Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Encounters in the Savage Frontier $6.95
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
7 10
3 1
0 1
1 1
0 0
Encounters in the Savage Frontier
Click to view
Encounters in the Savage Frontier
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dirk C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2017 15:17:54

Stated specifically that it was for the Savage Frontier and would be useful for Storm Kings Thunder. Very underlevelled for SKT and had almost no relevance to the savage frontier, other than "You could have this place be there". Most of these were about as inspired as just stating that you encounter an ogre and some orcs rather than running one of these encounters as written. I might use these as building off points but nothing that is good to run with even for just an encounter without revisions.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Savage Frontier
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2017 20:22:29

These encounters were said to be inspired by, and useful for the Storm King's Thunder adventure. Most of the encounters are written for levels lower than any character would be once they are exploring the savage frontier in that adventure. Thematically as well, the encounters don't fit with SKT. There were some errors in the text as well. I found it disappointing.

I think as low-level encounters go, this collection could certainly inspire some fun, but as a supplement for use with Storm King's Thunder it doesn't really work.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Savage Frontier
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Virginia L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/07/2017 18:26:10

I've been sitting on this content for a while. I received this quite some time back and read over then, but I've been re-reading it now that I have a SKT campaign going and it is an amazing resource to flesh out your game with very minimal prep time from you. Perfect for adding just that little extra oomph to your game when the party wants to wander and go off the beaten path from the book.

Jeff is a wonderful author and I would definitely recommend picking up this or any of his other "encounters" productions to add to your game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Savage Frontier
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by robert p. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2017 02:39:36

This is a good resource for a DM to have some ready made and quick to resolve encounters for use in their campaign. I have used two of them already with my group and it helps give a break from the more structured over arching story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Savage Frontier
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dereke R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2017 08:55:58

I have yet some encounters to try, but so far I have enjoyed the included encounters very much. It realle helps DM prep, most of them you can lick them on the fly and drop them right in the adventure. Most of them take about an hour to resolve. Great for buying time ;) Also I had lots of fun working in the included cartography.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Savage Frontier
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alex B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2017 06:31:34

Incredibly useful encounters, I'm just about to start a skt campaign and have already planned where a lot of these are slipping in. My one thing to improve this pdf would be I wish they'd commissioned maps instead of the artwork.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Savage Frontier
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2017 22:16:27

What an amazing resource for any DM! Well worth the money!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Savage Frontier
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew p. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2017 17:56:34

Very useful book! I find these kinds of short adventures absolutely invaluable to fill in the gaps in a session. More please!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Savage Frontier
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eapen L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2017 12:52:34

The quality of these encounters is top notch. It was very easy to incorporate them into my home game. I am impressed with the variety of the content and how it is easily organized by locale.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Savage Frontier
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2016 10:07:16

A colaboration of great authors of the DMs Guild lead to the creation of an exceptional product. Full review here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Savage Frontier
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Benoit d. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2016 13:01:25

This is a fun collection of encounters to spice up your adventures. The compilation contains a little bit of everything for everybody: short dungeon crawls, tactical combats, interesting NPCs, fun and silly encounters, dark mysteries, and even a poetic fox hunt. Glen Copper's illustrations are also really nice!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Savage Frontier
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tony P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2016 06:01:14

Great idea, getting some of the best DMsGuild writers into one book. Each of the nine authors brings his own style to the anthology to provide a vast mix of role play, exploration and combat encounters. Featuring new monsters, new magic items, unique settings, creative tactics, laugh out loud humor and 72 pages of fun, "Encounters in the Savage Frontier" is easy to recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Savage Frontier
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Glen C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2016 03:35:25

Bargain. If you are looking to read some great encounter ideas and fleshed out encounters from authors old and new... then buy this.

How many encounters in the Savage North of Faerun, and for how much? Duhhhh - buy it.

::drops mike::



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items