Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
The Clockwork Queen - Adventure $2.95
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
9 7
1 1
1 0
0 0
1 0
The Clockwork Queen - Adventure
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Clockwork Queen - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Julie Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2019 10:48:51

A fun and flavorful adventure, but the ending could use more fleshing out. I like that it offers multiple options for handling various social/roleplay situations, as well as suggestions for tailoring the difficulty of fights.

I ran this for a group that included veterans with decades of experience and a ten-year-old playing her second game, and all had a great time. It's perfect for kids, newbies, or anyone whose tolerance for scary stuff is unknown. The rooms of the clockwork tower offer a variety of challenges, covering all three pillars of the game (exploration, combat, and social interaction). The NPCs are colorful and well-documented with notes on roleplaying them. The fact that there are different paths through the tower also gives the adventure some replay value.

One very welcome feature is a separate image file of the symbols used for navigating the clockwork tower, making it super-easy to create a handout for the players. The maps are also included in a separate file, but they're not really formatted for virtual tabletops, and the scale is not given (comments on the adventure here mention that they are drawn on the assumption of 10-foot squares).

With one caveat about the presentation of the ending (explained in the spoiler section below), I thoroughly enjoyed this adventure. I would happily run it again.

SPOILERS BELOW

I don't object to the fact that the ending is loose, because different groups are going to approach the situation differently. But I could really have used a sidebar quickly laying out everyone's position once the true state of affairs is revealed, and especially, a quick summary of Xander's opinion of the situation would have been super-useful. He's the key to the whole thing, so talky groups like mine are very likely to want to know how he feels about Brynlee and Tereene; the answer is only suggested, and it's buried in other text (the assumption seems to be that Tereene will do all the talking, but my group insisted on hearing from Xander directly). The adventure also doesn't specify how long Xander and Brynlee have been married--the answer to that question greatly affects the tone of the whole scene.

If your group is likely to just push the red button without talking to Tereene or Xander first, or if you work out the answers to all these questions ahead of time, you won't have any trouble with the adventure. But I was running it on just a couple of hours' notice, so I was caught off-guard and had to improvise.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Clockwork Queen - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 15:58:53

My group had a great time with this adventure!

They really loved the dramatic tension between the two NPC's "Dame of Dirt" and "Clockwork Queen."

The tower itself was really fun and we loved the aesthetic.

You should definitely pick this adventure up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Clockwork Queen - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by RICHARD H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2018 19:08:24

My D&D group ran this adventure last night.

As with all adventures that I use from DMs Guild, it was heavily altered and adapted to our current campaign.

I printed the room icons on A3 paper to show to the players, they enjoyed working out which rooms they should visit next.

This adventure is fun to run and can offer a mental challenge, as well as a refreshing scene change for the players. It takes them out of their usual element, and the sights sounds and smells of the adventure should be emphasised by the DM to make the game more immersive. Take the opportunity to engage some new character voices. To the players, the challenge of the world of steam punk is exciting and brings a new dimension to their game.

I hope that you are able to enjoy this adventure as much as I did!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Clockwork Queen - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Travis L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2018 01:18:48

The Clockwork Queen is a fun and interesting adventure, which brings a dimension of steampunk sensibility to the tale, setting the module apart from stndard dungeon crawl fare.

The adventure is presented jn a fun, lighthearted fashion, but there is enough nuance and flexibility in the material for the DM to take the story in a different direction with little effort. The story is built on a strong, rich foundation, and the characters are well developed. The systems used to represent the Clockwork Tower itself are fun and unique, promising a great time at your game table!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Clockwork Queen - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gabriel W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2017 06:35:18

Ran this with my mum, dad and sister (all new players, 3rd-level characters) and had a fantastic time. This adventure is well-designed, has a great little story that gives the DM flexibility to tell it as they want to (I, for example, made two of the minor characters more important and made the whole thing more tailored to my audience's liking) and has a nice magic item to offer to boot. The only flaw is a few typos in the text and some slightly unclear parts, but other than that it's fairly easy to read. I would recommend this adventure to anyone who finds the concept interesting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Clockwork Queen - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Emily B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2017 21:08:41

Great mod. I had a full table and everyone was having a blast! I'm not used to DMing but this was great all the way around!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Clockwork Queen - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2017 15:00:52

There’s some really great stuff here. The relationship between the Clockwork Queen and Brynlee Silverthorn is a nice personal rivalry that could provide some great opportunities for a scheming party to engage in some duplicitous roleplaying, and the design of the Queen’s tower is great. I particularly like the wandering guard robot Nimrod, and the tower is packed with great hazards and encounters that will be a real challenge to a group and fit the theme and the story of the Tower perfectly. The monsters presented mostly use stats from exisiting Monster Manual monsters, which means you’ll be able to pick this up and play it without needing to familiarise yourself with new abilities or worry about accidentally killing your party due to poorly designed monsters, and the maps provided are simple and clear.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Clockwork Queen - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeff C. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2017 08:43:16

M.T. Black does it again! Another great adventure that includes maps, a great layout, and a fantastic story. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items