Dungeon Masters Guild
Please%20choose%20which%20option%20you%20would%20like%20to%20add%20to%20your%20cart.
Narrow Results









Back
Banquet of the Damned $2.95
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
15 23
0 1
0 0
0 0
0 0
Banquet of the Damned
Click to view
Banquet of the Damned
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2018 08:12:39

I ran this last weekend for a family-friendly group of with 3 parents and 5 children ranging in age from 8-10. Characters were all fourth level, and this was a break from the dungeon-focused adventures we've been playing (Tales form the Yawning Portal - also good stuff).

The group really enjoyed the roleplay opportunities that this offered. As the DM, I appreciated the detailed descriptions of the town and the NPCs. All of the focused characters had great RP tips, and it built into a fun adventure that was just long enough to fit within the scope of the kids' attention spans.

Illustrations and maps were on point, and worked very well for our purposes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Banquet of the Damned
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by TK J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2018 07:37:21

REVIEW WITH MILD SPOILERS

Half of the party couldn't make it last night, so I ran this as a "flashback episode" for the remaining half, meant to be prior to forming the party. They had a lot of fun, and cutting out the Elven Hunters (it was a weeknight, so we had to be quick about it) was very simple. In fact, they saved a lot of time by sending the bard to make friends and gather information while the rest of the party spoke with Harrick and Dakara, so they already knew about the old windmill and the alchemical reagents by the time they met Jacksal. When it came time to investigate Mortimer, a Nat 20 Religion revealed what was necessary, so we saved a lot of time there, too.

The monsters were appropriately threatening, even to a Tiefling, an Aasimar cleric and a paladin. I didn't have to scale the Gulabus at all for her to make her point (that poison damage certainly made them sweat!). It was an incredibly fun romp and fit very neatly into a military campaign setting with only a bit of tweaking.

Overall, an excellent adventure and it included so many crucial details to make these characters into real people. I loved the additional story hooks and the secret motivations of NPCs. As an added bonus, my PCs were sick of pies by the end. Job well done!

-TK



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Banquet of the Damned
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2018 08:20:35

I dropped this into my campaign as my players were traveling cross country. Switched up a few things to make it fit right in (location, name of town, celebration, etc.) it worked great! Everyone loved the adventure and while it didn't go quite as planned the writing and information contained in this adventure is so thorough that you can work through any curve ball your players throw at you. This would be great as a one shot or using it as a supplemental to your campaign like I did. Great Adventure! Great Writing! Fun to Play!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Banquet of the Damned
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2018 14:40:34

The adventure module 'Banquet of the Damned' is extremely well written, from the very first to the very last page. A delight to read for the eyes of any Dungeon Master and as a bonus accompanied with some colorful lovely pictures of art. I bought the printed version and I'm so glad I did. Initially, I was drawn by the horror-cover (being a lover of horror atmosphere adventures) and bought a copy. But once I got it in my hand and began to read through the whole adventure, wow ... such high quality you don't see often in an adventure-module.

So, what you get to throw at your players? An adventure where players can battle evil of demonic nature in a small town, encountering some new monsters. But first, they will need to do some investigation to figure out what's going on. Time plays also a role how things will turn out. Along the way, there is also a great ambush encounter to be played out. 'Banquet of the Damned' offers a great opportunity for roleplay. It can be played in a session of 4 to 6 hours of gameplay, depending on the degree how much your players like to take their time to roleplay. The adventure module contains some interesting NPC's (which are well enough detailed for the DM to roleplay them without any difficulty). Geographic approached, this adventure can easily be placed in any setting you like. And of course, this adventure comes also with some great maps.

Worth 5 stars as final verdict without second thought. Benoit, you delivered a jewel here toward both DM's and players. My congratulations and respect you have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Banquet of the Damned
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marta T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2018 10:13:41

Run the adventure with my four 2nd level players and both I and they loved it! Was super fun, a little bit creepy and disgusting, but not too much. The adventure is well build and thought out, but of course my adventureres got off the script, which was totally fine: I had everything needed to continue and keep the story tight. Would highly recommend for beginner DM's like me!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Banquet of the Damned
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2018 22:32:30

This adventure is well built and thought out. It provides options at different party levels. Flavorful and fun it is one of the most professionally done adventures within DMs Guild. I would have glady paid $7 having seen it in full now. Buy it, run it, thank me later.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Banquet of the Damned
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bobby H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/14/2018 15:59:15

played this during a nerdfest cabin trip with some friends. Was a great mix of investigation and role-play, creepy but light hearted ambiance, and challenging encounters! Nice job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Banquet of the Damned
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Austin J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2018 08:59:25

This was a really well written one shot. It took my group about 3-4 hours to complete and they REALLY enjoyed trying to figure out the mystery at the center of it. The story itself has some great depth: my players spent lots of time talking and trying to figure what was really going on. Additionally, the information is laid out in a way so that a DM could easily ready information for the user and the players are able to continue the story in any order they want.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Banquet of the Damned
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dustin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2018 12:13:05

Good little one-shot that my group really enjoyed. I threw it into the middle of Princes of the Apocalypse when my players visited the village of Womford. It was a nice reprieve from the adventure and I was able to tie the regular campaign into it with ease, along with the Womford Bat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Banquet of the Damned
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sarah R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2018 06:26:04

This is a great thematic one shot. The writing and the art blend perfectly to set the right mood and there's a right blend of role-play and combat. It's also a breeze to DM and doesn't require much prep at all.

If you need a quick horror themed oneshot that is really fun to play this is for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Banquet of the Damned
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Anthony B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 17:56:46

My party enjoyed going through this adventure. I used this as a quick stop for the party going through the Hoard of the Dragon Queen campaign. As the party is making its way by boat from Greenest to Baldur's gate it was an easy fir for a stop at the halfway point. I ended up dropping the elf ambush and made the adventure more role playing than combat. I plan on running the Murder in Baldur's Gate adventure once ther reach the city and wanted them to be comfortable navigating the urban setting where what and how they say things carry consequences. Banquet of the Damned can be played a number of different ways and if your PCs are like mine they won't follow the path of reasoning or logic you'd expect. Beacuse the scenario can be combat light I recommend making the demons tougher. The knowledge the PCs gather about the Deon Ash and it's explosive properties make it easy to replace the powder in the MatBG scenario. The adventure is eay to read and digest but loosely constructed enough to really make it your own without a lot of work. I highly recommend having this gem in your back pocket and you'll be able to insert it into your campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Banquet of the Damned
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jerad L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2017 13:11:42

A really really fun time was had by my party. The game was quick and really enjoyable. A perfect one shot for the fall season.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Banquet of the Damned
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by CB W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2017 11:50:54

We ran this as our Halloween/fall one shot and had a blast. Started at 3:30, were able to finish by 9:30. Players skipped several of the plot threads (they had no clue who the Demon was before they stormed the cabin, and they never found out who blew up the oven, assuming it was the Demon) but everyone loved it. Most of the combat is towards the end of the adventure, so if you're looking to do this in a single session, you can have the elven hunters be a little "basic" in their tactics to keep things moving.

Strongly recommend pushing the players to do all the combat in a single day if possible. 4 level 4 characters beat all combats involved in 3 rounds or less because they split it up between 2 days. Then again, the demon was shut down for the first 2 rounds of combat, so that might have been part of the problem...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Banquet of the Damned
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2017 12:44:14

This was an amazing one-shot to DM. It was very easy to follow, high quality maps and images, and a great story. It took me about 1-2 hours to prep for and it took us about 4 hours to run through (I skipped the elf encounter). To read my review go to http://oneshotonslaught.com/banquet.html and to watch our playthrough (though pretty bad quality as it was our first recording) go to https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x8WXne3rpe4&t=4s



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Banquet of the Damned
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kev W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2017 16:04:45

I ran this over 4 evening sessions with a mixture of new and experienced players all starting from level one. A Druid, a Cleric, a Sorcerer, and a Ranger. I made some changes to fit in with the vibe I wanted but for the most part I played it as it was. The adventure flows well, with a real nice mix of combat, and investigative intrigue. Fits perfectly in to a folk/rural horror vibe. So if thats what you're looking to create, and you're looking to keep newer or inexperienced players hooked then look no further. Fantastic product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items