Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
The Mystic Circle Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
33 7
10 2
4 1
0 1
0 0
The Mystic Circle
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Mystic Circle
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Autumn R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2021 10:11:18

Really fun adventure. Prefect for beginners. Took us about 2 hours with three characters in party.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystic Circle
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Shaun B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2020 14:55:37

A nice continuation from A Chance Encounter, but suffers from similar issues with regards to a lack of detail for DMs to offer curious parties.

I'm a big fan of dungeons which have a good mixture of traps, enemies and talking points. The pentagram room is a great talking point, the traps were well worked out too - especially if you let play with the idea of the long ominous corridor.

I did find that the enemies were a struggle though and that was for a higher level party than the level 1 suggested - I think DMs need to be wary of this.

The final room was a good set-up, but ultimately leaves too many unanswered questions for the unprepared DM; what are the runes on the walls? What is the disc? Why is the sword there? If your party are asking questions, and of course they will, then you need to come up with those nswers yourself. Again, there might be answers in the sequel adventures but that doesn't help you here.

Overall, this adventure worked out well but not without a lot of massaging in advance.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystic Circle
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Calvin J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2020 12:34:19

Solid adventure. I was easily able to change a few things to fit it perfectly into my campaign, and the town inside is a nice inclusion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystic Circle
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2019 20:37:28

This is a wonderful little adventure - just the perfect dungeon delve. My favorite characteristic of these adventures is that they are exactly the right size for a busy DM to read once or twice and then run with ease and fun, with perfect pacing and enough interest to build a world with the players' help (as they always contribute more than they realize ;-).

@Katherine M. -- I interpreted the map that Chariz gives the characters as a map of the general area (allowing them to more easily locate the circle of stones) not a map of the dungeon. But, I loved your dungeon map so much, I placed it on the fourth skeleton in the first room: an adventurer from ages past who'd been subdued by the undead skeletons and laid to rest on the fourth platform. My players found it with great delight as I gave them a rolled and wrinkled print out. Thank you for that!

@Paul L -- As for Chariz's motivation for not searching out the Mystic Circle himself, this is how I approached it:

Chariz is a studious and busy wizard, prefering the research he conducts in his tower to wandering the woods; when he can, he always employs others to do the digging for artifacts he's learned about from his studies. On the day he asks the players to seek out the Mystic Circle, a tired and bleary-eyed Chariz is watching over numerous projects that that require his full attention for many days (e.g. potions, scroll writing, perhaps some scrying, etc). In his younger years when he explored more, he kept an eye out for the rumored circle when his work took him into the woods, but he never found it. In the past month he's uncovered evidence in newly aquired tomes that leads him to believe the circle and the dungeon below it is real, and his interest is piqued by the silver disk described in his research. This is his motivation for hiring the players to take on a more earnest search for the circle.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystic Circle
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2019 21:21:34

The Mystic Circle is a solid first-level adventure. There are a few formatting errors and grammatical/spelling issues, but they thankfully do not detract from the core of the adventure.

I have two issues with the actual content of the adventure - my first issue is with the motivation of the wizard to enlist the players to retrieve the magical artifact. It is easy enough to come up with a reason why the wizard can't get the item himself, and I'm not sure why it isn't included. My other issue is the retrieval of the final artifact is anticlimactic. I think that it would've made a lot more sense to decrease the amount of lower challenge rating monsters in the dungeon in favor of putting a moderately higher challenge rating monster in the final room guarding the treasure.

I personally used the module as inspiration to develop a Session 1 campaign kick off.

Cheers, femtophantom



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystic Circle
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by SW S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2018 01:54:58

I had a lot of fun with this, thanks!!

It was a simple starter dungeon, exactly what I was looking for



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystic Circle
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2018 11:56:39

I ran this with 3 level 2 players who are relatively new to D&D. It was fun to see them try and figure out a way to get into the Pentagram! They did have difficulty with the Animated Armor and the Flying Swords, I could have potentially reduced their AC while sustaining damage. The party consisted of a Fighter, Rogue and a Sorcerer. It would have been even more difficult if they were still level 1 as this particular chapter suggests. Overall, they had a blast and I continue to learn as a new DM so this gets 5 stars from me! Cant wait to run the next chapter. Keep up the good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystic Circle
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Katherine M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2017 21:14:14

I was SO happy that I found a miniseries to use for our first adventure, so I don't have to spend hours searching to connect adventures during finals D: This one was even better than the last!! My players are having a lot of fun in a classic dungeon and they even created their own roleplaying during the night camping while travelling to the circle and during a long rest.

One thing is that I didn't like the fact the wizard gave them the map I would use and reveal to them- I thought it gave too much away as I usually only give details in a room they've physically been in- so I painted a simple, old-looking and more vague map and used that instead. I'll insert it below and other people can feel free to use it!! (I had way too much fun making it.) https://drive.google.com/file/d/1W-xfNXeXLdRtU8n_5eLM9MYeTI7e0PGL/view?usp=sharing



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystic Circle
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by James D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2017 10:14:31

Second run through was a great fun. The Pentagram room was great for me as a DM watching the players really squirm! It was doubly great since nobody tripped the corner trap until they left the room!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystic Circle
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by aaron w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2017 04:51:25

This was very fast, very straight forward, and easy to plug in to most generic fantasy settings, even with a few tweaks. This adventure includes a map of the general area, a map to the specific dungeon and its immediate area, and includes a map of the small dungeon itself. I ranked this 4/5 stars because it definitely delivers for a quick and broad one shot for newer DnD players (that is to say, I specifically used it for newer players).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystic Circle
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2017 16:40:44

Another solid adventure for beginners. Nicely done.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items