 but only listed four traps.

But overall, we loved it and I recommend it if you are looking for a quick one shot.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Murder at Moonveil Manor
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Zeke G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2018 13:46:31

Murder at Moonveil Manor is a very atypical adventure written for 5th level characters by Vall Syrene and Mogman J. Dubloon. On the one hand, the adventure presents a very modular and almost sandbox-y approach to a murder-mystery. There is opportunity to roleplay with a cast of fun and interesting NPCs, to explore the opulent Moonveil Manor in order to collect clues and uncover the murderer, and to fight with a mimic as well as the climactic final battle once the murderer and their motives are discovered.

However, there is a lot to be desired from the perspective of a DM looking to run this adventure. First of all, there is no map of Moonveil Manor, nor is there much information describing the manor's layout-putting it on the DM to either create a map or spend some time to design the general layout of the manor. The authors of the product claim this makes it easy for DMs to manipulate to their advantage, but in my opinion it just adds to the prep work for this module. This is compounded by the fact that the authors really don't take into consideration any possibilities outside of the four main tableaus they write out as chapters, leaving it to the DM to scatter clues throughout the rest of the house. Secondly, the production of this document is rather poor. I normally don't mind when homebrewery documents aren't in perfect tune with WotC official design, but this product is very distracting and cluttered.

Overall, I feel that Murder at Moonveil Manor has a handful of intruiging elements and a basic framework that could make for a fun adventure, but requires a lot of prep work by the DM to reach a point where it is ready to be run at a table, even with considerable improvisation.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Murder at Moonveil Manor
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kaltrina K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2018 10:32:16

Ran this as a one shot a few weeks ago and my players loved it! It took us about 4.5 hours to get through the whole thing. They thought it was a murder mystery/petty drama between the two noble ladies up until they entered Lord Berkestaff's bedroom and were immediately thrown into the craziness of the manor! I played with 4 level 3 characters and they seemed to manage pretty well. Overall, we found it was a really fun break from the dungeon delving we had been doing for a while and my players really enjoyed it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murder at Moonveil Manor
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by jc j. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2018 11:43:39

I downgraded it to ~3rd level and ran it in a Regency England setting with 3 new players as a oneshot. Everyone loved it and it was fun and easy to run! For anyone running it, I would recommend drawing a map and figuring out some of what Harriet Lockwell's notes will be ahead of time. I love the versatility of this adventure--I had no trouble at all converting it to a different setting and character dynamic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Murder at Moonveil Manor
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marion A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2017 06:57:42

I just ran this adventure with a small three-person party and it was a blast! As the DM, I really enjoyed playing all the NPCs and the PCs enjoyed talking to everyone. Once the action kicks off, it's a fun open enviroment with the characters being able to go in and out of rooms and set off traps. As one of my players said, it started out Agatha Christie, and ended up Lovecraft! Great adventure, highly recommended. I may use some of the room traps again in other adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I'm glad you liked it Marion! It was designed to be something a little different than the norm, and also works well with two DMs. I'm very happy to hear you and your players had such fun with it. Here's hoping they all got out alive!
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items