Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.1 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 18
0 17
2 4
1 1
1 0
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller\'s Horn (5e)
Click to view
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Petrina H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2018 09:44:26

I would say that this can be a very dangerous mod for the uninitiated player or DM. DMs will definately need to read ahead and prep the module.. players should not think that the mod is a cakewalk - encourage creative thinking and you will get interesting results!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrea C. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2018 17:58:08

Depending on the party level, composition, and PC personalities, this can be a challenging module and it can be a deadly module. It's suprisingly simple to pick up as a DM, though the difficulty of certain encounters in the middle of the module can make the end-fight feel a little lackluster depending on what the players decide on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2018 01:52:35

This is potentially a very dangerous module, especially for unprepared and foolhardy adventures, which could be instructive. THAT can give DMs a good introduction into running later encounters in T3 and beyond. If only the reward was actually something useful... It almost feels like a troll... XD



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Samuel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2018 07:08:23

Hands down, one of the best fights in AL.

As others have said, excellent capstone to Tier 2. Season 5 is my favorite season, and its mods like this that made it so.

Caution - this is a killer mod, and your players will take casualties, but they will never forget this fight.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2018 18:53:30

Nohting like having your party stare certain death in the face, only to say, "well, you are going to survive afterall"



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2018 14:54:39

The module itself is good. The Beast of Talos is a fine challenge and can really demolish a party while giving them a major feeling of accomplishment for defeating it. And then they find out what the magic item is as a reward.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dennis R H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2018 12:17:13

Solid, challenging adventure. It gives players alot of room to pick their path in how to overcome this, however, I have rarely seen a table do another other than cooperate with Heartkiller. I like the imagry and overall storyline, of which this is the capstone.

The moster - Beast of Talos, is by far one of the funnest to run. It is exceptionally challenging and gives even experienced players something to counter metagaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 17:52:06

This was definitely an awesome adventure to capstone the tier 2 Hartsvale arc! There's a lot of tension and sense of urgency that really drives this adventure with challenging encounters which, for the most part, make great use of the terrain. The Hartkiller reveal was quite gruesome, but very cool! The final encounter wasn't too much of a challenge, but the Beast of Talos sure gave the party a real fight.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2018 06:43:30

Another great end of a story arc like tier 1 of this season. The story is tense and gives the players a real reason to fight for the lives of tons of people. As many people who like this mod, the BEast is just that, it put the fear of Talos into the party and almost resulted in a wipe, nearly killing the tank in the first 2 rounds. This being said the final battle wasn't much of one as its between NPCs, but the Beast was enough for my players to be happy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Philip T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2018 02:50:08

This was a very fun mod, and I don't think the PC's have ever been as scared of a single monster as the one Hartkiller's Horn is reputed to have. It's enjoyable and challenging for the PC's.

My only gripe about the beast (because let's face it, that's what this mod is mostly about) is that it is practically bulletproof. There are no weaknesses to exploit. It's almost frustrating how resilient the beast is.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2018 14:37:14

The final combat is lacking, at least compared to the divine hunt. As a DM, this is a great capstone module - The Beast of Talos fight is deadly, and in this case, the group lost half its people in the first round. Difficult Combat, with a bad reward. The magic item is lacking, and that contributed to the players disliking the module. I loved it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tyler D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2018 23:28:30

I loved it, party hated it. To be fair though my party died on that mountain trying to prove a point to Hartkiller. They went against the Beast of Talos way underleveled and thought after fighting normal monsters they could take this souped up one. Needless to say they failed. Had them 'finish' the rest of the module regardless and they did 'enjoy' the ending.

Beast of Talos had to be my favorite part and showing that creature to fellow DM's made them want to attempt the same module. Need more terrible monsters like it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anthony V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2018 08:15:01

Greg! Another solid adventure lots of choices with emotional baggage to them, one of the few adventures where I had a shouting match of what action the party HAD to take that was good people wanting to do good things, instead of the usual shouting match of evil character doing their thang and others saying no! It was memorable and a fair bit of prep but not overwhelming for a pay off that makes it a talking piece as players share how their run turned out. I would DM this again! -DM Ace



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2018 11:37:31

For this adventure I had a rather unique point of view. I printed this out with the intention of running it last-minute (regular DM canceled; I'm back up DM) so I had skimmed the beginning of the document. When the group arrived I found out one of my players had already run the module, so I had him run it instead, with me giving DM guidance where needed. So I got to sit down and play.

Having some foreknowledge of what was to come, I sat out of the decision making for the group. However, my character is a HUGE knowledge nerd (sage; professor) and also too curious for her own good. So she walked right up to the bloody..thing and asked who/what it was. When he said Heartkiller she immediately fan-girled and told everyone who he was. That was so much fun to roleplay. Haha!

Then the group chose which way to help him and they chose the "stronger being" as they like a challenge, and that was the Beast of Talos. I hadn't read the fight so I did go into that part blind. Oh, boy it was harsh. It chewed on our sorceror/fighter pretty hard and I had to use my character's creative smarts to try to give him something else to want to chew on with my Greater Image. It was very close but the sorcerror made it.

We had a "weak" party so the Beast was turned down an awful lot. I'd love to play this one again some day where he is in all his glory. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mark D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2017 18:36:38

Excellent adventure but can be VERY tough if a certain selection is made, definitely has an easy and hard mode. The adventure is the conclusion to DDAL05-13 Jarl rising and closes the story off well.

There are plenty of RP opportunities and a good mix of combat, heartily recommend.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 40 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items