Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 4
0 12
0 1
1 1
0 0
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Click to view
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2018 01:30:30

T4 adventures seem to fall back on a few ways to increase the challenge:

  • Gimp the heroes, either by neutering some of their powers or tossing them underwater, where martials are at a huge disadvantage
  • Throw damage sponges and hope they do enough damage to the players
  • Increase number of spell-casters

This module mostly avoids the first point compared to the first of this series, and chooses the second point to focus on, with a bit of the latter. Our group took more time than usual for these combats, but mostly just cause we had to get through all that HP. That resource drain did make the final encounter slightly more challenging, but if you have a party with enough GISH/Casters, it is still managable.

The first major combat encounter can also be reworked to play up some of the fun potential of the scenario and/or actually merge it with the final encounter. I might try this when I run it for myself at a future time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ross H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2018 19:30:59

A solid finish to the fifth season. The 3D nature of encounters add a challenge even for T4 characters. And the final encounter (which can take a bit of time to run) manages to make the combat epic without gimping any class abilities. (I'd suggest bringing in most of the combatants fairly early, as there's a lot of early fodder as written.) Unlike Mysterious Isle (which is about two hours too long), the exploration portion of the module is engaging and a sense of urgency the first part lacks.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2018 01:00:59

This one was a bit more fun than the former with an interesting ploa and the combat wasn't particularly hard. I did find the second half a bit messy to run and there is the potential for a lot of confusion during the final encounter depending on how it is run - especially if the PC's had some level of delay to their persuit of the giants. I had given it a read through before hand, but the final encounter still felt a little overwhelming to manage.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2018 21:03:24

Weird sort of compartmentalising with this adventure, the first half is essentially a walk-through where the characters pick up cool stuff, the second half is a chaotic combat that will easily take upwards of 2 hours to complete.

Not a whole lot else really.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2018 12:30:21

This can easily run long but the end fight is suitabily epic and mechanically there are a variety of challenges throughout. Good capstone adventure for this season. Not a ton of RP opportunity unless the party forces it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mathieu P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2018 18:55:18

Fun but messy!

The first part is really cool and really theatre of the mindable. Full of random stuff happening and confusing for the player, it sets a great feeling for the adventure.

The second part is great too. But the mess being. There is waves and waves of monsters that comes in. Most of large and huge. The map gets crowded really fast. I runned it theatre of the mind. It was way more simple. The players enjoyed!

The last part was crazy (but crazy cool!) The module doesnt not mention the dimension the airship dimension. I drew it too small. Dozen of trolls, bunch of cloud giant, scrag, wyverns... a lot of stat block to manage and my trolls could not attack because they could not reach the PC. Nonetheless we had a lot of fun! I swapped the boss 8th level spell of Antimagic Field. In last resort I had him grapple a caster and jump out of the ship... kamikaze style, was funny.

Player can easily miss the treasure of the Morkoth, I don't know how intentionnal that is... If you are a kind DM you just say "you sure you dont wanna check the room before you start chasing the giants?". It's up to you!

Also general note, all of the fights are overall pretty easy. Don't hesitate to max HP every creatures!

Final note : The story send you after Rajiram, but in the end, it is not him. But nobody says it. How does the players know that Dworkin is not Rajiram? ... Might be a good idea from the storytelling point of view to add a letter on Dworkin... Like a letter from Rajiram saying "yeah go grab the eye for me thanks bla bla bla"



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anthony V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2018 08:12:00

It was a fun 2 parter, its a throw away Legendary item but useful for som. The story keeps this going not the combat making it hard to run on the fly but satisfying if you have the time to run it! -DM Ace



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Remington A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2018 18:23:03

This adventure has a similar lack in combat difficulty to 5-18, but makes up for it with even more compelling story and intrigue. Overall, a great module for any tier four party.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jasmine L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2017 13:38:58

This adventure is not challenging at all, but you know what? I'm over it. The story is super fun and my players really enjoyed breaking out all their T4 goodies to smash the bad guys, and they told me they felt like the module put a lot of pressure on them anyway. I especially love the Morkoth's museum. The Toga of Zagyg was particularly amusing. But the setpiece battles were also a lot of fun. I'm glad I didn't ramp up the difficulty—playing it as written, we finished in almost exactly 4 hours. In the last one, I managed to make the players actually fear for their lives by throwing Slarkrethel at them, but it also made the game go way over time.

One thought I had that I didn't end up going with was having Dworkin open up by casting Antimagic Field, under the theory that, yeah, he's a powerful mage who'd be giving up his magic, but the adventurers are powerful mages too, and if nobody has any magic, they're puny humans, but he's still a giant. Ultimately I decided the 8th level spell he had as written was more important.

There is one awkward thing about this module, which is that players never get the opportunity to fight Baron Rajiram himself. You're supposed to fight him in DDEP05-02 Ark of the Mountains, but now that that adventure is retired, anyone who didn't face him then will likely never get the chance. Kind of a shame, but I guess that's how the story was designed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Blake J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2017 08:59:51

This module was very enjoyable - traveling into the "Menagerie of Wonders" was fantastic - seeing parts from different worlds and interacting with other creatures who are prt of that was really interesting and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I also thought the Crystal Golem mechanic was intersting, albeit a little confusing. The final battle felt very drawn out, but it was overall fun. Very fun finale to the Season 5 storyline.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 16:28:34

Recommend Purchase: Yes. XP Range: 18750-25000

The Season 5 Hardcover (Storm King's Thunder) is an amazing sandbox that spans the entire northwest Swordcoast. Unlike seasons 1-3 these storyline modules actually occur in the same area and mesh well with the hardcover. This is the first season to include the digial certificate for permanent magic items.

Before running any Season 5 module, you should download the following content from DMSGUILD and read it fully:

  • Season 5 Narrative: Parnast, Stagwick, & Beregost Sadly this was released only AFTER the season was over :(

  • A Guide to the Factions of Faerun Lots of Faction stuff in Season 5, so your players should be engaged with the Faction they've chosen.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2017 15:35:55

Felt lacking for T4 content, interesting story, poor combat.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2017 12:22:27

In my review of DDAL05-19’s predecessor, DDAL05-18 “The Mysterious Isle,” I wrote that “Mysterious Isle” can be viewed as a trap, luring the players with a false sense of confidence and then crushing them in the follow up. “Eye of Xxiphu” is the tier 4 adventure you were waiting for. It has a little bit of everything, especially for players who want a good scrap. There are a few missteps, but forgivable ones, which a DM can easily work through or work around. SPOILERS AHEAD, OF COURSE.

Part 1.

The adventure does a good job of looping in players who may not have played in DDAL05-18. You get dropped right back in, and our old friend SEER gives a concise update on what the players need to do: “Recover the Eye of Xxiphu.” Boom. Go for it.

Part 2.

A. Honestly, as a DM, this was my favorite part of the adventure — and there shouldn’t be a single initiative roll during this part, just some fun roleplaying. Have fun with the rooms and the oddities contained within. With the “Red as Blood” room, I really went into how perfect this apple was. Over the top: In hindsight about how other apples have just disappointed you and how so few things in this world are perfect, BUT THIS APPLE! And so on. For “Tooth of the Damned,” the players had fun establishing a telepathic connection with Black Dougal in diamond. I made him a glum, Eeyore-type character, resigned to his fate. Don’t deny your players these interactions. Feel free to give them enough information (with the right rolls) to engage and have fun. The “Mad Dancers” were also entertaining. (I made one of the merfolk a little sad to have stopped dancing.) You don’t have to hit every room, but I’d make sure they don’t plow through this section. Also, “White as Snow,” the module text gives the players every indication that this apple is not right. (“There is something very unsettling about its lack of color.”) Don’t be a jerk. Give the players proper hints that this apple shouldn’t be consumed. It’s death without a save. That’s not fun for anyone.

B. I don’t like the corridor. Visually, it’s cool — and the ultimate effect is interesting. But reading the last paragraph of the section introduction is not entirely clear. The section about “if all characters resist or are freed…” I need this information clarified upfront and highlighted.

B1. The “fighting as golems” mechanic is interesting. I’m glad there’s a handout to give the players. However, it can make the overall adventure maybe a little too busy.

Encounter time: 1 hour? Um… no. Twice that, at least. The eight waves of cloud giants, merrows, scrags, and then Lord Dworkin is a beast encounter to run. It took up 80% of the adventure time, and I think my players were a little exhausted after a while, which is a shame because “Battle in the Sky” is really fun. By the time you get to it, you and the players are ready to call it a day. I would seriously suggest condensing this encounter or finding ways to speed it up, just a bit. Read the room.

C. Always fun when the players think they have beaten the “big bad,” and burn through all their reliable power moves — only for there to be much, much more left to contend with.

For the hidden treasure, remember that a Passive Investigation (of 13 or higher) will suffice if the active Investigation check is low.

Other side note: Keeping track of the golem rules, the magic disruption rules, the underwater combat rules AND all the quirks of tier 4 players can be overwhelming. I’d keep it all on a one-sheet near you for reference.

D. Battle in the Sky

Who doesn’t love airships, dragon mounts, and cloud castles? Fun! To me, the misstep of this adventure is allowing the players to fight Dworkin in B1 when you could have all this craziness in section D. Tier 4 players will see the railroading from a mile away, if you try too hard to force failure in B1.

Conclusion

I played this adventure once. I DM’d this adventure once. In both situations, the Eye went to the Lord’s Alliance. I don’t think the players realized they could insist on keeping it, which is a shame. It seems like an interesting item, which could lead to other Far Realm twists in the future.

Treasure: Lots of XP and lots of treasure. Life is good for the tier 4 adventurers. Another Staff of Power? There should be a rule that if you’re handing these things out in an epic (Reclamation of Phlan) you should retire the item for a while. I see so many casters with the staff of power. It’s a bit of an in-joke at this point. And yes, another Tome of Understanding. For players who also got a Tome of Understanding in PHLAN 1-2 “Enemy of My Enemy” and/or in Curse of Strahd — I’m pretty sure the Tome of Understanding doesn’t stack. Check your DMG to verify.

Overall, this adventure is fun, but keep your notes handy, plan for it to take much longer — and take several breaks to prevent Restless DM syndrome.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Adam G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2017 23:49:09

I really enjoyed this Tier 4 mod. My party, and I, thought the fights were a little lackluster, especially the end, but the flow of the adventure was well paced. I wish there were more (recent) tier 4 mods like this for AL.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Grigory P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2017 07:22:53

The final fight is still too weak for good Tier 4 party but I have to admit it is much better than the 5-18 in regards to difficulty.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items