Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
The Magus Class $2.95
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
39 8
13 3
5 0
1 0
1 0
The Magus Class
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Magus Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rafael X. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2019 11:07:46

Great class, having so much fun playing my half-orc magus.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Magus Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Taron P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2019 22:25:16

Another fantastic, well fleshed-out and realized creation! The class fits right in to Fifth Edition seemlessly while bringing a wholve bevvy of new items and spells. I did a review of the class on my YouTube channel for those of you interested in finding out how this class plays out. This deserves official publication, period.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Magus Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Theodore S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2019 16:27:25

The Magus Class is a great addition to class options. for any 55e D&D campaign



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Magus Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ben W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2019 10:46:07

I wasn't sure how much material to expect but this book is really well thought out and includes much more that I could have assumed. It includes the class itself, six archetypes, something like 20 new spells, and a few magical items. Maybe I'm biased because I loved the Pathfinder Magus class, but overall I'm really happy with everything that I've read and I feel like it's all at the right level of balance compared to the rest of WotC's official material.

The class abilities (including the ability to briefly enchant weapons or armor) feel right, and while you might not get as many spells known as you might like, you have plenty of ways to use those spell slots. The archetypes are varied and each have a very different feeling, and each class has a completely different spell list which reflects this. I haven't read all of the spells yet, but there are several new melee cantrips (similar to Booming Blade), each of which feels balanced and distinct that I intend to include in my campaign.

Overall I am 100% on board with this class. It's smartly designed and, more importantly, fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Magus Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Garrett P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2018 07:50:19

This class is awesome! Every thing in it is balanced and fair, as it takes the best parts of Eldritch Knight and replaces the bad with competent abilities. Good casters, good martial fighters, but never to the point of absurdity. The most powerful classes do sacrifice in areas abilities that the other classes they mimic might have.

The Shadow Court is the best example of this. They're powerful monk-variation Magus's and while very strong, capable of doing their own flurry of blows it costs them spell slots which the Magus is normally low on. I love this class and actually intend on playing it. Thank you Ben for making this, big fan of this work right here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Magus Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Diego E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2018 18:51:43

This is one of those products that I acquired but failed to find the time to review earlier. And I gotta say this one deserves to be on people's radar. I won't delve into details about the class too much because I actually prefer less classes and more archetypes, and I think the magus' archetypes could've been distributed to already existing classes as gish options (Bard and Sorcerer would fit, and I believe Sylvan would make a badass gish druid circle, kinda like a bladesinger). The class is a gish in a can class so there's everything you expect to see there: there's weapon as a focus, there's smite, there's a mystic shield, etc etc.

Now what I really like, and the reason why I'm reviewing this even after such a long time are the spells, specially the cantrips. Besides having some Blade cantrips (read: booming blade -like) it also introduces the idea of Kata cantrips. There are only two of them but the idea behind them is very interesting: A Kata cantrip is similar to a Blade one, in that you make a weapon attack, it carries a rider effect and later it increases the attack's base damage. Kata cantrips must hit with an unarmed strike, the rider is a bit stronger (inflicting a condition) and has no tactical component to it but actually manifests only if the target is blinded, surprised or incapacitated. Now I think the idea is great, meant for a mystical ninja of sort, and it could be expanded into a whole set of cantrips. That said I would change the requirement of the rider to be more in line with a sneak attack (attack must be made at advantage) because really, blinded, surprised or incapacitated are actually kinda rare... But the whole idea holds promise anyway.

So even if you're like me and doesn't like adding new classes unless absolutely necessary, you can still find some pretty nice cantrips here, and ones that may well spark your imagination like it did to mine!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Magus Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Teesh H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2017 18:00:24

If the author added a eldritch society that was based off warlock that would be perfect



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Magus Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Vijay D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2017 16:01:23

As the others have said, one of the best homebrews on this site, and it perfectly fills that niche while fulfilling the spirit and ideas of the other core classes in 5e.

I'm playing it in a campaign and it's flavorful and in line with the other classes I've played with.

It's also the favorite class I've played.

I encourage all to play and try this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Magus Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by finn d. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2016 13:15:42

This is in my opinion, one of the best homebrews found on this website. It allows you to fulfil a lot of fantasies, previously left untouched by the player handbook and the rest of the WotC supplements.

It's Mystic Mark mechanic is interesting and unique. All of the archetypes feel truely different from each other and yet none of the archetypes restrict your character to a certain personality, which I kind of feel something like the eldritch knight and the arcane trickster do. This class also feels perfect when multiclassing since something like war-magic complements really well with someone who was a pure spellcaster before and the weapon attack based spells and Mystic Mark feel really good for a fighter/rogue/monk (babarian not so much since he cannot cast spells when raging).

What I love most of all is how this class actually feels like it created something fun and unique to fill this gap we had, unlike many other attempts to create a spellsword, which always just come out as a bland version of multiclassing a fighter and a sorcerer/wizard.

It suprises me that no one has created something like this before since we have tons of examples of this class in games like The Witcher and The Elder Scrolls.

There might be some slight balancing flaws here and there, but so does the player handbook so whatever.

Overal I think it deserves a 5 star rating, so I am going to give it to him.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Magus Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/11/2016 19:11:56

I like the class though i was wondering when does the magus get their 6th lvl spells my list only goes to 5th lvl.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Magus Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcus B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/11/2016 07:53:18

I think the Magus looks really interesting, and seems well balanced. There are some very powerful abilities, but also specific weaknesses that will let this class occupy a nice niche. The only class on whose toes this might step is the Warlock, as the Magus gets martial weapons and ritual casting by default. I can see that reducing the incentive to play certain Warlock builds, but it would be good to hear what the author thinks. It may also speak of limitations with the Warlock class itself. The Magus also gets a wide choice of spells for a hybrid spellcaster (compare to Ranger, Paladin, etc.). The internal balance between Eldritch Societies seems good. Not all features are equal, but taken as a whole each society feels like a valid and compelling option. In the Sylvan Circle for instance, Tourmaline Mark seems relatively weak, but Elemental Alignment is more of a game changer than the other level 7 features. There is evidence of a lot of work and care here. The wording, presentation and progression is very much in line with the PHB, and the art and flavour really bring the class to life. Possibly the one change I would make at this point is to take away ritual casting and some of the utility spells. I definitely want to give the Magus a go, and looking forward to seeing the other societies. It's one of the best classes I've seen on DM's Guild.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items