Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack $0.00
Average Rating:3.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
202 15
68 8
38 3
16 19
75 110
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gustavo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2020 13:18:34

Confusing to say the least, going to a hobby store and no one follows the rules... trying to keep up with the AD&D website and it's the same, trying to contact Lysa Penrose to ask more directions... no response at all from her.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2020 14:57:58

Alright, I have played enought to have some issues, and I'll tell you how to fix them.

Gold: The limits are absurd and punitive. Should I have a MILLION GOLD?!? at level 11? Of course not. But I should absolutly get the gold I find in your modules, if it's too much gold, reduce it on your end. If you want me to get 20gp for my bolt of silk worth 50gp, just make the bolt of silk worth 20gp. Now we don't feel cheated. Telling us we cannot keep the gold we legit found is just insulting. Downtime: I LOVE the downtime system, it's really well done, but the times for things are too long sometimes, and it never feels like we have enough. Let us pay GP for more downtime in addition to lifestyle costs. Lifestyle Costs: Make this actually do something. Say, spend a week at wealthy and get 2 temp HP/level at the start of the mission for the better living, or give a level of exhaustion that doesn't go away if you are homeless. There is no incentive to pay for Lifestyle, as it has no mechanical changes, and the RP changes are rarely even mentioned by the DM (time constraints, you know?) Magic Items: Here is how I do this in my DnD homebrew games: Magic items have a "weight" on your soul, and if you are not strong enough, you have a hard time using them. A tier 1 character could have 1 item, while a tier 2 could have 3 and so on. Previous items are not lost, though. Item gained go in storage, and at the start of the mission you can equip yourself as needed for the quest. This lets people keep cool things (even unoptamised things), and lets the players "keep" what they earned without nessecaraly having them running around with a dragon hord of loot. Utility Magic Items: This is a big one. There needs to be a special "slot" for items like the Handy Haversack or Bag of Holding. Let the players have one or two utility items that dont count towards the total "Active" items. Players might keep a bag of holding and an elemental gem, or a Haversack and Kegotum's Oitment, so on and so forth. That way, we have an allowance for cool RP things, rather than having to prioratize only the "right" things because the limits are so frikin small!

This season has potential, but we need a bit of give and take.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2019 16:43:36

The actual rules for season 9 (effective September 2019) are a vast improvement over season 8. A little trickier to keep the right records, but not too much. I really do like the actual rules that were implemented.

My poor rating is more for the delivery system.

Best would be if there was a dedicated page on the WOTC Adventurers League "start here" page including all the stuff any player might need, with a link to the DM specific stuff on another page.

But if it absolutely can't be placed there for ease of location and access, it absolutely should be super simple to find here! The pack ought to be "pinned" such that it is the first thing to show up when a user clicks on the "D&D Adventuers League" tab in the "Browse Categories" section. As it is, even searching for "Player Pack" fails! My only recourse has been to create a bookmark to always take me back to the "Player & DM Pack." If I can't tell a new player in two sentences how to find the applicable rules / documents, that is a severe problem.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/22/2019 14:35:36

Many of the players at my FLGS refuse to use this bundle. It's hard to find from within the site, it's not even in the site's top results for "player pack." They'd need to sign up for another website, and go through an apparent online shopping process even though it's free. The site and the bundle aren't phone or tablet friendly. There's so many files in the bundle that the site won't allow them all to be downloaded at once which sets the expectation that players already know which files they need. They don't.

At a minimum, can we please trim the number of files to something that can be downloaded in one shot so players don't feel responsible for knowing what's in the documents before they've had a chance to read them? A smaller number of better connected documents would also prevent players from feeling like there are "surprise rules" because of some very short file they missed.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Erik T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2019 05:12:22

A huge improvement over the steaming pile that was season 8. These rules seem to focus on letting players have fun in a balanced environment!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2019 08:55:16

The content itself is reasonably functional, though self-contradicting in places. But distributing this material (which to boot is periodically updated) through here, requiring new players to create Yet Another Account first, seems like a deeply stupid choice.

Perhaps Drivethru are happy to inflate their apparent user numbers; but what's in it for Wizards, compared to just throwing these files on their existing, easier to find and more obviously legit website? Until I realised that DMsguild was a rebranded DTRPG, I assumed this was some sort of SEO-based scam to distribute virus-infected files.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lars G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2019 22:33:54

Very useful for both players and dungeon masters alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2019 20:26:11

This is a hot mess. Came looking for info about how to play in DDAL. Found a bunch of files with really non-explanatory names, some of which also seem duplicative, and without explanation as to when I'd use a particular form of documentation as opposed to another. The documentation itself isn't terribly helpful either and is a bit self-referential.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Richard Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2019 14:32:26

These guides are written from the point of view of someone who is already familiar with the terminology and the system. They are not very new-player friendly and leave a lot of questions unanswered.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Benjamin N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2019 19:21:58

File names not obvious. Had a hard time finding player's guide.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by James M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2019 10:33:33

This had all the fiddly bits I needed to start DMing Adventurers League legal content. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Don S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2019 12:39:11

AL used to be my go to D&D game. I was even an AL rep and large supporter. My name appears in an AL product. But recent changes, and continued changes in the wrong direction tells me AL is no longer a D&D game. Don't get me wrong I believe and support some of the changes made both last season (8) and this one, but disagree almost entirely with the majority of the changes.

Good luck AL I wish you the best, but continue to make changes for the worse and you will loose a large crowd of players, including myself just as D&D did during 4th edition.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Steven H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2019 23:02:38

Not worth the time right now. Too many rules changes and essentially non D&D type things going on. The soul of the game has been damaged. I am not sure who is in charge of this CF now, but they think they know best and it's not to my liking. Or anyone I know in my local play group, my local cons or my local gamestores.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eran A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2019 23:56:37

It has become to annoying and too troublesome to keep playing Adventurers League proper with the new season 9 rules. It has come to a point where I think it's not worth it anymore. I will keep my characters logged and probably shift back to season 8 rules and, since the local scene is mostly isolated, I think it'll be the better choice overall.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kassidy R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2019 22:05:38

s9 is the worst thing ever thus far, it removes the portability of AL and Scraps the hard work other people have put into their characters. It is an affront to the very things that Dungeons and Dragons is Supposed to represent.I would rather it be like an MMO then like the steaming pile of garbage it is about to become.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 155 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items