Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
In Volo's Wake (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:4.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 4
1 11
1 4
0 1
0 0
In Volo\'s Wake (5e)
Click to view
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Preston C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2018 16:41:46

The poor writing and lack of editing really hurt my rating on this one. Part-way through the 2nd adventure, they switch the name Sildar Hallwinter (who was an important NPC in LMOP and throughout this adventure) to Silas... What the heck? The adventures themselves are pretty quick and handy for 1 hour sessions. There's some good variety in the content.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mitch E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2018 15:56:32

It would get a better rating from me if not for the god-awful writing. Who thought it was okay to replace "adventurers" with "characters?" There are a bunch of other writing and formatting problems as well, but that one's the most prominent and the most annoying. And it's been a while since it was released, so I'm surprised nobody's bothered to make an update. That's just poor handling.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kenneth K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2018 15:40:06

This series of intro modules serves as a good intro not only for new players, but also for a new DM. There's a good mix of combat and thinking required. The combat scenarios take place over a mix of different environments, including in the trees. The issues I have with the module (and thus rating it a 4) is that the interaction within the town seems a bit stilted with the main NPCs who run the town. They are extremely stereotyped and one-dimensional. Also, there's an issue where you really want characters to be at 2nd level when they start the 3rd mission but they don't quite have enough XP if they've only played In Volo's Wake. They are just short. However, there are the standard rules for adjusting the challenge rating and that helps, but the DM still has to be careful.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Shawn C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2018 14:05:42

A fun and entertaining set of adventures. I ran them with a newer group of players and they enjoyed the various mechanics and styles of play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Laura G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2018 09:51:45

This is a great set of modules for new players. Each one has a different feel, so it serves almost as a sampler of what D&D can be. The smaller segments also allow for more debriefings with the players to get a sense of what they liked and didn't like about each type of encounter, allowing both the DM and players to be pleasently surprised by things they unexpectedly enjoyed.

It does have one major issue, and that is there are a few incorrect words which hurts it's readabilty, and slows down the flow of descriptions.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2018 19:24:41

While running this module the in-game-play had a pleasant fluid flow to it that allowed players to adapt and emerse themselves more. (I've run part 1 three times and each time the players tried their hardest to aid the 'poor little rich noble' at the begining of the game starting with re-attaching his ear.) If anyone needs food ideas for the hags to offer players consider watching old Addams family episodes and using some of the odder sounding dishes, like toadstool soufle and henbane tea. I found it even funnier when one accepted and I offered 'goblin gravy' to go with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Devin R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2018 22:49:35

Great for running for people that are new to Adventure's League and D&D in general. Helps encourage group tactics and also note taking. Also a bunch of nice easter eggs for anyone that bought Volo's Guide.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matt R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/09/2017 23:24:16

I really liked being able to have my players interact with the high end monsters from Volo's guide, but I was annoyed by the lack of details inside the hag's cabin. When I initially prepared the adventure, I didn't notice that there was no description of any of the ten rooms, and I ended up having to make them up on the fly. A minor thing, for sure, but it would have been nice.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jim B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2017 00:41:49

I enjoy the 1 hour (!) mini adventures at the start of the seasons. This set of modules for Volos is quite fun, with an exciting variety of short adventures which are great for short attention spans, newbie DMs, or experienced adventurers looking for some camaraderie and fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2017 16:00:57

Really enjoyed DMing this one with players with little experience. They had played LMoP, so they were familar with the area. One of the Story Awards did confuse me if it was to be given to all the players or just one. Played it over two days.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2017 22:10:50

This module is a must buy and a must play. One thing I enjoy about the adventure's league are the short but fulfilling adventures. This module includes six of those - all an hour long (three of them you can actually run in an hour, but the latter three might run into two hours). From a DM's standpoint, this module is a great value. Six games. They can be used as a direct sequel to Lost Mines. Easy to prep and scale. As a player you get great rewards for these games. Magic items in a one hour game? Renown? Yep. Buy this for your DM to run. Or buy it and run it for your DM. They need a break, too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2017 02:30:22

This is a great adventure for fresh characters with lots of interesting encounters, good loot, and tonnes of experience points. The adventure is especially interesting for those who want a taste of the new creatures from Volo's Guide, which itself is actually a major plot point.

Both a benefit and downside is that, while they can be used and run individually, to run the complete kit might take 2-3 sessions and that might make it harder for convention/one-shot use as players might not get to actually face the big bad.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2017 00:11:05

Lots of fun here. The short mosules are easy to prepare and run. Most can run for two hours which makes them good enough to be adventures on their own. The series is designed to make use of the new Volo monsters and it does a good job of this with each adventure focusing on a different one. Its also good that it is designed for first teir rather than level 1-2 like previous anthology modules. The last couple are quite scary once you hear what monsters your first teir characters will face. But the best thing is all good adventures and easy to prepare and run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2017 08:40:28

this is a fun one to run, and in parts good for beginner DM's, dont be afraid to add your own touchs like vines to swing from in the tree tops (+when pushed off ledge people and mobs get reflx save to catch eage), or even at the lowst setting the weakend witch can take on a lvl 5 group if done right, the examples of goals or what they would say gives you a lot to work off on the fly almost and i run the whole thing improv with only setting up maps with attention to how they would move around it only, this module gave me a big breakthrough with how i run my NPC's ......BUT i'm disappointing to see that the odd quirks . like where all the words "adventure" seemed to be replaced with character. and so on. seem to still be here, if you get hung up on shuch mistakes, maybe come back to this one after you got a year under your belt, why didnt they fix this? if your party is underpowered and get min exp from the advenchers and can not gane the exp to get to the lvl for the last module, before the last 1or2 advenchers Run DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde, it fits in wonderfully.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jose S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2017 12:17:10

great storylines to go along with the book release. all my players had fun. i ran at two different locations, but only was able to run final mod once. i had a great time seeing new players learn the mechanics of the game and seeing how the parties workedogether.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items