Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Discerning Merchant's Price Guide Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
80 14
15 1
4 0
3 0
0 0
Discerning Merchant\'s Price Guide
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Discerning Merchant's Price Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Pia P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2019 04:56:53

I'm one of those DM's who allow the players to buy and sell magical items and even order some made if they can find the materials for it. This is definitely my go-to list for prices, since figuring out the price for a given item within the rather large scope for each rarity type, is just too timeconsuming for me, and who can remember what they might have paid for something a year ago? So thank you so much for doing all the hard work for me :-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Discerning Merchant's Price Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joseph K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2019 16:33:20

This collects the existing source material suggested costs for magical items in an easy to read format. The author has made a few changes where suggested costs are completely absurd, but otherwise stuck to the suggestions offered in 5e D&D.

On the other hand, if you think the suggested costs are fundamendally flawed (and I do!), then although well formatted, this won't be much use. The main problem with suggested costs is that they are based entirely on rarity, not on how useful an item is. As an example, winged boots and a broom of flying - arguably the best items at their rarity level - has a suggested value of 500 and 450 gp, while the much less useful Boots of Levitation have a suggested value of 4,500 gp, Wings of Flying, $3,600 gp, and even a POTION of Flying has a suggested value of 2,500 gp!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Discerning Merchant's Price Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2019 08:27:04

absolutely fantastic. in my quick reference binder for sure



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Discerning Merchant's Price Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jay R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/05/2019 12:30:29

My campaign setting is centered around a city, and that means it is occasionally possible to purchase or to sell magic items. This supplement keeps me from scrambling to come up with my own prices on the spot.

Nicely arranged in a clean, legible style. Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Discerning Merchant's Price Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2019 16:27:34

Wonderful product! Where have you been all my life. Great balance with Sane Magic Products. Kudos!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Discerning Merchant's Price Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Henrik G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2019 13:09:57

This guide is exceedingly useful. Not only does it provide sensible prices, but it also sorts items by type and shows their level of rarity.

It has been shared with a number of other DMs, as it deserves.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Discerning Merchant's Price Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2019 09:17:58

The suggested prices, unless you're running a very high-magic setting, aren't what's really important here. The usefully structured magic item reference tables are a godsend! The prices are just gravy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Discerning Merchant's Price Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2019 08:51:32

A great comparison to balance the popular "Sane Magical Prices".



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Discerning Merchant's Price Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2018 20:47:49

Good supplemental material for a DM. Although in my opinion it's something that should have been released with the source material. Great for filling the gaps since it gives reasonable prices and information on where the items come from.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Discerning Merchant's Price Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sean H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2018 12:53:09

Amazing! My only minor gripe is that spell scrolls and gems are combined but author stated somewhere the next version will correct this. I love having set pricing for everything instead of guessing in a range.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Discerning Merchant's Price Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Benjamin S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2018 12:48:46

I feel like the scrolls (particularly level 1 spells) are priced a little low, but everything else is in line with what I thought and gives me a more concrete way of pricing any magical items. This is an absolute must have for anyone needing pricing information that's more concrete than the massive price ranges offered in the core books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Discerning Merchant's Price Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Terrelle S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2018 15:21:19

My GOTO price guide when those pesky PC's take the easy route to go buy their magic. Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Discerning Merchant's Price Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2017 20:34:50

Absolutely does what it says on the tin. A well organized and useful index of magical items from the core books for easy browsing and lookup. And you can't beat the price!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Discerning Merchant's Price Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Connor I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2017 10:45:20

Clear and easy to use, really useful for a DM. Thanks man!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Discerning Merchant's Price Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeff C. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/13/2017 19:13:04

A very nice reference tool for a DM. Thank you for taking your time to put this together!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items