Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Gracklstugh Revised - Turmoil in the City of Blades $4.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
9 7
4 2
0 0
0 0
0 0
Gracklstugh Revised - Turmoil in the City of Blades
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Gracklstugh Revised - Turmoil in the City of Blades
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Keith H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2019 15:22:51

This is a really great supplement to Out Of The Abyss. It fleshes out Gracklstugh and adds a lot of material to the chapter in an easy to understand format. It really makes the Whorlstone Tunnels section exciting and fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gracklstugh Revised - Turmoil in the City of Blades
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2019 07:00:30

My group has loved the depth I have brought to Gracklstugh. This is a must-have for Out of the Abyss.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gracklstugh Revised - Turmoil in the City of Blades
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2019 08:20:59

This pdf is a must if you are running Out of the Abyss. It takes the Gracklstugh Chapter, which is a jumbled confusing, non-sensical mess and turns it into one of the best chapters of the game.

I am having a blast running this version of the City of Blades.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gracklstugh Revised - Turmoil in the City of Blades
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kale M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2019 13:24:20

This product is absolutely necessary for running the Gracklstugh chapter in Out of the Abyss, regardless as to when your party visits it. It deciphers the chaos that is perhaps the least well organized section in any 5e module to date, provides content to further invest characters, help scaling the large dungeon beneath the city, and both clarifies and expands upon aspects of Gracklstugh society and the factions therein that have proved incredibly useful during my time running the chapter.

I cannot recommend this product enough. If you intent to run Out of the Abyss, or even if you just want to use the city of Gracklstugh itself for some other purpose, I believe you should really consider picking up Turmoil in the City of Blades.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gracklstugh Revised - Turmoil in the City of Blades
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Craig P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/16/2018 10:14:01

There is a lot of content here for only $5, including some necessary changes from the book that should have been obvious to the original authors. That said, this is a supplement - there are quite a few places where it refers back to the book. So if you have the time to finesse what is here to meet your needs, and especially if you have the time to work with what is here and what is in the print book, it's definitely worth your $5. If you're looking for a wholesale replacement for Chapter 4, it's a good place to start but it may leave you disappointed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, Craig! These are all fair points and fair criticism. Unfortunately, since the DMs Guild content and formatting rules forbid wholesale copying from published sources, I had to write this as a supplement rather than a complete replacement of the chapter. DMs will need to use both the original book and this supplement alongside one another while preparing to run this chapter for their groups, and they're likely to get the most out of it in that way, rather than trying to reference both mid-session.
Gracklstugh Revised - Turmoil in the City of Blades
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Serena W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2018 17:25:18

I can't imagine running Abyss without this resource. It provides clarity for the DM and meaningful story supplements for the players. The author took a scambled chapter and gave it a storyline that can provide players with a reason for their actions. I especially liked how it helped to play up the madness in the city (and the campaign as a whole). Worth evey penny!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gracklstugh Revised - Turmoil in the City of Blades
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by kevin e. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2018 11:47:49

I credit this supplement for my last six sessions of play. It helped me run the most detailed and difficult city dnd I have ever run. The author takes a very flat and unfinished chapter and provides all the extra flavor and story to make Gracklstugh a thoroughly satisfying experience. The caverns are delightfully dangerous and creepy; I love his expansion of the empty scabbard killers. My players had a TPK in the story's climax unfortunately, but it was a really challenging battle, and they just barely got edged out. We were sad, but certainly not disappointed. I can't recommend this material highly enough! Thanks for the memories Mr. Williamson!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi Kevin, Thanks for the great review! I'm glad your group got so much out of my revision, and that it built to a climactic end for their characters.
Gracklstugh Revised - Turmoil in the City of Blades
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2017 07:31:32

Gracklstugh Revised is incredibly good. This chapter in the book is an absolute mess. Gracklstugh Revised makes the whole chapter easy to follow, dividing it into 5 distinct sections that you can pretty easily follow in order. That in itself makes it worth the money. However, it goes further than this. It really upped the intensity of this city, making it come alive with atmosphere, whilst making the political intrigue far more interesting than how it is printed in the book. In addition, it fleshes out the various clans around the city, giving each one a significant NPC and opinion as to what is going on. These touches make the city come alive, and make it feel more like a genuine sandbox mystery with a clear incentive to solve it, rather than a series of set encounters that drag the players to the Whorlstone tunnels (when all they want is actually to GTFO of the city!). Some kind of supplement is definitely needed for this chapter, and this one is the most comprehensive revision of it that I have come across.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gracklstugh Revised - Turmoil in the City of Blades
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2017 12:24:07

This is a well done re-organization of the confusing Chapter 4 of Out of the Abyss. It fixes alot of the loose ends and some of the fantasy tropes the chapter falls prey too. I am currently running this chapter and have used practically everything in this Revised PDF, with only a few changes. I really loved the updating of Whorlstone Tunnels to make it feel alive and the included city map that outlines the clanholdings.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items