Dungeon Masters Guild
Please choose which option you would like to add to your cart.
Narrow Results











Back
The Haunt $5.95
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
61 51
9 1
3 0
1 0
0 0
The Haunt
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2020 10:14:20

The Haunt is a very well-written module perfect for a spooky Halloween themed one shot or more. It gives the DM a lot of room to add lore and flavor on the fly without compromising the written lore that my party discovered and pondered over for days after. I ran it with 4 level 4 PCs and replaced one high CR encounter with a simpler one as I did not give the party an opportunity to long rest.

This module is great to run as a one-shot or even incorporate into an existing campaign. Kudos!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks Mark! Appreciate the kind words, and super glad your group got a great session out of it. PB
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2020 09:57:47

This is THE tried and true go to Halloween one shot adventure! I've ran it twice now, once for my home game (candles, low lights, creepy music it was great!) and once for our podcast. Both times this adventure held up and gave myself and all of my players a fantastic night of fun!

I'm the DM for a podcast called One-shot Onslaught that plays one shot adventures and you can find the links to this module below:



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kelly D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/25/2020 15:27:04

I "converted" this adventure to the Fate Core RPG system and ran it for a teen group as part of a dark fantasy, short campaign comprised of several haunted houses linked together. The main idea was chaos entering the world in the form of several evil gemstones which needed to be found and destroyed. It was a very good, creepy adventure with a fun puzzle inserted that the teens enjoyed very much. It is better for older, not younger, teens. My only beef is that the "player map" shows the secret doors. I had to photoshop this out. All-in-all great purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sherlock D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2020 20:11:30

I love running this module. I am currently in my second run with another group, love the story, intrigue and atmosphere. I highly suggest using spooky music and creepy voice for the doll! The doll is such a fun plot device and an excellent recurring villain. (If you choose, of course!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Solsa C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2020 16:39:23

A really great halloween one-shot, I had a great time running this with a small party (3 players). The timed puzzle was absolutely fantastic, the only problem is that it doesn't feel that cohesive with the rest of the story. All that aside, a fantastic purchase and a fun module to run and play, would recommend to anyone looking for a short game to run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Leonardo b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2020 10:59:45

Played it with my kids. They were sooo scared by the killing doll they were about to cry!! Beside this, we had a blast! Some descriptions of the areas and mechanics of the house are not so straightforward, yet I had no problems in running them smoothly. A great product, full of athmosphere and tension. Looking forward from more products like this from this author. 5/5 stars



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ramsey K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2020 19:24:40

Just ran this with 2 players, upped them to level 6 to adjust for balance. They ended up going directly to the boss fight when they got upstairs, skipping some combat that would have chiseled at their HP to make the boss fight harder. They also didn't get the chance to fight the doll at all - they carried it around shortly before going to the basement and threw the doll into that bag of holding. And the hag got away with very little HP left via Plane Shift. So now they've got that that I can surprise them with in their next oneshot muahaha.

My players enjoyed this as a oneshot to playtest some new character concepts for my next campaign, and I enjoyed running it. Very well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Crystal T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2020 12:46:50

Ran this with friends last night - 2 level 6s (one of whom is my regular DM), and it was crazy. We're not quite finished with the house but they're so excited to finish up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Melissa M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2020 15:14:13

I ran this for Halloween with my players and they absolutely loved it! At the time, the party consisted of 5 level 3 players so this was a little much for them at times and I had to nerf some things. One of them was also disintegrated and had to roll a new character. Overall, thorough, well-written, and incredibly fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Forrest S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2019 16:19:50

Ran this on Friday the 13th with a full moon (maybe it was a new moon?). Very fun; very spooky. Be sure to turn off the lights, light a few candles, and play spooky sounds for ambience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2019 14:25:32

my group loved this quest, it was a lot of fun and brought in some great twists and turns for our group, I will defintly try the next adventure in this series next halloween



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joseph F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 00:53:01

I've run this one-shot twice now, once over Roll20, and once in person, and it has been an absolute delight both times. The parties I played with both started out very silly, but then got SERIOUSLY invested in it once the monsters started coming out of the woodworks.

I can't recommend this one-shot enough - it's a blast to DM. Find some deliciously creepy music and add some extra HAM to your DMing, and your players are pretty much guaranteed to have an excellent time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cory E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2019 22:12:42

Absolutely Loved it! I used it as an intro to D&D for a few new players, and the atmosphere and story was enough to hook them, now I have them begging for when we are going to play again! :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2019 21:37:23

A fantastic module that I ran for some friends as a Halloween one shot. It is written very well and the encounters are set up in a very smart and believable manner. I did find myself tweaking a few words with a thesaurus here and there, but I feel like that is just because I wanted to add my own flair to it. My players had their skin crawling a few times at the descriptions of the rooms and everything was laid out in a manner that gave the players a challenge without seeming unfair. I would be happy to use more from this publisher in the future when the need arises.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your kind words, Ryan! I am glad you and your table enjoyed it.
The Haunt
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2019 20:36:21

This module is a breath of fresh air in that it's original and truly scary. I made a few tweaks to ratchet up the tension and to clarify a couple things that aren't laid out in the module:

1) I had the players roll their characters in secret and told them not to communicate any information about them to the other players. This created a sense of uncertainty when they first met each other. 2) I introduced the characters to each other with a prequil: They had each been alone in the woods when a mist took them. They wandered for some time - Days? Weeks? - in the neverending twilight-shrouded misty woods before they encountered another soul. I made each of them think back as their characters and describe the scenes as they met each other in the mist. Their rests became more fitmful over time until: 3) They are no longer able to take a long rest. This creates a sense of tension and urgency. There's no long resting after any of the big encounters but if they really want they can take a short rest... 4) I created a short rest effects table that resulted in a permanent random effect on each character after the rest, as the horrors of the house settle into their psyche. It included things like -1 to saves, -1 on to hit rolls, -1 to skill checks, etc. The effects also stacked with multiple short rests. In addition, during the first rest one of the characters was randomly effected by Gertrude's haunting ability. 5) The foyer (where the doll is first encountered) contains a grandfather clock that is still working. It shows midnight as the players enter the room (I used the ticking clock and chime effects from Tabletop Audio to ratchet up the tension). If the players investigate the clock by opening the face they find that the internals are missing. The time on the clock also does not seem to match the player's perception of time. For example, my players went to the dance hall first, a round trip of about ten minutes, but when they returned to the foyer the clock read 2am. 6) In the basement, when the door closed I used a timer on my computer, projected to a TV, to show the countdown, which I reduced to ten minutes to create a sense of urgency. This resulted in some actual players arguing about how to solve the problem, which they did with 2 seconds left. 7) The module does not describe how the golem opens the room or what happens to him after, so I created a cut scene that had him sit up and described him tilting his head back as his jaw distended unnaturaly wide, then reached down its own through and into its chest to pull out a key, which it then used to open the door. It then ran upstairs and unlocked the door to the second floor, which it also ran up. 8) Upstairs I added an effect where the players see the ghost of the General's daughter staring at them from the end of the long hall leading to the servant's quarters. She turns away and walks through the door. 9) I placed the doll in the General's bedroom and had the door open before the players as they reached to grab the handle. When they looked inside they saw her sitting on the floor facing the far corner. Then a music box on a nightstand next to her started to play as her head rotated 180 degrees to face them. This was when I required them to make their save from her lullaby. 10) I made the door to the General's area only able to be opened by a key, which I placed in a latrine bucket in the bathroom of the servant's quarters. I had a delightful time describing the retreival of the key once the players discovered it. 11) In the final room I replaced the General with the newly-raised golem and had Gertrude siphon 3d6 hit points from him every round. 12) I also had a plan in place for player deaths - they awaken on the couch in the foyer with one level of exhaustion and 1 hit point plus all remaining hit dice. This happens after the other players leave them for dead. After that, they were dead.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 52 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items