Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
The Secret of Skyhold Tower - Adventure $2.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 9
1 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
The Secret of Skyhold Tower - Adventure
Click to view
The Secret of Skyhold Tower - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2019 13:26:40

This adventure is great!

A Falling Tower appears and the heroes are recruited to stop it's descent before it crashes into the city!

The players will have a blast as they rush up the tower encountering the remaining residents of a Magic Tower.

If you are using Elementals in your campaign this adventure would be perfect.

There is a great mix of exploration, puzzle solving, and combat with the author sometimes mixing puzzle solving in the midst of a combat encounter which is always great.

The Boss at the end is worth the price of admission. It's a really cool concept with some really cool mechanics that make it challenging but not overwhelming for the party.

This is another must buy adventure especially at the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret of Skyhold Tower - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joe M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2018 08:00:16

This was a fantastic adventure that I enjoyed running and my players had a blast as well! M. T. Black delivered another gripping, well-designed story with a uniquely compelling hook plus optional battles, exploration, and roleplaying opportunities in what is otherwise by nature a linear adventure (you are ascending a tower).

The final fight was also interesting with unique mechanics that almost but not quite wiped out the party, which is pretty much the ideal in my opinion as a DM. :-) I was playing with 4 level 5 PCs, although one of them unwisely split the party for the first half of the battle.

The one issue I had was that the maps in the PDF were too low of a resolution to blow up enough to use as battle maps on Roll20. However, looking at this page now I see there are also jpg unlabelled maps included; I wish I had remembered that as it may have solved the problem.

The maps are also very minimalist, but I see that as a design choice rather than a problem. They are similar to the maps in Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage, and like that product there are many other excellent pieces of art included.

The layout of the adventure document is fantastic and professional, as I have come to expect from this author. Overall an excellent buy at the original price, even more so when it is on sale!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret of Skyhold Tower - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Haley P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2018 09:14:12

My players loved this! It was a fantastic story and it was very easy for me to make some minor changes that let it fit into our existing campaign a little easier. The treasure listed felt suitable, the combat vs. non combat encounters were great and the overall urgency created was absolutely perfect.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret of Skyhold Tower - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jaime O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2018 12:06:16

Very fun adventure! My one-shot group had a blast with it, and came up with an idea at the end that would have been super fun to base an ongoing campaign on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret of Skyhold Tower - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2018 10:16:31

The Secret of Skyhold Tower was a great 2 session (about 2.5 to 3 hours each) adventure for my group of 4 players. It is linear for the most part but that's the nature of a tower. There are places for combat and places for thinking. Both my group and I enjoyed it very much. SPOILER DON'T READ IF YOU'RE GOING TO BE A PLAYER...I had a great time acting out the arrogant picture of Frander Skyhold. The group took the picture with them and were always asking it questions throughout the adventure. It definitely added something to the adventure. This adventure could be dropped in any city or town.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret of Skyhold Tower - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2018 09:22:46

This module was fantastic! Very easy to prep for (it is pretty linear obviously if your players start at the bottom) and has great characters. It causes your players to make a decesion at the end which is always great to see how your group thinks. The combat is fun, the story is good, there really is no con to this module.

I am the DM for a YouTube/podcast series that plays through one shots from dmsguild.com called One-shot Onslaught and here is the full playthrough for this episode: https://youtu.be/5MJcVSFPSfs



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret of Skyhold Tower - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mark L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2018 15:37:25

I tend to buy adventures and modify them for my players. I shortened this one a bit and made one of my NPC's play the role of both the Gnome, and the Tower's original owner. Which felt like a fun twist. My players loved the encounters and a ton of the fun fantasy elements and ideas that are included.

This magic tower is going to serve as the base of operations for an adventurer's guild that I'm starting for my open table.

Would definitely recommend this adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret of Skyhold Tower - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Edward M. H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2017 04:28:24

Full disclosure: I was one of the DMs who playtested this with a group of willing players. That being said, the original draft had some weak points but a lot of the suggestions were taken into consideration and the final product is definitely worth all five stars.

This module has a brisk pace and the sense of urgency is always there, making the game tense and frantic. That's exactly how players should feel when they're trying as quickly as possible to stop a tower from crashing into a city. The encounters are interesting, the villain has a nice twist to his story and the mystery revolving around this manmade meteor is one my players really got invested in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret of Skyhold Tower - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ken C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2017 17:47:48

Another AWESOME contribution to the guild from this celebrity of guild writers. A must have adventure for your collection!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items